Fiction - Worth a Checkout
The Guest Book
by Sarah Blake

A sweeping, lush novel about past mistakes and betrayals that ripple throughout generations. The Guest Book  examines not just a privileged American family, but a privileged America. The bereaved matriarch of a powerful early-20th-century American family makes a fateful decision that reverberates throughout two subsequent generations further impacted by racism, reversed circumstances, and disturbing revelations.
By the best-selling author of  The Postmistress.  A potent and mesmerizing family saga, and a literary triumph.
(Historical Fiction)
Resistance Women
by Jennifer Chiaverini

Solid fiction depicting the true story of an American expatriate in 1930's Germany who formed a resistance cell committed to bringing down Hitler's regime from within. Chiaverini has such a gift for pairing historical events with compelling story lines. Her many fans and every historical fiction reader who enjoys strong female characters will find much to love in this revealing WWII novel.
(Fiction/Historical)
Deception Cove
by Owen Laukkanen

Widowed former marine Jess Winslow can cope with PTSD only because of beloved pit bull Lucy, who's been kidnapped by an evil sheriff. The crusty former convict who trained Lucy adds page turning excitement, as he is determined to help Jess get her dog back. The multi-award-nominated Laukkanen based Lucy on his own rescue pup. Readers will love this action packed thriller!
(Fiction/Suspense)
AVAILABLE SOON
Lanny
by Max Porter

A wood spirit known as Papa Toothwort hovers over a village outside of London, surveying the passing scene while snatches of conversation swirl around him. Observing everything with folksy humor, he takes particular interest in Lanny, a curious young boy who lives with his mother, a former actress now at home writing thrillers, and his Dad, who works as an asset manager in the city. To encourage Lanny's creative bent, Mum arranges lessons for him with their neighbor, artist "Mad Pete.” The unlikely friendship that blossoms between the old eccentric and the young boy troubles nosy neighbors. So when tragedy strikes, it comes as no surprise that Pete is first to fall under suspicion. This imaginative novel begins dreamily, picks up speed, and races to a propulsive conclusion.
A guaranteed edge-of-your-seat read.
(Fiction/Literary)
Biloxi
by Mary Miller

Biloxi, Mississippi is home to sixty-three-year-old Louis McDonald Jr. His wife of thirty-seven years left him, his father has passed—and he has impulsively retired from his job in anticipation of an inheritance check that may not come. In the meantime, he watches reality television, sips beer, and avoids his ex-wife and daughter. One day, he stops at a house advertising free dogs and meets overweight mixed-breed Layla. He adopts Layla and life takes on new meaning. In Louis, Miller captures the insecurities of an imperfect man beyond his prime as he tries to find his purpose in the world. The result is a charming and terrific novel.
(Fiction/Literary/Southern)
Ask Again, Yes
by Mary Beth Keane

A profoundly moving novel about two neighboring families in a suburban town, the friendship between their children, a tragedy that reverberates over four decades, and the power of forgiveness.

Assigned to the same precinct in 1973, NYPD rookies Francis Gleeson and Brian Stanhope are next-door neighbors outside the city, if not particularly close. Brian's son and Francis's youngest daughter start crushing on each other as tweens but then a violent event divides the families.

Bittersweet, haunting, and ever so moving.
(Fiction/Psychological)
The Favorite Daughter
by Kaira Rouda

Emerging from a year grieving the tragic death of her older daughter, a woman in a California oceanfront gated community observes the changes in her family while uncovering disturbing truths about her late daughter's final days. Intense and creepy, this is CLASSIC Kaira Rouda! 

A chilling story, so well told – don’t miss it.
(Fiction/Suspense)
The Stone Circle
by Elly Griffiths

DCI Nelson has been receiving threatening letters. They are anonymous, yet reminiscent of ones he has received in the past, from the person who drew him into a case that’s haunted him for years. At the same time, Ruth receives a letter purporting to be from that very same person—her former mentor, and the reason she first started working with Nelson. The hitch? The author of those letters is dead, or is he? This superb series never disappoints. Its patented combination of mysterious circumstances, police procedure, and agonizing relationship problems will keep you reading, and feeling, all night.
(Fiction/Police Procedurals)

Orange World and Other Stories
by Karen Russell

From the Pulitzer finalist and universally beloved author of the New York Times best sellers Swamplandia! and Vampires in the Lemon Grove , a stunning new collection of short fiction that showcases her extraordinary gifts of language and imagination. This is fiction you can feel, settings so descriptive with an immense sense of place making the reader feel as though they’re sitting right smack dab in the center of wherever the story goes. 

A miracle of storytelling by a true master.

(Fiction/Literary/Short Stories)

Middlegame
by Seanan McGuire

This epic sci-fi adventure will grab fans of Doctor Who and Blade Runner . Twins Roger and Dodger were genetically manufactured in a lab so that their psychotic creator, Reed, who is also genetically manufactured, could unlock godlike powers. The twins are separated and raised on opposite ends of the country. Despite the distance, they are linked and nothing will stop them from connecting with each other. The plot is intricate yet fast paced, with classic sci-fi elements such as genetic engineering, psychic links, alternate dimensions, and time loops. A fascinating novel, one which will have readers thinking long after the last page is turned.
(Fiction/Fantasy)
Have You Seen Luis Velez?
by Catherine Ryan Hyde

Two strangers—one a lonely boy and the other a Holocaust survivor—develop an unlikely friendship while trying to track down the woman’s missing caretaker. What transcends is a spellbinding coming-of-age story deepened by the satisfaction of belonging, the vibrancy of community, and the power of connection. Fans of Liane Moriarty and Kristin Hannah will adore the deep connection between the unlikeliest of friends.
(Fiction)

A Bend in the Stars
by Rachel Barenbaum

For fans of  All the Light We Cannot See  and  The Women in the Castle  comes a riveting literary novel that is at once an epic love story and a heart-pounding journey across WWI-era Russia, about an ambitious young doctor and her scientist brother in a race against Einstein to solve one of the greatest mysteries of the universe. An exhilarating read and another title sure to appear on year’s end “best of” lists for 2019.
(Historical Fiction)

Library Book Chat
Wednesday, May 29 at 7 p.m.

Come share what you’ve been reading lately and hear about what others are reading as well. Library staff will be on hand to share recent favorite reads and discuss what’s hot this month in books, trends, and new releases.

Summer Reading Program
"Read S'More Books"

Pick up your reading log starting May 17th. Babies, kids, and teens will earn amazing prizes for reaching weekly reading goals. Adults can set their own reading goals and will be entered into weekly prize drawings and a grand prize drawing. New this summer, read for bonus weeks 7 and 8 for additional chances to win great prizes.

The last day to pick up prizes is August 9. The program is sponsored in large part by donations from area businesses. We greatly appreciate the support. Check out our newsletter for a complete list of donors.

For more weekly fun, come to the library and participate in our scavenger hunts for all ages. You never know what you'll find or what you'll learn!