Website       About Us      For Donors       For Grant Seekers     Scholarships       Contact Us
Community Connection     May 2019
CFCI Hosts 31st Annual Meeting

On May 7th, the Community Foundation of Central Illinois hosted our 31st Annual Meeting. During the reception, the Estate of Jean M. Brown was honored as the 2019 recipient of the prestigious Founder's Award in recognition of the $1.47 million donation that established the Jean M. Brown Scholarship Fund and the impact that fund has made on nursing students in central Illinois. The Founder's Award was established in 2003 to "recognize those organizations, corporations, and individuals who have so greatly contributed to our success".  Past winners include Caterpillar, Gordon and Jean Peters, Gene and Harriett Swager, Donna Haerr, Jerry Horn, Ed Siebert, John Sahn, Pat Barton, and the Women's Fund of the Community Foundation of Central Illinois.

CFCI announced the largest donation in the Foundation's history. A $16 million gift from the Human Service Center Foundation to the Community Foundation of Central Illinois will endow two restricted funds for long-term support of UnityPlace's work related to mental and behavioral health services in the community.

Additionally, Kim Keenan spoke on behalf of H.E.A.L. Food System Partners, who received the inaugural Ending Hunger Together grant of $40,000.  A quartet of students from Youth Music Illinois also provided entertainment during the program.  
At the close of the 2017-2018 fiscal year, CFCI's assets totaled over $37,000,000, held in nearly 490 funds within the Foundation and Depository accounts. We also continue to serve as a vehicle for effective distribution of charitable capital, awarding $4,710,000 in grants to nonprofits in our community and beyond.  At the heart of our mission is our passion for "Connecting People Who Care with Causes That Matter" and we are honored to support our community on behalf of our generous donors.
We want to extend our sincere appreciation to the 2019 Annual Meeting sponsors: 
Meet Our New Board Members!
Theresa Murphy currently serves as a Strategic Philanthropy Officer for OSF Healthcare Foundation. Theresa leads philanthropic efforts for Children's Hospital of Illinois and Saint Francis Medical Center Women's Services. Additionally, she serves on and works with Children's Community Advisory Board members, community leaders and volunteers to further engagement with Children's Hospital. Community honors include: 40 Leaders Under 40; Peoria Jaycees Prescott Bloom Award; Junior League of Peoria Sustainer of the Year; and Women's Fund Leader Luncheon-2018 Community Service Award. Theresa has her J.D. from Northern Illinois University College of Law, and her Master's in Health Administration from Capella University. She also participated in Chamber of Commerce Community Leadership School and Bradley Leadership Institute.

Stacy Peterson has worked for the City of Peoria since 2014. As Strategic Communications Manager, she serves as a liaison between the City government and residents. Her work includes public relations, organizing press conferences, writing media releases and assisting on special projects. As such, she works with all the City departments and can be seen in a variety of capacities from designing behavior change campaigns to increase recycling, participating in ride-alongs with the Police Department, or even getting the chance to drive a snow plow to increase awareness on snow removal.  Stacy has a certificate in language and culture from the Alliance Fran├žaise-Paris, a B.A. in English from the University of Iowa, and an M.A. in Communication from Western Illinois University.  She is always looking for ways to communicate with residents and visitors alike while promoting Peoria in positive ways. 

Chris Setti is a the CEO of the Greater Peoria Economic Development Council.  He is responsible for the successful development, implementation, measuring and sharing of Greater Peoria's regional economic development strategy through positive partnerships with local, regional, state, and federal public and private partners. Chris has worked in the economic development field since 2005.  He worked for the City of Peoria for twelve years, the last five of which were serving as the Assistant City Manager and Director of Economic Development.  He joined GPEDC in early 2018.  Prior to his work in economic development, Chris spent 10 years in social services as a program manager and executive leader. Chris has a B.A. of Arts in Government and International Relations from the University of Notre Dame and his Master's Degree in Public Administration from the University of Colorado. Chris and his wife, Eileen, have two daughters and live on the West Bluff of Peoria.

Emerging Philanthropists Give Back to Camp Big Sky

Pictured above: Bryan O'Neal, Nick Derrick, David Wiest, Monica Ray, Wendy Ray, Liz Britton, and Jennifer Weaver.

Members of the Emerging Philanthropists Fund helped Camp Big Sky get ready for their season by painting their gazebo, dock, and tractor.
If you haven't already done so, we encourage you to join or renew your membership for 2019. By becoming a member, you will have the opportunity to review grant applications, help select the top three to five grant finalists, participate in the grant finalist panel in July, and vote on the recipient of the 2019 Emerging Philanthropists Fund grant! A minimum donation of $100 annually per person or $200 per couple/family is required to be a voting member of the Fund.
Donation must be completed by June 30, 2019 to participate in this grant cycle.
Like us on Facebook      View our profile on LinkedIn    View our videos on YouTube