HAPPY NEW YEAR!
We acknowledge we are on the traditional land of the Abenaki people.


Happy New Year!

From debut novelists to beloved authors--January’s trove of new releases has something for everyone to carry us into 2023. If you're like us, then you want to immerse yourself in a new book series, get lost in a 1000-piece puzzle, or deep-dive into a hobby or special interest.

What better way to discover a new-to-you author than attending a Phoenix Books virtual event? Mystery author Tessa Wegert will join us virtually to talk about her new Shana Merchant novel, The Kind of Kill.

Beloved creator and host of PBS' Ciao Italia, Mary Ann Esposito, will talk with us about her latest cookbook, Ciao Italia: Plant, Harvest, Cook! What a delicious way to start off the new year.

Our January in-person events start with a fantasy weekend featuring Naomi Novik and Katherine Arden at the Contois Auditorium. Drop by our Burlington shop and you'll meet Laurie Forest and Tricia Levenseller. Find out all the details HERE!

In Essex, we’re thrilled to host three-time Coretta Scott King Award-winning Vermont author, Kekla Magoon to celebrate the launch of her new book, The Minus-One Club. Find out about all our events HERE!

Peruse the titles below to explore new authors or cultivate a beloved hobby. We think these suggestions will make easing into the new year a fun and restorative process. We'll see you at the shops!


With Gratitude,

Your Booksellers at Phoenix Books 
SEASONS GREETINGS FROM OUR BOOKSELLERS IN BURLINGTON 🌟
Our Burlington booksellers sending you off into the new year with some of their most beloved books of 2022!
UPCOMING EVENTS
NEW + NOTABLE BOOKS
FICTION
Escape to a notorious Italian villa with dark secrets among friends.
Greek mythology retelling. Perfect for fans of Madeline Miller!
The Napoleonic wars ... with dragons!
(The Temeraire Series)
A downright scary romp of a book with a darkly comic heart.
Did you love My Sister, the Serial Killer?
This is for you!
Dark academia fans! Travel to Yale with book 2 of the Alex Stern Series.
NON FICTION
Insight self-examination, hard-won wisdom eternal power of love over grief.
 A personal story, as well as a cry for reform for young female athletes.
Historical/WWII, filled with body doubles, and political intrigue.
 Learn about the poetic, spiritual, and healing influences of birdsong.
Connect with the spiritual power of your environment.
Stories of cooperation among microbes, plants, fungi, insects, and animals.
CULTIVATE NEW HOBBIES
A seasonal home garden vegetable journey with a beloved public TV host. Upcoming virtual event!
 Focus and take time to appreciate yourself in the new year.
Get creative with tarot! Color and customize your own deck.
YOUNG ADULT
VT author / Staff Pick!
Meet Kekla Magoon at
Phoenix - Essex!
Book 1 of the Bladesmith series. Warlords & swords. Meet Tricia at Phoenix - Burlington!
VT author! Book 1 of the Black Witch Chronicles. Meet Laurie at
Phoenix - Burlington!
Horror/Urban Fantasy/Paranormal/
First in a new series!
 Faerie folklore/Romance
Feel-good
historical fiction.
First in a new series.
Romance/Historical Fiction
Fantasy/Mythology Dangerous warlords and undead monsters.
Contemporary queer romance from Phoenix favorite Talia Hibbert.
We're excited about this debut novelist! Changelings and magic/ neurodiversity rep.
MIDDLE GRADE
Family/Multigenerational
Confronts classroom prejudice and at home.
Let the good times roll with this rom-com about secret crushes & food!
A timeless read with themes of family, identity, adapting to change
Beloved author! A mysterious new teacher,
hijinks & mystery.
New middle school, friendship, and neurodivergent rep.
Compelling mystery!
Unique multi-media format.
PICTURE BOOKS
VT Author! Take a journey through the microscopic universe.
Lyrical and affirming. This picturing book is
bursting with love.
 A story told through a teacher's voice about American slavery.
See everyday objects in a brand new way with this joyous read-aloud!
A bedtime story.
Link to download an original song by the author!
Learn to support each other with respect and kindness.
STAFF PICK
from Phoenix Books co-owner, Renée
The (hoo-dee-ay) bird card set is a game without rules that encourages engagement, connection, discovery, and play for people living with memory or other cognitive impairment.

Each set has 23 pairs of cards, featuring photography by Vermont artist Peter Riley. While there are no rules, each set comes with suggested activities to help create those moments in the parentheses between what was and what will be.
(hoo-dee-ay) is available in
all 3 locations.
2022 WRAP UP 💜
See our 2022 favorites HERE
See our 2022 bestsellers HERE
Phoenix Books
Essex Junction, VT 05452
802-872-7111
Phoenix Books Burlington
Burlington, VT 05401
802-448-3350
Phoenix Books Rutland
Rutland, VT 05701
802-855-8078