Serving the municipalities of 
DeKalb, Kane and Kendall Counties
December 4 , 2019

Executive Director Notes

It's been six months since I have taken the reins of Metro West- time flies when you are having fun! Here is re-cap of what we have done together in those six short months:

Here are some of my plans for 2020:
  • Update the brochure
  • Begin work on our Strategic Plan
  • Obtain an audit
  • Focus on non-member communities to share the benefits of joining Metro West
  • New office space (eventually)

I couldn't be successful without the direction and counsel of all of you and for that I say Thank You and looking forward to 2020!


2020 Metro West Schedule of Events

We are working on the final details for our 2020 events schedule and have the dates in place. Please click here for the tentative list of events and look for a final version in early 2020.

Metropolitan Mayors Caucus
MMC is participating in the 2020 Census Complete Count and was awarded $300,000 for the collar counties to help promote the project. They are hosting an Idea Exchange on December 9 and 10 from 8am-1pm. This exchange is meant to help municipalities prepare for the CCC. More information can be found here: 

The City of Elgin was the first recipient of the Community Solar Joint Purchasing Program. This addresses both the cost savings as well as the consensus of the Greenest Region Compact to advance renewable energy. More information is here: 

Mayor Shielke attended a meeting with Chicago Mayor Lori Lighfoot a couple weeks ago with the Metropolitan Mayors Caucus. Mayor Lightfoot indicated she is interested in a continued partnership with the Caucus. We look forward to working with her on issues that effect our area.

CMAP Update

CMAP's  Erin Aleman was named as one of Crain's  40 Under 40 for 2019. The list honors 40 people in the Chicago region who are leaders in their fields and includes innovators in government, technology, health care, and more.

Aleman is the first female executive director for CMAP and returned to lead the agency this year after spending five years at the Illinois Department of Transportation. She began her career as CMAP fellow and helped to shape the agency's Local Technical Assistance program.

From IML
"All the Queen's Horses", the story about how City Comptroller of Dixon, Illinois, Rita Crundwell stole $53 million of public funds across 20 years - making her the perpetrator of the largest case of municipal fraud in American history. The Illinois Municipal League (IML)
has purchased rights to All the Queen's Horses, which
will allow IML member municipalities to stream the documentary and learn from its lessons. What is so interesting in this film is all the people who didn't notice what was happening. If anyone is interested, we can have a viewing at our office or to directly request access, email Hilaree Butler at with the subject IML-All the Queen's Horses, to request an access code. Each municipality is allowed one access code and the code may only be used one time. Access will be provided until August 1, 2020.

Legislative Corner

The General Assembly will return to session the week of January 28, 2020. The Senate may return earlier to vote in a new President as President John Cullerton has stepped down. Metro West Legislative Committee will meet this week to discuss key legislation to watch during session.

We have scheduled two of our Federal Legislators to come to the Metro West office for a discussion on a variety of issues. Congressman Sean Castens will be here on Wednesday, January 22, 2020 at 10am and Congresswoman Lauren Underwood will be here on Tuesday, February 18, 2020 at 10am. Please let us know if you will be attending to be sure there is ample space.  

Upcoming MWCOG Meetings

Our next event is the Legislative Breakfast and Program at
Eagle Brook Country Club, 2288 Fargo Blvd, Geneva, IL 60134 (registration at 7am, program begins at 8am). Hope to see you all there!

The first Board Meeting of 2020 is on January 23rd at Emmett's Brewing Company, 
128 West Main Street, West Dundee 


Business Partners Renewals

Our Business Partner Renewals that have occurred since November 5th are:

Gold Level Business Partners

Ottosen, Britz, Kelly, Cooper, Gilbert & DiNolfo, Ltd.

Silver Level Business Partners

Lamp Incorporated
Metro Strategies, Inc.
Trotter & Associates, Inc.

Welcome to our newest Silver Level Business Partner: 
Aurora Area Convention and Visitor's Bureau

Thank you to our loyal Business Partners!

The Metro West Council of Government Business Partners Program provides marketing and networking opportunities for businesses, non-profit organizations and units of government that share a common commitment to the well-being of municipalities in DeKalb, Kane and Kendall Counties. Business Partners enjoy heightened visibility among member communities' elected officials and staff by participating in annual events, workshops, publications and sponsorship opportunities.

Gold Level Business Partners  
Azavar Government Solutions                                             
Engineering Enterprises Inc.
F.H. Paschen
HR Green Inc.
Kathleen Field Orr & Associates
Mickey, Wilson, Weiler, Renzi, Lenert & Julien
, PC
Nicor Gas
Ottosen, Britz, Kelly, Cooper, Gilbert & DiNolfo, Ltd.
Sikich LLP

Silver Level Business Partners 
Advanced Disposal
Alliant/Mesirow Insurance Services
Applied Ecological Services
Aurora Area Convention and Visitor's Bureau
Baxter & Woodman
Call One Telecommunications
CDM Smith
Chastain & Associates LLC
Christopher B. Burke Engineering Ltd.
The Concord Group
Fifth Third Bank
First National Bank
Gardiner Koch Weisberg & Wrona
The Horton Group
Klein, Thorp and Jenkins, LTD
Lamp Incorporated
Larson & Darby Group
Metro Strategies Inc.
PMA Financial Network, Inc.
Realtors Association of the Fox Valley, Inc.
Robinson Engineering, Ltd
Signarama, North Aurora
Speer Financial, Inc.
Trotter & Associates, Inc.
V3 Companies
Waubonsee Community College
Wight & Company

2019-2020 Metro West Council of Government Officers
President......................................     Kathy Curtis, President, Village of Maple Park
Vice President...............................    Kevin Burns, Mayor, City of Geneva
Secretary......................................     Steve Bosco, Administrator, Village of North Aurora
Treasurer......................................     Dan Di Santo, Administrator, Village of Oswego
Immediate Past President.............    Sean Michels, President, Village of Sugar Grove
DeKalb County Municipal Rep.......   Dawn Wucki-Rossbach, Adminstrator, Village of Maple Park
Kane County Municipal Rep..........   Chuck Nelson, Deputy Mayor, City of Aurora
Kendall County Municipal Rep.......  Troy Parlier, President, Village of Oswego

Lesli Melendy
Executive Director
Cell: 847.226.4876

Karin McCarthy-Lange 
Executive Assistant