Congratulations to our nominees!

Last year's Shakespeare Awards winners.


Nominations Announced for MacGuffin's

25th Annual Shakespeare Awards

for Excellence in Acting

All are welcome to attend our annual Shakespeare Awards! Each year MacGuffin celebrates the acting achievements of our amazingly talented actors. Actors who’ve participated in our productions in 2023 have been considered for nominations. Essentially, it’s our version of the Tony Awards. It’s a wonderful evening of celebration and remembrances. This season we’ll be celebrating 5 seniors: Josie Guttman, Sophia Johnson, Gwen Kapusinski, Niamh Williams, and Julie Zesinger. The details for the ceremony are spelled out below including the award nominations.

The 2023 Nominations will be posted on our website on Wednesday, December 13. The ceremony will feature musical performances and video clips from our 2023 productions. The awards will be handed out by MacGuffin alumni, teachers, and board members.

Ceremony Information

Date: Saturday, January 13

Time: 7 PM

Location: University of the Arts, Caplan Recital Hall, 211 S Broad St, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (17th floor). It's between Walnut and Locust Sts. on Broad Street,

Dessert Reception just outside the Caplan Recital Hall

Dress: Fancy awards attire - be creative and fun.

Admission: $25 for Adults and Students, General Admission (includes the reception)

Caplan Recital Hall at the University of the Arts

25th Annual Shakespeare Awards Nominations

Best Cameo

Harrison Rittenhouse for What the Constitution Means to Me

Elijah Teel for Chicago & 101 Dalmatians

Ari Eisenstadt for The Odyssey

Kaya Zibelman for Chicago

Best Comedic Performance

Meital Frankel for Chicago

Leo Gade for Chicago

Ziahn Sebastian for The Odyssey

Niamh Williams for Chicago

Meryl Streep Acting Award

Ari Eisenstadt

Leonor Pheulpin

Niamh Williams

Julie Zesinger

Best Comedy Improv Performance

Alex Jacoby

Gwen Kapusinski

Elijah Teel

Amos Wolfe

Best Cabaret Performance

Josie Guttman

Sophia Johnson

Zoe Palmer

Kaya Zibelman

Best Emerging Performer Youth and Teen (announced at the ceremony)

Rising Star Award

Ariadne DiGuilio

Halle Freeman

Scarlett McCaffrey

Isaac Trooskin

Best Character Development

Juliana Atkinson for Annie

Josie Guttman for Chicago

Zoe Palmer for Sorceress

Elijah Teel for The Odyssey

Best Supporting Performance in a Play or Film

Alice Allsopp for The Odyssey

Ari Eisenstadt for The Odyssey

Ziahn Sebastian for The Odyssey

Izzy Silverman for Alice in Wonderland

Best Supporting Performance in a Musical

Harriet-Noni Johnson for The Bees

Serena Krouk for Sorceress

Pria Lipkin for Chicago

Vera Staszewski for Sorceress


The Hitchcock Award for Youth Leadership

Juliana Atkinson

Sydney Giacobbe

Scarlett McCaffrey

Adalene Rohlfing

Best Performance in a Play or Film

Isabel Attenberg for The Odyssey

Sophia Johnson for The Odyssey

Mira LeVine for The Odyssey

Sophia Mamalis for The Play We’re In

Niamh Williams for The Odyssey

Best Performance in a Musical

Meital Frankel for Chicago

Zoe Palmer for Sorceress

Izzy Silverman for Sorceress

Niamh Williams for Chicago

Senior Recognition and Farewell

Josie Guttman, Sophia Johnson, Gwen Kapusinski, Niamh Williams, Julie Zesinger

MacGuffin Theatre & Film Company | 215-922-1141 | [email protected] |

View as Webpage

Facebook  Instagram