MARCH 2020 NEWSLETTER
NAMI Sussex envisions a community where those impacted by mental illness obtain the help, support and hope they require to achieve resiliency, recovery and wellness.
FREE PRESENTATION ON TRAUMA & MENTAL HEALTH ON MON. MAR. 23 AT 7 P.M.
MONDAY MARCH 23RD FROM 7 - 8:30 P.M. – NAMI Sussex will host a presentation on Trauma and Mental Health led by Linda Busch-Somach, PhD. Dr. Busch is a Licensed Clinical Psychologist who has over 25 years of experience working in the trauma-related mental health field. She has worked with combat veterans, 9/11-related trauma survivors, and survivors of child sexual abuse and physical abuse. Her presentation will focus on the impact of trauma on mental health and how this impact can affect those who have other serious mental health conditions such as Bipolar Disorder, Major Depression and Schizophrenia. Other topics that will be covered include: diagnoses related to trauma (Reactive Attachment Disorder, Acute Stress Disorder, Posttraumatic Stress Disorder), how to cope with triggers or symptoms, and medications that are sometimes used in the treatment of trauma. Participants are welcome to share their experiences and ask questions.  For further information or questions, please call 973-214-0632 or email nami.sussex@gmail.com.
Location: Bridgeway, 93 Stickles Pond Rd., Newton, NJ
Registration is  not  required.
Click here for flyer.
FREE NAMI BASICS COURSE
STARTS THURS. APR. 23RD IN NEWTON
"NAMI Basics," a free, 6-session course for parents/family caregivers of children/youth under 19 who are experiencing mental health symptoms. The course will be offered on Thursdays beginning April 23 - May 28, 2020, 6:30 - 9 p.m., at Family Partners of Morris & Sussex, 67 Spring St., Newton, NJ.   

Advance registration is required : call Annette at 201-841-2174. Click  here to view flyer.
FREE NAMI FAMILY-TO-FAMILY COURSE
STARTS WED. MAR. 18TH IN VERNON
"Family-to-Family," a free, 8-session family education course provided by the National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI), will be offered on Wednesday evenings, 6:30-9:00 p.m., from March 18 to May 6 at St. Francis de Sales Church, 614 County Highway 517, Vernon. The course is provided to support and educate family members and close friends of individuals with mental illness.   Participants will learn effective communication skills, problem-solving techniques, and how to manage their own stress and face crises as they arise.

For more information or to register, call Jeri at 973-214-0632.  Advance registration by phone is required .  Class size is limited to 20. Click  here to view flyer.
FREE SUPPORT GROUP MEETINGS - JUST SHOW UP!
NAMI Family Support and Information Meeting     (1st Tuesday of every month)
Support, information and referral for family members/friends who have a loved one with mental illness.
T uesday Mar. 3, 2020, 7-9 p.m .
Newton Medical Center, 175 High St., Newton, NJ
(Enter through the main entrance and ask at the Reception Desk to be directed to the Emergency Department Conference Room  .)

For veterans, police and first responders recovering from post-traumatic stress as a result of their service.
Tuesday, Mar. 24, 2020 from 7:00-8:30 p.m.
Bridgeway, 93 Stickles Pond Road, Newton, NJ 

Family-to-Family Alumni Support Group (3rd Tuesday of every month)
For those who have completed our Family-to-Family course.
Tuesday, Mar.17, 2020 from 7-9 p.m.
Bridgeway, 93 Stickles Pond Road, Newton, NJ  
For more information, call Charles at 201-893-4793
NAMI SUSSEX MEETINGS (FOR MEMBERS)
BOARD OF TRUSTEES  -   Mon. Mar. 9, 6:30-9:00 p.m., at Family Partners of Morris and Sussex, 67 Spring St., Newton. Any member may request to attend by contacting President Annie Glynn by email (nami.sussex@gmail.com) or phone (973-214-0632) 3 days before the meeting.

GENERAL MEMBERSHIP -   Mon. Mar. 23, 7 - 8:30 p.m., at Bridgeway, 93 Stickles Pond Rd., Newton. There will be a presentation on trauma and mental health (refer to article above).

ANNUAL MEETING - Mon. Apr. 6, 7-8:30 p.m. at Bridgeway, 93 Stickles Pond Rd., Newton. Come and reconnect with members whom you haven’t seen for a while and meet other members. The Board is eager to hear your thoughts and ideas on future programs and events.  We will also elect board trustees for 2-year terms and adopt the budget for fiscal year 2020-2021. Members will receive information via mail/email. Click here for flyer.

Any member who would like to request copies of minutes from any previous meetings may do so by emailing nami.sussex@gmail.com.
NAMI HOMEFRONT - REGISTRATION OPEN
Registration is now open  for the following sessions*:

Eastern Daytime: April 6 – May 11
Mondays, 10:00 am – 12:00 pm EST  (9:00am CST, 8:00am MST, 7:00am PST)

Eastern Evening: April 6 – May 11
Mondays, 6:30 – 8:30 pm EST  (5:30pm CST, 4:30pm MST, 3:30pm PST)

Pacific Evening: April 7 – May 12
Tuesdays, 6:30pm – 8:30 pm PST  (7:30pm MST, 8:30 pm CST, 9:30 pm EST)

Central Evening: April 8 – May 13
Wednesdays, 6:30 – 8:30 pm CST  (5:30pm MST, 4:30pm PST, 7:30pm EST)

*Please note the TIME ZONE listed for each class time


NAMI Homefront is a free, 6-session program for family, friends and significant others of military Service Members and Veterans. The class helps families understand what the Service Member/ Veteran is experiencing related to trauma, combat stress, civilian life transition, PTSD and other mental health conditions.

The program is designed to help family members understand and support their Service Member/Veteran while maintaining their own well-being. NAMI Homefront leaders have personal experience with mental health conditions impacting their Service Member/ Veteran. The class is free but you are expected to attend all six sessions. You must have access to a laptop, PC or tablet with a stable internet connection to participate. To hear audio, you will need to call in via telephone. We recommend you use a headset or headphones.

Learn more about NAMI Homefront, and other NAMI programs, online at  www.nami.org . If you have any questions or concerns, please email  namieducation@nami.org .
NAMI NJ Dara Axelrod Expressive Arts Mental Health Poetry Contest 2020
Contest submission deadline is March 25, 2020. Click here for information.
FREE ONLINE EVENTS
Kick Sugar Summit - Mar. 2 - 8. Click here to register.

Confident Child Summit - Mar. 3- 6. Click here to register.

Transformational Parenting Series - Mar. 3- 11. Click here to register.

Nontoxic Beauty Revolution - Mar. 9 -15. Click here to register.

Brain and Behavior Based Strategies in the Treatment of OCD by Brain & Behavior Research Foundation - Mar 10, 2 p.m. EDT. Click here to register.

Gateway to Health - Healing Secrets of the Oral Biome - Mar. 12 - 19. Click here to register.

Y our Best Sleep Ever Summit - Mar. 16 -22. Click here to register.

World Happiness Fest - Mar. 16 -22. Click here to register.

Radical Remission Docuseries - Mar. 16 - 26. Click here to register.

Mindful Living Summit - Mar. 19 -22.  Click here to register.

Get Off Your Sugar Summit - Mar. 23 - 29. Click here to register.
NAMI Sussex
P.O. Box 652, Sparta, NJ 07871
Tel no. 973-214-0632
NAMI Sussex is an all-volunteer 501 (c)(3) nonprofit organization that provides support, education, and advocacy throughout the Sussex County, New Jersey area on behalf of individuals and families affected by mental illness.