News from the NODCC
Welcome to Brain Awareness Week!

Brain Awareness Week is the global campaign to foster public enthusiasm and support for brain science.
Brain Awareness Week was founded by the Dana Alliance for Brain Initiatives (DABI) and the European Dana Alliance for the Brain (EDAB), and is coordinated by the Dana Foundation.

During the week of March 15-21, the NODCC will share brain facts and information, including a daily Truth vs. Myth game, on our Facebook page. 

On the Blog: Adults with DCC Series Continues

Our Adult with DCC series continues on the blog thanks to student writers who wrote more than 25 stories for us last fall. The most recent stories feature two adults who work hard and have many activities and interests that keep them busy. Read about how both Dirk and Kelsie overcome living with their conditions here.

If you are on Instagram, follow along with these stories and more on our new channel @livingwithdcc.
Here are the latest opportunities to get involved with the NODCC community.
Connecting our DCC Community through Virtual Sessions

The virtual call schedule for March is now available. Stay tuned as we confirm additional session dates in April and the coming months. Full session descriptions and registration links for each call can be found on our blog: https://nodcc.org/connecting-our-dcc-community-through-virtual-sessions/

Upcoming Community Calls:
March 20: Adults with DCC
March 20: Teens with DCC
March 27: Parents of Preschoolers
April 17: Expecting Parents & Parents of Newborns
April 17: Siblings 10-15
April 24: Parents of Non-Verbal Children & Adults

Connecting our DCC Community through Virtual Sessions
We have several new sessions scheduled for March to stay connected and form new relationships.
 
Teens with DCC
Saturday, March 20
11:00 am PST / 12:00 pm MST / 1:00 pm CST / 2:00 pm EST

This virtual session is for teens ages 13-17 who have a disorder of the corpus callosum. Dr. Ashley Vaillancourt will facilitate this meet and greet for teens. Register here.
 
Adults with DCC
Saturday, March 20
1:00 pm PST / 2:00 pm MST / 3:00 pm CST / 4:00 pm EST
 
This session for adults will focus on social cues and how carry on a natural conversation. Topics include knowing when it’s your turn to speak, remembering to ask about others, appropriate questions, closing out conversations, and more. Register here.
 
Parents of Preschoolers with a DCC
Saturday, March 27
1:00 pm PST / 2:00 pm MST / 3:00 pm CST / 4:00 pm EST
 
This is a meet and greet session for parents who have preschool aged children with a disorder of the corpus callosum. Register here.

If you would like to suggest a topic for a virtual session, please contact our Community Committee at community@nodcc.org.
Fundraisers & Donations

Matching Gifts:
​Don’t forget to check for matching funds from your employer. Many companies have matching gift programs that will equal or exceed employees’ charitable donation amounts.

A great example is from Tom Gee:
The Corning Foundation is a great way for eligible Corning Incorporated employees and directors to make donations to non-profit organizations, and their donations are matched by the Foundation 1:1.

If you or a family member work for Corning you can have your donation to the NODCC matched!


Amazon Smile
Did you know that your regular Amazon purchases can help raise money for the NODCC? It's a donation opportunity provided through AmazonSmile. Help the NODCC and encourage your friends and family to list the NODCC as the preferred charity on your Amazon accounts. Start contributing today and add the NODCC to your AmazonSmile. Your quick click here makes a big difference!

Looking for other ways to support? The NODCC is searching for sponsors and partners who want to support our organization. We encourage all readers of the newsletter to send company names or potential company contact information to info@nodcc.org


Donate to keep our community thriving!



Contact Us
(714) 747-0063  info@nodcc.org nodcc.org