Updates from the Government Relations team are sent periodically during the legislative session.                                                  
Legislative Update - November 9, 2016
Minnesota's 2016 Election Results

The results of Tuesday’s election surprised many political observers across the nation. Minnesota was certainly no exception. The pre-election consensus among those on both sides of the aisle certainly was turned on its head in many races across the state. We have summarized the results of Tuesday’s election in Minnesota.

We have provided election lists sorted by campuses:

Presidential Race in Minnesota
The Associated Press did not call Minnesota and its 10 electoral votes for former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton (D) until this morning. Clinton won Minnesota with 46.41% of the vote to Donald Trump’s (R) 44.96%.

Minnesota Supreme Court Race
The only race for a statewide office in Minnesota was for a seat on the Minnesota Supreme Court. Incumbent Justice Natalie Hudson defeated attorney Michelle MacDonald with nearly 59% of the vote. Hudson, who was appointed to the state’s highest court by Governor Dayton in October of 2015, will serve a full six-year term.

Constitutional Amendment
Minnesota voters approved an amendment to the state constitution with nearly 77% of the vote that would remove the authority of state legislators to decide their own salary. The issue of legislator pay will be decided by an independent council in the future.

Congressional Races  
  The partisan makeup of Minnesota’s congressional delegation will remain the same for the next two years. Minnesota will be sending three Republicans and five Democrats to represent the state in the U.S. House of Representatives.

Among the high profile races, Republican Jason Lewis prevailed over Democrat Angie Craig to represent Minnesota’s Second Congressional District and succeed retiring Republican Congressman John Kline. The district includes the suburbs, exurbs, and rural communities south of the Twin Cities.

Republican Congressman Erik Paulsen easily fended off a challenge from state Senator Terri Bonoff. Paulsen was elected to a fifth term to represent Minnesota’s Third Congressional District, the western and northern suburbs of Minneapolis.

Democratic Congressman Rick Nolan won another competitive challenge from Republican businessman Stewart Mills. Nolan won re-election to represent Minnesota’s Eighth Congressional District, which stretches from the northern exurbs of the Twin Cities all the way north to the Iron Range.

The other five members of Minnesota’s congressional delegation – Democratic Congressman Tim Walz, Democratic Congresswoman Betty McCollum, Democratic Congressman Keith Ellison, Republican Congressman Tom Emmer, and Democratic Congressman Collin Peterson – were re-elected by voters in their respective districts.

Minnesota Legislature
Republicans gained significant ground in the Minnesota House of Representatives and Minnesota Senate. Prior to Tuesday’s election, Republican held a 73-61 majority in the Minnesota House. After last night’s election, they will now control 76 seats with Democrats holding 57 seats. House Republicans picked up six seats held by Democrats, while Democrats picked up two seats held by Republicans.

One seat – House District 32B in Chisago County currently held by Republicans – will not be decided until a special election in February.

The House seats that changed party control can be found below.  

  • Republican Matt Bliss defeated DFL Rep. John Persell in House District 05A
  • Republican Sandy Layman defeated DFL Rep. Tom Anzelc in House District 05B
  • Republican Randy Jessup defeated DFL Rep. Barb Yarusso in House District 42A
  • Republican Dario Anselmo defeated DFL Rep. Ron Erhardt in House District 49A
  • Democrat Andrew Carlson defeated Republican Rep. Chad Anderson in House District 50B
  • Republican Regina Barr won the seat of retiring DFL Rep. Joe Atkins in House District 52B
  • Republican Keith Franke won the seat of retiring DFL Rep. Dan Schoen, who ran successfully for the Minnesota Senate, in House District 54A
  • Democrat Erin Maye Quade won the seat of retiring Republican Rep. Tara Mack in the House District 57A

In a surprise to many observers, Republicans also took control of the Minnesota Senate. Prior to Tuesday’s election, Democrats controlled 38 seats in the Minnesota Senate while Republicans held 28 seats (with one previously Democrat-held seat was vacant due to the death of former Senate President Jim Metzen). At the beginning of the 2017 Legislative Session, Republicans are poised to have a 34-seat majority with Democrats controlling 33 seats. Senate Republicans picked up eight seats while Democrats were able to flip two Republican-held seats into their column. Notably, Republican Senate Minority Leader David Hann of Eden Prairie lost his re-election. •

  • Republican Mark Johnson won the seat of retiring DFL Sen. LeRoy Stumpf in Senate District 1
  • Republican Paul Utke defeated DFL Sen. Rod Skoe in Senate District 2
  • Republican Justin Eichorn defeated DFL. Sen. Tom Saxhaug in Senate District 5
  • Republican Andrew Lang defeated DFL Sen. Lyle Koenen in Senate District 17
  • Republican Rich Draheim defeated DFL Sen. Kevin Dahle in Senate District 20
  • Republican Matt Goggin defeated DFL Sen. Matt Schmit in Senate District 21
  • Republican John Jasinski defeated DFL Sen. Vicki Jensen in Senate District 24
  • Republican Paul Anderson won the seat of retiring DFL Sen. Terri Bonoff in Senate District 44
  • Democrat Steve Cwodzinski defeated Republican Sen. David Hann in Senate District 48
  • Democrat Matt Little won the seat of retiring Republican Sen. Dave Thompson in Senate District 58

For full election results in Minnesota, visit the Minnesota Secretary of State’s website at: http://electionresults.sos.state.mn.us/ENR/home/100

Now that the election is over, all four legislative caucuses will gather this week to elect their leadership. We will continue to provide updates to let you know who the leaders will be at the Capitol for the next biennium.

Government Relations team:

Jaime Simonsen – Jaime.simonsen@so.mnscu.edu
Bernie Omann – Bernie.omann@so.mnscu.edu
Jim Grathwol – jim.grathwol@so.mnscu.edu