In This Issue


* If a new Hymns for the Church Year is issued between Unified mailings, we publish it in the weekly e-news and on the synod website:

FAX 330-929-9018
October 1, 2020
Volume 33 - Issue 5
Published 6 Times a Year
Next Unified publication: 
Dec 1, 2020
Deadline for articles: 
Nov 23, 2020
The e-Unified is sent to all E-news subscribers, and published on the Synod's web site, six times/year; submission deadlines are announced in each issue. Between e-Unified issues, the weekly E-news keeps you updated with news, events, and announcements. If you would like to begin receiving the E-news and our other electronic mailings you may sign-up on our website. Simply go to and click on Unified Newsletter; from there click on Join Our Electronic Mailings to sign-up. If you have articles or notices to publish in the Unified, please contact Marilyn Matevia at the Synod office, 
Please remember to let the Synod office know if your Unified job postings, equipment offers or requests, etc., have been filled!
Please note: The Lutheran Center continues to operate under modified hours. Office Administrator Sony Gilroy (330-929-9022, ext. 21) is in the synod office on Mondays and Wednesdays from 9:00 a.m. until 2:00 p.m. and Resource Specialist Karen Kaufman (330-929-9020) is in the Resource Center on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 8:00 a.m. until 4:00 p.m.
  • Essential individual appointments may still be held at the participant's discretion, but ALL group meetings will be held electronically.
  • The pastoral team and support team will be working remotely except for those days and times listed above and you will have electronic access to any pastor or support team member via email and voicemail.
  • All pastoral staff visits to congregations are cancelled until further notice.
  • The pastoral team continues to record weekly sermons for your use during this time. They are available on the Northeastern Ohio Synod YouTube channel, NEOSynod.
Please refer to our COVID-19: Updates & Resources for Congregations page on the website for helpful information. We will continue to update our website and social media sites as new information becomes available.

+ + +
2020 Assembly Update. The Northeastern Ohio Synod's first "remote" assembly took place September 11-12. Rev. Dr. Laura Barbins was elected bishop on the fifth ballot. Our thanks to all of the candidates who stood for election to the office of the bishop: Rev. Lisa Arledge, Rev. Dr. Laura Barbins, Rev. Karl Biermann, Rev. Sherman Bishop, Rev. Robert Cheyney, Rev. Angela Freeman-Riley, Rev. Jeff Goggins, Rev. Kristina Heise, Rev. Kevin Maxey, Rev. Dr. Bruce Roth, and Rev. Diana Thompson.  
The following individuals were elected to Synod Council by acclamation (unopposed): Rev. Steven Bond - Cleveland East; Susan Frantz - Cleveland West; Rev. Chelsea Spencer - Eastern; Richard Brenneman - Richland-Ashland; Kevin Kampfer - Southern; Sarah Roth - At-Large Youth.  
Elected to Synod Council by majority vote: Rev. Kristina Heise - Akron-Wooster; Susan Moseley - Canton-Massillon; Paul Gochnour - Cleveland East; Chelsea Veigel - At Large-Young Adult. Elected Secretary of the Northeastern Ohio Synod by majority vote: Matthew Beery. Elected to the synod Discipline Committee by acclamation: Rev. Jon Paulus, Rev. Randy O'Donnell, and Edward Burns. Elected to the synod Discipline Committee by majority vote: Sandra Humphrey. The following individuals were elected to the synod Consultation Committee by acclamation: Rev. Chuck Knerem and Chuck Mosberger.     
We are especially grateful to the team of volunteers who made the Assembly possible:

Assembly Planning Committee: Jane Koch (chair), Tim Barrage, Larry Fenton, Rev. Jimmy Madsen, John Sleasman

Assembly Help Desk: Stephanie Woods, Rachel Nunez, Lesli Eisenhart, Rev. William Weidenbach, Rev. Jim Steingass

Audio-Visual at Assembly: Tim Barrage, Mason Shamp
Bishop Election Committee: Rev. David Anderson (chair),  Deacon Ruth Anderson, Katy Gill, Rev. Leonard Killings, Rev. Katie Jacob, Jasmine Steighner, Jonathan Stufft

Credentialing Committee: Erin O'Neill, Dr. Lito Belardo, Gayle Adamek

Nominating Committee: Rev. Seth Bridger, Scott Daniels, Sheila Kidd, Tim Kruger, Rev. Karen Liddy, Rev. Lucas McSurley, and Krista Smith

Officers: David Lenz (Secretary), Bryan Penvose (Vice President), John Sleasman (Treasurer)

Reference and Counsel Committee: Rev. Shelley Nelson-Bridger and Gail Goldsworth

Worship Committee: Ruth Anderson, Donna Fagerhaug, Pastor Matthew Groenke, Pastor Brad Ross, Pastor Angela Storer, Pastor Jimmy Madsen

Zoom Floor Recognition: Roger Long, Rev. Julianne Smith, Stu Smith, Kevin Kampfer 
+ + +
You can find updated synod events on the website calendar page, along with more details about the events below (where appropriate):  
3          Ordination, Katheryn Kollar, 10:30 AM, Brookside Park, Ashland
7          Bishop's Clergy Meeting, 10:00 AM, via Zoom  
(contact for link)
12        Discipling and Evangelizing Team, 1:30 PM, via Zoom
13        Conference Deans Meeting, 1:00 PM, via Zoom
17        Synod Council Meeting, details to be sent to Synod Council members
28        Congregational Resource Team, 12:00 PM, via Zoom
31        Ordination: Deborah Pinnegar, 10:30 AM,  
at Lutheran Memorial Camp, Marengo, Ohio
4          Bishop's Clergy Meeting, 10:00 AM, via Zoom  
(contact for link)
10        Conference Deans Meeting, 1:00 PM, via Zoom
18        Congregational Resource Team, 12:00 PM, via Zoom
26-27   Thanksgiving Holiday - Lutheran Center and Resource Center closed
13        Installation of Rev. Dr. Laura Barbins as Bishop of the NE Ohio Synod*
24-31   Lutheran Center and Resource Center Closed for Christmas  
and New Year's Holidays
1-3       Lutheran Center and Resource Center Closed for Christmas and  
New Year's Holidays
*Additional information about the time of the service, and livestream access, will be forthcoming.