News from the NODCC
Conference 2021 Postponed until Summer 2022

Due to the continued health concerns and government regulations with COVID-19, the NODCC has made the difficult decision to postpone the 2021 DCC Conference and move the event to 2022. We are disappointed to again move this event (that was originally scheduled in 2020), but the safety requirements would greatly affect the operations, attendee capacity and experience of the conference. We have been working with the hotel and are planning for the dates of July 1-3, 2022. If you prepaid for conference registration, you will be contacted to receive a refund or to defer to 2022.

Read further information and the full statement at: https://nodcc.org/conferences-and-events/
Longtime Board Members, Lynn and Dana Snyder, Share their Motivation for Service

After attending a gathering in Minnesota with other families who had children with disorders of the corpus callosum (DCC), Lynn and Dana Snyder knew they had found their place.
 
“Allison was 6 at the time, remembered Lynn. “We came away knowing there were kids who had more challenges than Allison and a lot that were doing better. We felt like everybody got it – Allison got it too. We were hooked after Minnesota.”

That was 18 years ago, and after the first official year of operations of the NODCC, Lynn was asked to join the Board of Directors in 2003. That decision has led to him becoming one of the organization’s longest-serving Board members as Lynn completes his 13th year of Board service and wraps up his term as President in January.

Continue reading this story and hear the motivation behind Lynn and Dana’s service to the NODCC at https://nodcc.org/longtime-board-members-lynn-dana-snyder-share-motivation-for-service/


Giving Tuesday is December 1

GivingTuesday is a global generosity movement unleashing the power of people and organizations to transform their communities and the world. GivingTuesday was created in 2012 as a simple idea: a day that encourages people to do good. Over the past seven years, it has grown into a global movement that inspires hundreds of millions of people to give, collaborate, and celebrate generosity.

This year Giving Tuesday is on December 1…after Thanksgiving, Black Friday and Cyber Monday are complete. The NODCC will have a Giving Tuesday fundraiser on Facebook that you can share with friends and family. Facebook will match $7 million in qualifying donations on Facebook made on December 1 so join us in making this a great kickoff to our end of year fundraising!


The NODCC wishes you and your family a safe and wonderful Thanksgiving!
Here are the latest opportunities to get involved with the NODCC community.

Regional and Community Gatherings

The NODCC will continue hosting regular virtual gatherings via Zoom. Details, dates, and Zoom links will be shared on our website with reminders on social media (Facebook and Twitter). Please contact community@nodcc.org or info@nodcc.org if yo have any questions or suggestions.

Upcoming Zoom calls include:
December 12 at:
11am PST
12pm MST
1pm CST
2pm EST
Parents of Middle Schoolers with DCC
Topic: Virtual Learning & Social Struggles
Click HERE for the link to register

December 12 at:
1pm PST
2pm MST
3pm CST
4pm EST
Teen IEP's Presented by Kim Oren
Click HERE for the link to register

**After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.

Infant Study Enrollment Still Open

Interested in a research study for your baby with a disorder of the corpus callosum? Enrollment is still open for the ACC Study. The purpose of this study is to better understand development in infants and toddlers with dysgenesis or agenesis of the corpus callosum. Improved understanding of development over this period will improve clinical recommendations and treatment planning in the future.

Parents / primary caregivers of a child who is less than 36 months of age and who has received a clinical diagnosis of corpus callosum malformation via MRI, CT, or ultrasound. Dysgenesis of the corpus callosum includes complete and partial agenesis of the corpus callosum (ACC or AgCC) and hypoplasia of the corpus callosum. Caregivers must be 18 years or older and must be proficient in reading and speaking English. For more information and to sign up for the study, visit: https://accinfantstudy.com/

Fundraisers & Donations

New Charitable Tax Deduction
Interested in making a charitable donation to the NODCC? The recent Covid-19 Stimulus Package outlines a new charitable deduction opportunity under the CARES Act for Nonprofits. “The CARES Act allows for an additional, ‘above-the-line’ deduction for charitable gifts made in cash of up to $300. If you are not itemizing on your 2020 taxes, you can claim this new deduction.” Continue reading HERE.
**This information is not intended as legal or tax advice. For such advice, please consult an attorney or tax advisor.

Amazon Smile
Did you know that your regular Amazon purchases can help raise money for the NODCC? It's a donation opportunity provided through AmazonSmile. Help the NODCC and encourage your friends and family to list the NODCC as the preferred charity on your Amazon accounts. Start contributing today and add the NODCC to your AmazonSmile. Your quick click here makes a big difference!

Looking for other ways to support? The NODCC is searching for sponsors and partners who want to support our organization. We encourage all readers of the newsletter to send company names or potential company contact information to info@nodcc.org


Donate to keep our community thriving!



Contact Us
(714) 747-0063  info@nodcc.org nodcc.org