March marks one year of serving our Pure Community remotely. We have read over 15,000 feedback forms and hosted almost 600 free webinars based on your requests. Our team is grateful for your dedication to your learners, your community, and most importantly - to your own self-care. 

We’ve planned a month of webinars based on your suggestions. We are kicking off the month with Reconnection - Focus on Student Relationships & Sharing Our Story, Belonging, a book talk and fireside chat with author James Nestor and as always, sessions focused on self-care. All events are live, free and registration is open to all.

With much gratitude, 

Anne, Brianne, Chi, Erin, Gill, Jess & Michelle

#TeacherTuesday Book Talk and Fireside Chat with James Nestor
Join us on Tuesday, March 23 at 12pm PST / 3pm EST
Closed Captioning provided.
Breath Applications
for Educators
with James Nestor
There is nothing more essential to our health and well-being than breathing: take air in, let it out, repeat twenty-five thousand times a day. Yet, as a species, humans have lost the ability to breathe correctly, with grave consequences. This sounds impossible, but it’s true. Snoring, sleep apnea, asthma, allergies, and even autoimmune diseases are among the most prevalent diseases in the modern world, and all of them can be either exacerbated, or sometimes caused, by poor breathing.
 
Thankfully, acclaimed author and journalist James Nestor has spent the last decade trying to figure out where we all went wrong and how we can fix it. In this eye-opening talk, he condenses years of on-the-ground research, found in the unlikeliest of places (think ancient burial sites, secret Soviet facilities, and New Jersey choir schools) into a cohesive strategy for how to improve our breathing, and therefore our life. Packed with groundbreaking research and titillating stories, Nestor’s talk shows us what breathing does for our physical and mental well-being, and how we can do it better.
Enter the drawing for a free e-book copy of Breath The New Science of a Lost Art by James Nestor
Monday March 1 at 10am PST / 1pm EST
Reconnection
Student Relationships
&
Sharing Our Story

Join us for a 45-minute conversation with
Jennifer Jackson, licensed therapist, & Candace Best, a NYC teacher,
to kick off March, a month of reconnection as a self care strategy. Closed captioning provided.

Wednesday, March 2, 9, & 16 at 9am PST / 12pm EST
Building Belonging
A Series with Project Wayfinder
Feeling that we belong is foundational to living with purpose. Brandy Arnold, Director of School Success & Training at Project Wayfinder, will present 3 lessons from the year-long Belonging curricula, which guide students to build meaningful, compassionate relationships with themselves, other people, and the wider world. The Belonging curriculum is suitable for 7th-10th graders. Lessons are designed to support quick and easy implementation. Closed captioning provided.
March 8-12 at 3pm PST / 6pm EST – Movement
March 15-19 at 12pm PST / 3pm EST – Build Resilience by Taking a Breath
March 22-26 at 8am PST / 11am EST – Revitalize with Rest
Take a Midweek Break with Well-Being Wednesdays
Wed, Feb. 17 & 24 at 1pm PST / 4pm EST
Wednesdays in March at 1pm PST / 4pm EST
Join Michelle for this Well-Being Wednesday series will offer experiential mindfulness-based sessions designed to support the well-being of school-based personnel as they continue to provide essential services to our community each day. ASL translation provided.
Start Your Week Off with Mindful Mondays
Mon, Feb. 22 at 9am PST / 12pm EST
Mondays in March at 9am PST / 12pm EST
Join Anne for this Mindful Monday series that will offer experiential mindfulness-based sessions to start your week. Each session will be 30 minutes. Closed captioning provided.
Breathe for a Better Day
Feb. 22-26 at 6am PST / 9am EST
Join Gill for this 5-day series, where we will use simple breathing strategies to update our "mental software" and raise our energy levels.
Having Trouble Sleeping? Educator Self-Care: Rest & Relaxation
Wed, Mar. 2, 9, & 16 at 8:30am PST / 11:30am EST
Join Michelle for this 60-minute experiential session with breathe/move/rest practices and data on sleep/rest/relaxation inclusive of PEI specific research data and slides from healthy mind platter sessions that focused on sleep. ASL interpretation provided.
Series 2: Educator Self-Care and Social-Emotional Learning
Thurs, Mar. 4, 11, 18, 25 & Apr. 1 at 1pm PST / 4pm EST
Join us for an experiential session designed to support the integration of caring for yourself, the educator, while supporting the social and emotional learning (SEL) initiatives for your students. Participants will apply focused awareness of each of the 5 SEL competencies during each session. We will explore safe and supportive relationships, strengthening co-regulation with others, and building interaction skills that support social competence and academic success in a practical context with SEL. ASL interpretation provided.
Culture of Care Part 3 (Teachers & Administrators)
Mon, Mar. 15 at 6am PST / 9am EST
The Culture of Care series will help you build knowledge to integrate self-care and social-emotional learning (SEL) skills in your classes. Topics explored in Part 3 include: Creating Healthy Habits, Taking In the Good, and The Six Critical Healing Factors. This is a 3-hour session. Closed Captioning provided.
Want to host a virtual field trip for your school?
Love engaging in self-care but nervous about sharing strategies with students?
Consider a virtual field trip led by one of our Pure Edge team members!
Find out how - email getmoving@pureedgeinc.org
Join Coalition of Schools Educating Mindfully for their 3rd Annual Educating Mindfully Conference. This virtual day of learning will model mindful remote learning and you’ll leave recharged with strategies for embedding mindfulness and SEL into your unique school environment, as well as next steps and resources for learning more. Included in registration is an Educator Mini-Retreat and an All Ages Every School Mindfulness Class on Saturday, February 27. Learn more at educatingmindfully.org.
Building Bonds, Reimagining Community
We know that social emotional learning (SEL) changes lives. Studies show that SEL delivers long-term improvements in skills, behavior, and academic performance while reducing anxiety, depression, and substance abuse. SEL competencies are also critically important for long-term success in today’s economy.