Mortenson Center Digest - April 29 , 2019
Program News
Congratulations Graduates!
A hearty congratulation to the following Mortenson Center students who are graduating and those moving on to earn their PhD:

Ryan Beil: MS in Environmental Engineering
Naomi Chang: MS in Environmental Engineering
Rachael Dobosiewicz: MS in Civil Engineering
Christopher Frishcosy: MS in Civil Engineering
Anisha Lamsal: MS in Environmental Engineering
Emily Moore: MS in Environmental Engineering
Rebecca Walsh: MS in Civil Systems
David Zelinka: Professional MS and PhD in Civil Systems
Karl Linden Wins AEESP Award

The Mortenson Center's Associate Director and Professor of Sustainable Development, Karl Linden, has been awarded the  2019 Walter J. Weber Jr. AEESP Frontier in Research Award. This award is given annually to recognize an environmental engineering or science professor who has advanced the environmental engineering and science field through recognized research leadership and pioneering efforts in a new and innovative research area. About the award Dr. Linden said, "I am very lucky to have collaborated with stimulating colleagues and mentored so many amazing students who have brought their creativity and intellect to create impactful research that benefits our planet and its inhabitants." Dr. Linden will be awarded at the biannual AEESP Conference, at Arizona State University. 
Amy Javernick-Will Awarded NSF Grant

Mortenson Center's Associate Director and Associate Professor Amy Javernick-Will, along with co-PIs Abbie Liel (Structural Engineering) and Matt Koschmann (Communication) received a grant from the National Science Foundation's (NSF) Humans, Disasters and the Built Environment program to study post-disaster shelter reconstruction programs in the Philippines and Puerto Rico. This research aims to transform post-disaster shelter reconstruction and lead to more resilient communities. Mortenson Center students Casie Venable and Briar Goldwyn will be working on this project in the Philippines and Puerto Rico respectively. 
NSF Graduate Research Fellow Awardees

The Mortenson Center is pleased to announce that Matthew Falcone has just won a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship (NSF GRF) and PhD student James Harper has won a NSF Honorable Mention. 

Matthew Falcone is a first-year Environmental Engineering and Mortenson Center student.  His research addresses the challenges of ending drought emergencies both internationally and domestically. He intends to leverage his NSF GRF funding to develop innovative and impactful solutions to complex water challenges.

James Harper, PE is a PhD student in Civil Engineering specializing in Civil Systems and Engineering for Developing Communities. He is funded through the Graduate Assistance in Areas of National Need (GAANN) Fellowship and is working in Cambodia and Bangladesh on fecal sludge management.
If you prefer to read this or any previous digest on the web, click here.
To keep receiving the digests, please make sure that is in your "never send to Spam" list.
Do you know of an opportunity you would like to see featured in the next EDC digest?
Please email us .

Like us on Facebook  View our profile on LinkedIn  Follow us on Twitter