News from the Canadian Forage & Grassland Association
Manitoba Producer Wins  CFGA Leadership Award
For Immediate Release
CALGARY, AB (Nov. 15, 2018) -  The Canadian Forage and Grassland Association (CFGA) is pleased to name Dave Koslowsky as winner of the 2018 CFGA  Leadership Award.
Koslowsky and his wife Rhonda operate a 1,720-acre mixed farm outside of Killarney, Man. that includes 120 head of cattle and the pastures and forage fields necessary to support the herd.
Koslowsky is the immediate past chair and a current board member of the Manitoba Forage and Grassland Association (MFGA) and a member of the Manitoba Beef Producers. He was also co-chair of the Manitoba Beef Producers annual meeting in 2017 and chaired the event in 2018.
During his time on the MFGA board, Koslowsky brought forth the importance of diversity, governance and leadership in the forage industry. At the helm of MFGA, Koslowsky advanced the organization by pushing for a complete governance exercise, including a strategic plan and bylaws update. This set the foundation for MFGA to become a more relevant organization to the point now where MFGA's board is comprised of the most diverse and well-rounded board of forage leaders from all walks of the industry and includes eight male and seven female board members.
"When I was elected to lead MFGA as chair, I took up the challenge and started on strategic planning actions, an organizational bylaws refresh and clear governance path that included succession led by Wendy Bulloch of Building Up Consultants that takes us where MFGA is today," Koslowsky said in his acceptance speech.

"I also worked on a strong collaboration process for MFGA. Whenever we met with our partners or government audiences, we always told them about our goals and intentions, but we also always asked about how MFGA could help accomplish their goals. We really stress the win-win for all our partners."
The CFGA presented Koslowsky with its 2018 Leadership Award at a special presentation on Thursday, Nov. 15 during the 9th Annual CFGA Conference in Calgary. Darren Chapman, MFGA chair, and Duncan Morrison, MFGA executive director, accepted the award on behalf of Koslowsky.
About the Award
The CFGA Leadership Award was established in 2012 to recognize and encourage leadership in the forage and grassland sector. It recognizes individuals, groups or organizations who exemplify or enhance the goals of the CFGA and whose leadership has impact of national and/or international significance.

About Canadian Forage and Grassland Association
Incorporated in 2010, the Canadian Forage and Grassland Association provides a national voice for all Canadians who produce hay and forage products and for those whose production is dependent upon forage/grassland production.
Media Contact:
Trudy Kelly Forsythe
CFGA Communications
Phone: 506-832-0338
Email address: [email protected]

  Canadian Forage & Grassland Association