National Library Week is Apr 8 - Apr 14

With National Library Week just around the corner, we would like to take the time to THANK YOU, our patrons, for being a part of our library. We take joy in the fact that, "Google can bring you back 100,000 answers, a librarian can bring you back the right one" (Neil Gaiman). Stop in for some fantastic events or to pick up your next great reads.

KID CITY | CHILDREN'S PROGRAMS
Come to the library during the month of April and learn about the life cycles of chickens, view the hatching process, guess which egg will hatch first, and enter our chick naming contest. 



Storytimes are back in session for spring. Click the image at right to learn more.
ADULT | ADULT PROGRAMS
Book Buzz Book Club is meeting Tuesday 4/10 at Honey Hill Coffee Company. Join us to for discussion of My Friend Dahmer by Derf Backderf.
There is still time to file your 2017 taxes. Stop in at the Adult Reference Desk to pick yours up before it is too late!
We’re celebrating Illinois’ 200 th  anniversary with author and storyteller William Pack. He will inform us about Illinois history and ask you to join in a fun trivia game with prizes! Have a fun evening out, while learning and sharing your knowledge about the Land of Lincoln. Click the image at left to register.
Stop in to enjoy art by Alisa Singer starting THIS FRIDAY. The art gives dramatic effect to an important issue affecting our planet. Click the image at left to learn more!
COMMUNITY EVENTS
Whether you're an expert or a beginner, you are welcome to come. For those just starting out, we will hold a 30 minute class each week to teach fundamental skills.

Click on the image above to learn more.
Tell Your Story will meet Tuesday 4/9 at 10:00a in the Lincoln Room. Whether you have a story to tell or want to learn more about those who make up our community. Stop on in!
WELL READ | BOOKS WE LOVE
Baby Monkey, Private Eye by Brian Selznick

How to describe this adorable graphic novel/early reader/picture book? Funny, endearing, brilliant! Our sleuth is none other than Baby Monkey, a Guy Noir/Sam Spade for the little ones, his method of operation always the same – look for clues, take notes, eat a snack, put on pants. Selznick’s rich illustrations combined with a snappy storyline are sure to become your family’s “read to me” favorite. (Children’s Fiction)
Jane, the Fox, and Me by Fanny Britt

Captivating graphics and razor sharp honesty provide for a beautifully rendered tale revealing the offhanded cruelty common among children, but a reminder, too, that friendships often can be found in unexpected places – be it on the playground, on a walk in the woods or inside a favorite book. I fell in love with the expressive tone, both in the writing and even more in Arsenault’s dreamy illustrations.  A reminder, for this reader, to visit the library’s Graphic Novel shelves more often! (YA Graphic Novel)

The Last Equation of Isaac Severy
by Nova Jacobs

This well-paced and well-written mystery is a true page turner! Complete with sympathetic, likeable characters, this dazzling first novel is tied together by the work and death of the family patriarch, a brilliant mathematician. For fans of Sloan’s Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore and Donna Tartt’s The Goldfinch.  (Adult Fiction)


A Foreign Country by Charles Cumming

About a fourth of the way through, I thought this was going to be a fairly standard, rather predictable spy novel. Then the twists started! Not perhaps a great work of literary art, but a thoroughly enjoyable read. (Adult Fiction)
Late Thoughts on an Old War: The Legacy of Vietnam
by Beidler, Phillip D.

Aside from Caputo’s A Rumor of War, this is the best book I’ve ever read about a war that, when I was growing up, nobody would talk about. Sadly, nobody seems to talk about it now, either, and we really should. This is a clear-eyed reflection by a veteran of that war, now that he’s had decades to live with it, of the lessons we should have learned at the time and what our failure to learn has cost all of us. (Adult Non-fiction).