November 28, 2019

Greetings!

Can you believe there's only one month left in this decade? I know, I can't believe it either.

While there is so much hype around Black Friday and holiday shopping, your Humanist Canada board has been reflecting on the ways we've tried to make a difference in the lives of our fellow humans. It's the perfect time of year to give back to our humanist community before 2020, reels us into the future.

Humanist Canada has embraced the global movement for giving and volunteering called GivingTuesday. It takes place each year after Black Friday. This year it's Tuesday, December 3rd, the "Opening day of the giving season," it's a time when charities, companies and individuals join together and rally for favourite causes. In the same way that retailers take part in Black Friday, the giving community comes together for GivingTuesday.

GivingTuesday harnesses the potential of social media and the generosity of people around the world to bring about real change in their communities; it provides a platform for them to encourage the donation of time, resources and talents to address local challenges. It also brings together the collective power of a unique blend of partners - nonprofits, civic organizations, businesses and corporations, as well as families and individuals - to encourage and amplify small acts of kindness. Across Canada and around the world, GivingTuesday unites communities by sharing our capacity to care for and empower one another. We're sending out reminders, and we would love it if you could make Humanist Canada one of your preferred causes this year.

Warmest regards,

Martin Frith, President
on behalf of the Board


The Freedom of Thought Report is a unique worldwide survey of discrimination and persecution against humanists, atheists and the non-religious published by Humanists International. In 110 countries (that's 56% of countries worldwide) there is discriminatory state funding of religion.*

Check it out to see where Canada stands and you might be surprised.
*2019, Freedom of Thought Report

Humanist Canada is a proud supporter of Kasese Humanist School in Uganda. In the recent issue of Humanium, a volunteer teacher shared his profound experience at Kasese. Read more...

Humanium is a NGO dedicated to stopping violations of children’s rights throughout the world. It was founded in Geneva in 2008 with a single purpose: the well-being of children worldwide.
Member Polling
This Months Poll

Humanist Canada's monthly webinar is scheduled for Sundays at 1 pm. In an effort to accomodate as many members across Canada, would you please pick your preference for time, keeping in mind the options listed are EST.
What is your preferred time for the Webinar?
1:00 pm EST /10 am PST/11 am MT / 2 pm AST
2:00 pm EST /11 am PST/ 12 pm MT / 3 pm AST
3:00 pm EST /12 pm PST/ 1 pm MT / 4 pm AST
Last Months Poll Results
The question was on the election results: Canadians have just elected a Liberal minority government. Are you..? You responded as follows:

Happy with the results: 79.7%
Not happy with the results: 20.3%
Have you ever experienced a conversation quickly devolving into an argument or worse, especially if it involves matters of belief? Then this webinar is for you!

The goal of street epistemology is to guide people into engaging their critical thinking skills and applying them to their own beliefs about the world. Street Epistemology is about teaching the most fundamental features of critical thought including the value of skepticism and the scientific method. It's about illuminating the distinction between beliefs about the universe and the objective truth of the world.

Our presenter, Miguel Mendez, immigrated from Venezuela. He holds degrees in Life Sciences from the University of Ottawa and in Computer Science from Ontario Tech University. After working in the field of bioinformatics, he currently is a software consultant in the financial technology sector at the intersection of machine learning, big data automation, and security. His job is rarely dull.

Miguel is an engaging speaker with a warm presentation style. Join us on December 8th to discover how Street Epistemology can change and enhance your interactions, both personal and professional.

HI Blog

To stay up-to-date on International Humanist Activities you may want to bookmark Humanists International Blog which features members news and campaign updates in our International community. Check it out!


The number of humanists in the world is rising, but the number of us at risk of persecution continues to rise as well. As we move forward into Fall, it is important to remember others who want to live out the same ideals, but continue to encounter robust discrimination for what they believe. . Click to Donate .
Humanist Canada's 2020 AGM will be held in Winnip eg on the May 2-3 weekend.

Plans are underway for the HC's Annual General Meeting with a Conference Day to bring together Canadian Humanists. The Annual General meeting will be available for remote attendance though stay tuned for updates in the coming months.

To ensure the newsletter is relevant we invite your response to a few short questions. Having feedback from across the country is our goal. Click here!
Why membership in Humanist Canada is important!

We simply can't do it without you. We are entirely funded through memberships and donations. Your involvement is incredibly significant and goes a long way to support lasting change for a better society and a tolerant world where rational thinking and kindness prevail.

Your membership status/expiry date is on you\'re currently not a member, so please consider joining Humanist Canada today (M/D/Y). If it's time for you to renew, just click on your personal link below, confirm your information and make your payment today.

 Click here: http://weblink.donorperfect.com/humanistcanada_join
If you have any questions about renewing, please contact the National Office at members@humanistcanada.ca or 1-877-486-2671.