Save the Date for the Chamber Annual Meeting & Awards Ceremony
I wanted to start this newsletter with information about our upcoming Chamber Annual Meeting and Awards Ceremony. I feel that this event is possibly the most important chamber event we hold each year, and we should start talking about it now.
In recent years, the Chamber Annual Meeting has begun at 7:30am with a breakfast, then the annual membership meeting and the awards ceremony immediately following. This would conclude the meeting with everyone rushing back to work by 9am. The Chamber Annual Meeting has also been held in the evening in the late 1990's and early 2000's. Our Board of Directors has made the decision to hold the event in the evening this year.
Please mark your calendars for the EVENING of Tuesday, May 3, 2022. Doors will open at 5pm with a networking hour from 5pm to 6pm. We will have appetizers and a cash bar during that time. Promptly at 6pm, we will bring everyone together to start dinner and our goal is to begin the Annual Meeting at 6:30pm. The awards part of the evening will still be held immediately following the Annual Meeting. Our end goal is to be finished well before 8pm.
The idea behind returning the Annual Meeting to the evening is that we are finally getting to a position with COVID that we can safely have in-person events. The feedback we have received after other events is that the networking component has been dearly missed the past few years. In changing our Annual Meeting and Awards Ceremony to a dinner, we hope our membership will take advantage of the 5-6pm hour to network and reacquaint themselves with those in the community, or to introduce themselves to the new leaders in the community.
I know that I am not the only community leader who transitioned to their new role at the beginning, during, or recently since the onset of the pandemic. We really have not had a chance to socialize, network and mingle with our peers or fellow businessmen and businesswomen.
Another reason we changed the time of the event this year is to fully recognize our award recipients. We are so fortunate to have resilient businesses, organizations, and individuals right here in Crawford County and we should celebrate them! We should congratulate them, take pictures to capture their achievements and we should not feel like we must rush back to the office or to another meeting.
I would like to encourage all of you to nominate a Chamber Member in good standing that is a deserving business, organization or individual for one of our Chamber Annual Awards. The nomination form is available online (CLICK HERE) and will be open until the end of the business day on Thursday, March 31st. Please stop by the office or email me if you would like a hard copy to complete, but it must be returned by the end of day on Thursday the 31st.
If someone you nominated is selected for an award, we will contact you mid-April so that you have time to make arrangements to attend the Chamber Annual Meeting & Awards Ceremony and help celebrate your nominees’ achievements.
Last year’s award winners were:

Industry of the Year: Iron Vault Distillery
Service Industry of the Year: Cleaning By Carrie
Business of the Year: Dzugan Real Estate
Retail Business of the Year: Bistro 217
Service Business of the Year: Avita Health System
Organization of the Year: Community Counseling & Wellness Center
Professional of the Year: Chad Miller, Galion Port Authority
Young Professional of the Year: Chris Adler, Avita Health System
Chamber Chair Award: Matt Echelberry, City of Galion
Chamber Volunteer Award: Crestline Community Development Team
Chamber Service Award: Joe Kleinknecht, past President/CEO, Galion-Crestline Chamber
President’s Award: Jennifer Allerding, Galion City Schools Superintendent
President’s Award: Matt Henderson, Crestline Schools Superintendent

More details and registration for the event will be available soon. In the meantime, Save the Date for the EVENING of May 3rd and nominate a deserving Chamber Member for an award. I hope to see you all and be able to network with you in May!

Miranda Jones, Executive Director