The Monday Memo is the weekly newsletter of the KU School of Journalism. 
It is sent to journalism faculty, staff, students and alumni who have requested it. 

Faculty and staff
Congratulations to Kerry Benson, strategic communication track chair, who received the Bengtson Faculty Mentor Award last week at the J-School Awards and Scholarship Ceremony. The award was established in 2012 by Mark Mears (right), 1984 J-School graduate, to honor his mentor, Professor Tim Bengtson, who taught in the school for more than 30 years.
Associate Professor Genelle Belmas has been invited to serve on the Game Development Pathway advisory board at the Basehor-Linwood School District (near Kansas City) to help guide the curriculum in programming and industry standards for gaming and gamification.
Farewell, Susanne Shaw

Dozens of alumni, faculty, staff and friends wished Professor Susanne Shaw well on her retirement last week during a reception in the Clarkson Gallery. Dean Ann Brill presented Shaw with a special J-School memento.
Research and presentations
Associate Professor Genelle Belmas and Bastiaan Vanacker, associate professor and director of the Center for Digital Ethics and Policy at Loyola University Chicago, presented their joint paper, "Satire in the Digital Age: Legal Issues with Satire and Parody Social Media Accounts, an Overview," at "The State of the Satirical Union" conference celebrating the 30th anniversary of Hustler v. Falwell at the University of Minnesota on April 21-22. The paper discusses parodic accounts on Twitter and Facebook and some of the causes of action used by those spoofed against their parodists, as well as offers a few considerations for future research in the area. They noticed a trend in judicial deference toward parody in both rights of publicity and trademark cases.
Strategic Campaigns presentations

Angie Hendershot's students will present their campaigns to Lawrence Transit and KU on Wheels at 4 p.m. May 2 in the Jayhawk Room at the Kansas Union.

David Johnston's students will present their campaigns to Populous, a global sports architecture firm, at 5:30 p.m. May 2 at the client's headquarters, 4800 Main St., Suite 300, Kansas City, Missouri.

Lisa Loewen's students will present their campaigns to The Topeka Zoo at 6 p.m. May 2 at the Gary Clarke Education Center at the Topeka Zoo, 635 SW Zoo Parkway, Topeka, Kansas.

David Guth's students will present their campaigns to the Truman Library Institute at 7 p.m. May 3 at the Harry S. Truman Library and Museum in Independence, Missouri. The public is invited. Guests should park in the visitor parking lot and enter through the East Entrance. The presentation will be in the Whistle Stop Room. 
Student news and opportunities
Students lined up to meet Pete Souza, former official chief White House photographer for President Obama, during a meet and greet at the J-School last Tuesday. About 1,800 people packed the Lied Center for Souza's presentation later that evening.
Congratulations to Grant DeMars, who will be spending this summer as an intern at CBS News. DeMars has been assigned to work on "48 Hours," a newsmagazine program that investigates intriguing crime and justice cases that touch on all aspects of the human experience.

Congratulations to the 2018-19 Journalism Student Ambassador Program Exec Board:
President: Al Moore
Vice president: Samantha Milke
Public relations: Natalie Gibson
Secretary: Anthony George

Angel Tran
received the Minority Student Scholarship from the Kansas Pro Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists.

Odyssey, a social content platform designed to give millennials a platform to discuss topics they see a need to be talked about, is looking to grow its team at KU. If you have a passion for writing about sports, Greek life, politics, social justice issues, health & wellness, lifestyle, etc., let your voice be heard and join today. If you'd like to be a part of this platform, submit a request to join the team at KU here. If you have  questions, email  
Diversity and You contest winners

Congratulations to our 2018 Diversity and You contest winners:
  Photo Essay
  • Caroline Wheeler ($200)
The contest was judged by:
Chad Curtis, news director at KUJH
Eric Thomas, director of the Kansas Scholastic Press Association
Janice Collins, KU Enhancing Excellence visiting professor 
Carol Holstead, associate professor
Andy White, photographer in the KU Office for Public Affairs
Sponsored by the J-School's Diversity and Inclusion Action Group
Internship and job opportunities
Find job and internship opportunities on the J-School's jobs and internships web page. You can filter by job or internship and full or part time. And don't forget that our career and outreach coordinator, Steve Rottinghaus, can help you with your search. Some recent opportunities include:

Master control operator, KCEC-TV (Denver, Colorado)
Executive news producer, KCTV (Fairway, Kansas)
Administrative assistant, Eagle Media Center (Junction City, Kansas)
Account executive, Eagle Communications (Salina, Kansas)
Account executive, Eagle Communications (Junction City, Kansas)
Paginator/graphic designer, Great Bend Tribune (Great Bend, Kansas)

Digital marketing intern, Title Boxing Club (Overland Park, Kansas)
Interactive media intern, Title Boxing Club (Overland Park, Kansas)
Communications intern, Greater Kansas City Community Foundation (Kansas City, Missouri)
Production intern, Border Patrol (Kansas City)
Broadcast intern, KCTV/KSMO (Fairway, Kansas)

See more job and internship opportunities here.

If you have recently accepted a job or internship, please share the news with Steve Rottinghaus, career and outreach coordinator at
Scholarships and contests
KSPA needs judges

On-site judges are still needed in most categories for the Kansas Scholastic Press Association high school state journalism contest on Saturday, May 5. Judges can be journalism faculty, staff, students or alumni, and lunch is included!

Sign up here.
The Diversity and Inclusion Action Group (DIAG) has extended the deadline for the submission of proposals for the 2018-2019 Applied Research Award. The award is open to faculty as well as doctoral candidates. Proposals are due by 5 p.m. on May 11. Get the details.

The Kansas Association of Broadcasters will award up to $2,000 in individual scholarships to next semester's juniors and seniors. Application deadline is May 1. Get the details.

Students, staff and community members are invited to enter KU Endowment's campus illustration contest. Categories are: New KU Skyline, Fraser Hall, Potter Lake with Campanile, and Strong Hall with the Bronze Jayhawk. Winners will receive $500. Deadline is today. Learn more here.

The Association of LGBTQ Journalists  has extended the deadline for student scholarships to May 17. Download the flier or apply here.

BitIRA U is announcing a bi-annual scholarship, awarding $1,000 to one student. Submit a one-page (typed) , essay containing specific examples of how cryptocurrency or blockchain could change the world over the next 20 years. Learn more. 
Alumni update
Nicole Vap, 1991 J-School graduate, and colleagues at KUSA News in Denver, Colorado, won a Sigma Delta Chi award for Public Service in Television Journalism (Large-Market Station, 1-50 market) for a series exposing improper billing by medical providers in Colorado. Watch the series here.
In memoriam
James Lange, 1971 J-School graduate, died March 30, 2018, at the age of 71. Read his obituary.

Mark T. Trotter, 1978 J-School graduate, died April 14, 2018, at the age of 63. Read his obituary.
Mark your calendars
May 4: Stop day
May 4: Faculty meeting, 10:30-noon, followed by lunch, Clarkson Gallery
May 5: Judging for the KSPA State Contest
May 12: J-School Recognition Ceremony, 8:30 a.m., Lied Center 

To see all J-School events, go to
University of Kansas | William Allen White School of Journalism & Mass Communications 
785-864-7644 | |
Follow KU Journalism: