For Immediate Release

MFGA Announces New Chairperson at 2018 AGM
Virden's Darren Chapman takes helm of Manitoba Forage and Grassland Association
Winnipeg, MB (March 12, 2018) --- Virden's Darren Chapman was announced as the new Manitoba Forage and Grassland Association (MFGA) chairperson at the 2018 MFGA Annual General Meeting held in Brandon recently. Chapman, a longtime member of the Manitoba Hay Exporters, succeeds Killarney's Dave Koslowsky at the helm of the grass and forage producer group. 
"I've been around grass, forages and livestock most all my life and I understand their importance to our farm operations," said Chapman. "I believe the most important days for grass and forages are with us right now and I believe MFGA is well-positioned to continue on the good path Dave set for us as chair and for us to keep working hard and together as a board on behalf of forage and grass producers in Manitoba." 
MFGA Finance Chair Ryan Boyd retained his position for another term on the MFGA Board Executive while Larry Wegner of Virden begins his first term as MFGA Vice-Chair. Koslowsky will remain on the MFGA Board Executive as past chairman. 
Chapman runs a grain, hay and cattle operation with farm partners Parry and Rob Chapman and Jeff Elliott near Virden. Darren and wife Laura have four daughters that pitch in and help around the family farm south of Virden when not in high school or University classes. 

The 2018/2019 MFGA board members (new 2018 members in red):
Producer Representatives:
Dave Koslowsky, (Past Chair-Killarney), Larry Wegner (Vice Chair-Virden), Ryan Boyd (Finance Chair-Forrest), Andrea Hamilton (Glenboro), Kristelle Harper (Brandon), Shauna Breault (Ste Rose), Matt Van Steelandt (Melita).   
Appointed Commodity Groups or Associations/Members:
Lawrence Knockaert, Dairy Farmers of MB; Gord Adams, Manitoba Beef Producers; Darren Chapman, (Chair-Virden), Manitoba Hay Exporters; Colin Hunter, Manitoba Sheep Producers.
Ex-Officio Board Members: Mae Elsinger, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada; Charlotte Crawley, Ducks Unlimited Canada; Pam Iwanchysko, Manitoba Agriculture; Emma McGeough, Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences, University of Manitoba. 

For more information: 
Duncan Morrison,
MFGA Executive Director

MFGA  interacts with tens of thousands of Manitobans through our communications,  collaborative projects, and outreach that promote the importance and well-being of Manitoba`s forages  and grasslands. On a national scale, MFGA proudly partners with like-minded groups across Canada.