On Tuesday, June 11, we filled the room to capacity at Wildfire Restaurant in Glenview with NCJW advocates, supporters and friends as we thanked our outgoing board members and installed our new Board of Directors.

Donna Gutman honored thanked out-going president Tina Cantrell for her service - two years as co-president and a third as president of our section. Tina's leadership was an inspiration and we are ever thankful that Tina continually steps up to fill roles such as becoming our next treasurer.

New Board Member Sherry Petlin presented Beverly Copeland with the Advocate of the Year Award. Bev has been concerned about the issue of gun-violence for over 30 years. A passionate advocate, Bev keeps our section informed about pending and proposed legislation as well as opportunities to advocate. We are excited to have Bev join our section Board.

Past-President Cindy Wolfson presented the Volunteers of the Year award to Nora Zuckerman and Pam Zlotnik. For nearly a decade, Pam and Nora have co-chaired our Luggage for Freedom project. Their passion for community service and social justice is fueled by their past advocacy with victims of domestic violence. We are so thankful for their continued service. Make sure to put Sunday, October 27, 2019 on your calendar for the annual Luggage for Freedom Pack and Delivery Day.

We were entertained by the forever young Elaine Soloway who spoke to us about her life, her family and how she stays fabulous at any age!

Our new Board president Debbie Vietinghoff closed our the program. Debbie hopes to take our section to new heights as we broaden our reach and activate more section members, supporters and advocates.

For more photos from the event, visit our Facebook Page.