Management Update
NLRB Gives Employers Greater Control Over Their Public Spaces
Executive Summary: In a 3-1 decision, the National Labor Relations Board recently ruled that employers may prohibit nonemployee union representatives from soliciting or promoting union membership within common areas of an employer’s business – such as public restaurants and cafeterias – as long as the employer does so in a non-discriminatory manner. See UPMC Presbyterian Shadyside, et al, Case 06-CA-102465 (June 14, 2019). This decision provides employers with greater control over the use of their facilities.

To read full article, click here.
Scalia to be Nominated as Secretary of Labor
On July 18th, President Trump announced, via twitter, his intention to nominate Eugene Scalia as the new Secretary of Labor. Scalia would replace former Secretary of Labor Alexander Acosta. Gene Scalia is the son of late Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia. He is currently a labor & employment attorney with a Washington, D.C. law firm. In the early 1990s, Scalia served as a special assistant to Attorney General William Barr during Barr's first stint leading the Justice Department. Scalia also served as the agency's top lawyer, the solicitor of the U.S. Labor Department, during the George W. Bush administration.
Upcoming Labor & Employment Seminars
Breazeale, Sachse & Wilson, L.L.P. Labor & Employment Attorneys
John T. Andrishok
john.andrishok@bswllp.com
225.381.8020
Murphy J. Foster, III
murphy.foster@bswllp.com
225.381.8015
Philip Giorlando
philip.giorlando@bswllp.com
504.680.5244
Leo C. Hamilton
leo.hamilton@bswllp.com
225.381.8056
Rachael Jeanfreau
rachael.jeanfreau@bswllp.com
504.584.5467
Steven B. Loeb
steven.loeb@bswllp.com
225.381.8050
Eve B. Masinter
eve.masinter@bswllp.com
504.584.5468
Matthew M. McCluer
matthew.mccluer@bswllp.com
504.584.5469
E. Fredrick Preis, Jr.
fred.preis@bswllp.com
504.584.5470
Jacob E. Roussel
jacob.roussel@bswllp.com
225.381.3172
Melissa M. Shirley
melissa.shirley@bswllp.com
225.381.3173
Jerry L. Stovall, Jr.
jerry.stovall@bswllp.com
225.381.8042
Cody Waagner
cody.waagner@bswllp.com
225.381.8049