Indiana Department of Labor
402 W. Washington Street, Room W195
Indianapolis, IN. 46204


2023 Governor’s Workplace Safety Awards

Hoosier Companies, Individuals Honored for Workplace Safety, Health


INDIANAPOLIS (March 1, 2023) – Indiana Department of Labor Commissioner David Redden recognized five Hoosier companies and six individuals for exemplary workplace-safety practices and advocacy today during the annual Governor’s Workplace Safety Awards event. 


The Governor’s Workplace Safety Awards event was part of the 2023 Indiana Safety and Health Conference and Expo. The annual event is hosted by the Indiana Chamber of Commerce and Central Indiana Chapter of the American Society of Safety Professionals in partnership with the Indiana Department of Labor.


“Workplace safety is a full-on team sport. From the employer, to the management, to the individual employees; it takes everyone across the organization working collectively to make a place of employment a safe and healthy place to work," said Redden. “These award nominees and recipients represent some of Indiana’s finest companies and have made safety and health a tangible part of their workplace cultures.”


Indiana companies were recognized in the categories of education and outreach, partnerships, innovations, and rising star. The 2023 Governor’s Workplace Safety Award recipients are:


  • Education and Outreach: Gaylor Electric, Noblesville, IN
  • Partnerships: Lippert Plant 50, Goshen, IN
  • Innovations: GE Aerospace Lafayette Engine Facility, Lafayette, IN
  • Rising Star: Korellis Roofing Inc., Hammond, IN
  • Rising Star: Oneal Manufacturing Services, Indianapolis, IN


The Everyday Safety Hero Award recognized Hoosiers who have championed workplace safety and health excellence in their respective workplaces. Individuals, who may not be safety and health professionals, were nominated by their peers or organizations. Winners were selected based on a narrative provided by their respective nominators.


The 2023 Everyday Safety Hero Award recipients are:

  • Jennifer Gurtner, Channel Technician, Cardinal Glass, Fremont, IN
  • John Sanders, Group Leader, Subaru of Indiana Automotive Inc, Lafayette , IN
  • Brandy Marsh, EHS Leader GE Aerospace Lafayette Engine Facility, Lafayette, IN
  • Mary Schrock, Laboratory Technician, CountryMark Refining, Mt. Vernon, IN
  • Larry Guitierrez, Site Manager/HSE Committee Chair with The Skillman Corporation, Merrillville, Indiana
  • Josh Beckedahl, Machine Team Lead with Major Tool & Machine, Indianapolis, Indiana

The annual Governor’s Workplace Safety Awards are a result of a partnership among government, business, and safety leaders including the Indiana Department of Labor on behalf of Gov. Eric J. Holcomb, the Indiana Chamber of Commerce, and the Central Indiana Chapter of the American Society of Safety Engineers.


“Dedicated workers are the backbone of Indiana’s economy, and we applaud these organizations for putting such an emphasis on safe workplaces to ensure their collective well-being,” stated Kevin Brinegar, president and chief executive officer of the Indiana Chamber of Commerce. “It’s a pleasure to honor these companies and leaders who continue to make workplace safety a priority.”


To learn more about the Governor’s Workplace Safety Awards program, please visit For more information about the Indiana Safety and Health Conference, please visit




Media Contacts:

Indiana Department of Labor – Stephanie McFarland 317.602.1546 ext. 2 or

Indiana Chamber – Rebecca Patrick 317.264.6897 or


About the Indiana Department of Labor:

The mission of the Indiana Department of Labor is to advance the safety, health and prosperity of Hoosiers in the workplace. In order to make significant strides, we emphasize both enforcement and compliance assistance by employers.


About the Indiana Chamber of Commerce:

The Indiana Chamber of Commerce partners with 25,000 members and investors – representing over four million Hoosiers – to achieve the mission of “cultivating a world-class environment which provides economic opportunity and prosperity.”