Municipal Election Candidate Roster
The Kiawah Island municipal election will take place Tuesday, December 1, 2020. It will include voting for one seat for Mayor, two seats for two-year terms for Town Council, and two seats for four-year terms for Town Council. Filing closed at noon on October 2. Candidate biographies will be released next week in the upcoming edition of Town Notes. Below is the candidate roster. 

Mayor 4-year term (contested)
Klaus Said
John Labriola

Town Council 4-year term (uncontested)
Scott Parker
John Moffitt

Town Council 2-year term (contested)
Maryanne Connelly
Dan Prickett
John Ross

This election marks the seventeenth administration of the Town of Kiawah Island, incorporated on September 13, 1988.

Term Limit Change Reminder
In August, Town Council approved Ordinance 2020-08, which changed and staggered the term limits for the mayor and council members beginning with the next election in 2020. More information on this change is provided here.
Voting in the Municipal Election
To vote in the municipal election, you must be registered to vote in South Carolina at your address on the island. The deadline to register to vote for the municipal election is November 2. Learn more
(843) 768-9166
Facebook Join My List Logo