Whether you are looking for your next great read or want to build up your "to-read" list, check out our new offerings below!
It’s Summertime and the reading is easy! Check out these titles that have library staff buzzing about in June:
Bring Me Back
by B.A Paris

Start off your summer reading list with sure fire psychological suspense! Twelve years after Finn’s girlfriend Layla disappeared, a discovery raises new questions. This author once again proves her suspense chops with this intense, can't-put-down thriller. For fans of Karin Slaughter, Gillian Flynn and Alafair Burke.


There There
by Tommy Orange

Orange 's visceral first novel, set in past and present-day Oakland, weaves more than ten plot lines involving the lives of Native Americans, culminating in violence during a large powwow gathering. This is a moving book which vividly articulates the challenges and complexities not only of Native Americans, but of America itself. Character driven, fast paced and compelling. Sure to please fans of Louise Erdrich, Chloe Benjamin and Elizabeth Strout.


Little Big Love
by Katy Regan

About a Boy meets Parenthood in this smart, big-hearted love story about a family for whom everything changed one night, a decade ago, and the young boy who unites them all. Told through the eyes of Zac, Juliet, and grandfather Mick, Little Big Love is a layered, heartfelt, utterly satisfying story about family, love, and the secrets that can define who we are. 




How Hard Can it Be?
by Allison Pearson

In this side-splitting follow-up to I Don't Know How She Does It , Kate Reddy is nearing 50 when she returns to work for her former employer after a seven-year hiatus, during which time she raised two kids, moved the family into a fixer-upper, and stretched the family's earnings after her husband suffered a midlife crisis. With witty and rich writing, Pearson tackles sexism, growing older, and understanding one’s needs when catering to those of so many others. A fun escape and a perfect summer read!

The Patchwork Bride
by Sandra Dallas

You’re going to fall in love with this darling of a story about an irrepressible runaway bride. Ellen is putting the finishing touches on a wedding quilt made from scraps of old dresses when the bride-to-be—her granddaughter June—unexpectedly arrives and announces she’s calling off the marriage. With the tending of June’s uncertain heart in mind, Ellen tells her the story of Nell, a Kansas-born woman who goes to the High Plains of New Mexico Territory in 1898 in search of a husband. A stunning, emotional, unputdownable novel from one of our favorite storytellers.



Social Creature
by Tara Isabella Burton

Louise has nothing. Lavinia has everything. After a chance encounter, the two spiral into an intimate, intense, and possibly toxic friendship. A dark, propulsive and addictive debut thriller that’s splashed with all the glitz and glitter of New York City. This book is receiving BIG BUZZ as a “best read” for the summer. Suspenseful, twisted and a solid addition to the trendy psychological drama offerings such as with The Woman in the Window , The Wife Between Us and The Perfect Mother. Everyone will be talking about this one!


The Great Believers
by Rebecca Makkai

A dazzling new novel of friendship and redemption in the face of tragedy and loss set in 1980s Chicago and contemporary Paris, by the acclaimed and award-winning author Rebecca Makkai.  We can’t wait to get our hands on this one from one of our very favorite authors. Compulsively readable, thoughtful and moving – a hands down unbeatable fiction combination.











The World is Murder
by Anthony Horowitz

A wealthy woman strangled six hours after she’s arranged her own funeral. A very private detective uncovering secrets but hiding his own. A reluctant author drawn into a story he can’t control.  Anthony Horowitz is known for his playful commentary on the mystery genre, this time playing the narrator in his own novel and finding himself caught up in solving the murder. Fine writing and an entertaining, offbeat mystery.





Florida
by Lauren Groff

With spot-on language, Groff provides slice-of-life reading, capturing the scents and sounds of her newly adopted state, Florida. Her portraits aren't of sand, surf, and sunshine; instead, she shows us houses that "rot and droop" in the humidity, the "devilish reek of snakes" at swamp's edge, and an "old hunting camp shipwrecked in twenty miles of scrub" where a panther lurks.  A compulsively readable and haunting collection of short stories, perfectly written for summer time reading.
Harry's Trees
by Jon Cohen

"Harry’s Trees" is an uplifting tale about love, loss, friendship and redemption. Fans of Fredrik Backman’s "A Man Called Ove" and Gabrielle Zevin’s "The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry will find in its relentless good humor a much-needed remedy for these fraught times."  Need we say more?  An inspiring story with characters to steal your heart. We can wait to get our hands on this one!



Visit Biblioboard- A Mobile Library!

RAILS, our library system, is participating in Biblioboard, a collection featuring unlimited digital access to comics, novels, children’s books, videos and more. The site features collections for all ages, including curated collections from the Chicago Children’s Museum featuring topics such as Art and Creative Expression, Science and Curiosity and much more. There’s also a classics collection and a collection featuring Illinois authors. Give it a try, this is a great opportunity to discover something new. Visit Biblioboard by clicking HERE.

Reading Takes You Everywhere!

Reading is an adventure that takes you on an exciting journey! It’s not too late to hop on board. Let your summer reading pay off in great books and fun prizes by signing up today to participate in our Summer Reading Program. Stop by the library for more information or sign up online at www.wauclib.org .

PBS- The Great American Read

Have you heard about this fabulous PBS series yet? 
100 books, 1 winner – which book will America choose
as our new favorite read?

Look at this amazing and diverse collection of novels, watch and learn about the stories, authors, and readers and then vote for a favorite title, both at the  PBS website  beginning May 22nd and here at the Wauconda Area Library! 

We will be tracking our library patrons’ voting and you may win a copy of the book(s) that are selected, both by our patrons locally and nationally through PBS.

Here is the  official list of title s  from PBS, and here is a link to our library catalog  listing of the books , which may be checked out if you’d like to refresh your memory before voting.

To vote in our Wauconda Area Library poll, please click here.