March 2017
Two U-M ME Faculty Elected to Prestigious National Academy of Engineering (NAE)
Professor Ellen Arruda and Noboru Kikuchi, the Roger L. McCarthy Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering, have been elected members of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE). Election to the NAE is one of the highest professional honors accorded an engineer.

Quantum Limits to Heat Flow Observed at Room Temperature, Research Published in Science

As you stretch gold into a strand one atom thick, an expressway for heat opens up. It's called a quantum of thermal conductance and students from ME Professors Pramod Sangi Reddy and Edgar Meyhofer's research groups recently observed this phenomenon for the first time at room temperature.

Their results were published online in the journal Science on February 16, 2017.

Recognition & Achievements
  • FlexDex featured on MIT Tech Review, U-M, Huffington Post, front page of NSF  MORE>>
  • Kota receives Distinguished University Innovator Award  MORE>>
  • Quantum limits to heat flow observed at room temperature (published in ScienceMORE>>
  • Arruda and Kikuchi elected members of the National Academy of Engineering MORE>>
  • Pan receives 2017 SAE Medal of Honor MORE>>
  • Okwudire receives MLK Spirit Award MORE>>
  • Bruce Karnopp to be remembered at Michigan League March 26th MORE>>
  • Okwudire and Johnsen receive ME Department Achievement Awards MORE>>
  • ME faculty receive CoE Awards  MORE>>
  • Thompson named one of Forbes' 2017 "30 Under 30" for Energy  MORE>>
  • Three ME faculty assume leadership positions  MORE>>
  • Grosh and Littrell's company Vesper making news  MORE>>
  • Thouless' father awarded 2016 Nobel Prize in Physics MORE>>
  • Garikipati relaunches on-line course "The Finite Element Method for Problems in Physics" on Coursera MORE>>
  • Stefanopoulou and Siegel recipients of 2016 Control Systems Technology Award  MORE>>
  • The beginning of the amniotic sac MORE>>
  • Battery material paper receives national and international press coverage, selected as journal cover image MORE>>
  • Liu to give talk at 'Future of Biophysics' Symposium MORE>>
  • Koren chosen as namesake of the 2017 SME Outstanding Manufacturing Engineer Award; Dasgupta a recipient MORE>>
  • Hu receives SME Gold Medal MORE>> 
  • Sharafi receives 2016 Love of Learning Award  MORE>> 

  • Shao wins Richard and Eleanor Towner Prize for Outstanding PhD research MORE>> 
  • Fu's paper published in Nature Materials  MORE>>
  • Taheri's group selected as P&G Challenge winners MORE>>
  • Peng receives ASME Michael J. Rabins Leadership Award MORE>> 
  • Cui wins Best Student Paper Award at DSCC 2016 MORE>>
  • Stefanopoulou appointed the William Clay Ford Professor of Manufacturing  MORE>> 
  • Ulsoy receives ASME Rudolf Kalman Best Paper Award MORE>> 
  • Li and Wang win ASME 2016 Best Paper Award in Structures and Structural Dynamics MORE>> 
  • Li receives Baxter Young Investigator Award MORE>>
  • Fu's research featured as cover story of two Small issues MORE>> 
Predicting the Unpredictable: Modeling, Optimization and Control to Improve Health and Safety
U-M ME's Ram Vasudevan's research aims to improve stability in humans, human-machine interaction in autonomous vehicles
To ensure that the systems they design will operate as intended, engineers construct controllers which ensure the largest possible set of configurations of a system behave as intended. This is no easy task and its complexity is compounded when trying to devise models for systems that include humans, since they are constantly interacting with a changing environment in difficult to predict ways.

ME's Kathleen Sienko Gives Talk on Global Health Design Initiative at National Academies Workshop
ME Associate Professor Kathleen Sienko gave an overview of ME's Global Health Design Initiative during a National Academies workshop on "Engaging the Private Sector and Developing Partnerships to Advance Health and the Sustainable Development Goals."

ME Professor Karl Grosh and Alumnus Bobby Littrell's Company Vesper Making News  

ME Professor Karl Grosh and Alumnus Bobby Littrell's company Vesper recently announced that is has closed on a $15 million Series A round led by Accomplice with participation also coming from Amazon's Alexa Fund, Hyperplane, Miraenano Tech, and other undisclosed investors.


Novel Lightweight Materials Spin New Ventures and Green Manufacturing

U-M ME Associate Research Professor Miki Banu works with lightweight bamboo to help reduce the weight of vehicles and in turn, help to improve fuel efficiency and reduce Carbon Dioxide emissions.

U-M ME Professor Michael Thouless' Father Awarded 2016 Nobel Prize in Physics
ME Professor Michael Thouless' father, Professor David Thouless, was awarded the 2016 Nobel Prize in Physics for the Thouless-Koesterlitz transformation.

U-M ME's S. Jack Hu Receives Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME) Gold Award 

S. Jack Hu, the J. Reid and Polly Anderson Professor of Manufacturing Technology, has received the 2017 SME Gold Medal. This award recognizes outstanding service to the manufacturing engineering profession in technical communications through published literature, technical writings or lectures.

ME Professor Jwo Pan Receives 2017 SAE Medal of Honor   
Professor Jwo Pan has been selected to receive the 2017 SAE Medal of Honor.

The Medal of Honor, established in 1986, is presented annually and is SAE International's most prestigious award. The award recognizes an SAE International member for his and her unique and significant contributions to SAE International.

U-M ME's Yoram Koren Chosen as Namesake of the 2017 SME Outstanding Manufacturing Engineer Award; Neil Dasgupta a Recipient
ME Professor Yoram Koren, the James J. Duderstadt Distinguished University Professor Emeritus of Manufacturing and the Paul G. Goebel Professor Emeritus of Engineering, has been selected by both the SME Board of Directors and the International Awards & Recognition Committee as the namesake of the 2017 SME Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer Award.

ME Assistant Professor Neil Dasgupta has been selected to receive a 2017 Yoram Koren SME Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer Award.

U-M ME's Thompson Named One of Forbes' 2017 "30 Under 30" for Energy 

U-M ME Assistant Research Scientist Travis Thompson was named one of Forbes Magazine's top energy tech entrepreneurs under the age of 30.

Thompson has been working to develop solid-state ceramic batteries using a garnet-based electrolyte.

ME Professor Anna Stefanopoulou Named William Clay Ford Professor of Manufacturing
Professor Anna Stefanopoulou has been appointed the William Clay Ford Professor of Manufacturing. Endowed professorships recognize outstanding faculty members with distinguished records of teaching, research and impact.

University of Michigan
Department of Mechanical Engineering