News Release - April 29, 2022
NALHFA Announces Leadership Team
[New York, NY.] - On Monday, April 25, the National Association of Local Housing Finance Agencies (NALHFA) elected its leadership team at its Business Meeting and Award Luncheon during its Annual Conference that was held this week in New York City. At the meeting, the NALHFA membership elected Dawn Arnold, Executive Vice President and COO of Invest Atlanta to serve as President.

"Dawn stepped up tremendously to serve as NALHFA's Interim President over the last several months and I was so happy when she shared with me her desire to become our next President," said NALHFA Executive Director Jonathan Paine. "Dawn has been a vocal leader and advocate for the local affordable housing finance community. I have had the privilege of accompanying Dawn to meetings at the White House, HUD, and several congressional offices over the years and she has an incredible way of telling the story of our industry and making our priority issues relatable. NALHFA is truly fortunate to have Dawn as its President."

In addition to Arnold, the other officers elected to a one year-term expiring May of 2023 are:

  • Vice President: Cheree Gulley, Executive Director, Miami-Dade County Housing Finance Authority (Miami, FL)
  • Treasurer: Damon Burns, President and CEO, The Finance Authority of New Orleans (New Orleans, LA)
  • Secretary: Jonah Lee, Director of Portfolio Management & Preservation San Francisco Mayor's Office of Housing and Community Development (San Francisco, CA)
  • Immediate Past President: Jim Shaw, Executive Director, Capital Area Housing Finance Corporation (Austin, TX)

The following individuals were elected to serve as members of the Board of Directors for a two-year term expiring May of 2024:

  • Christopher Donald, Executive Director & CEO, District of Columbia Housing Finance Agency (Washington D.C.)
  • Ellen Duffy, Executive Vice President of Debt Finance, New York City Housing Development Corporation (New York, NY)
  • Edwin Gipson, Director of Finance and Development, City of Los Angeles Housing Department (LAHD), (Los Angeles, CA)

The following Board of Directors continue to fulfill their two-year term expiring May of 2023:

  • Vivian Benjamin, Asst. Director, Mortgage Finance Div., Montgomery County Housing Opportunities Commission (Kensington, MD)
  • Bill Brewer, Executive Director, Nevada Rural Housing Authority (Carson City, NV)
  • W.D. Morris, Executive Director, Orange County Housing Finance Authority (Orange County, FL)
  • Melissa Taphorn, Deputy Executive Director, Washington County Community Development Agency (Woodbury, MN)