October, 2020 Continuing Education News
Featured Events
Head shot of man with white hair light skin and earring wearing a black tee shirt.
Join Visiting Scholar Stephen Brookfield
Live Webinar, FREE
Thurs., Oct. 22, 5:00 pm (PT) / 8:00pm (ET)
White supremacy is the idea that white people, because of their supposedly higher levels of innate intelligence and their ability to think logically, calmly and objectively, should naturally be in positions of power and authority to make decisions for everyone else. This idea underscores the reality of white structural racism. It’s the ideological glue that legitimizes racist policies and practices across employment, housing, health care, education and incarceration.
Panel discussion on Zoom, Wednesday, Oct. 14, 6 p.m. (PT) / 9 p.m. (ET) FREE

TransACTION! Is a call to action that centers the voices of members of our local trans and non-binary community. In this time of turmoil that is affecting us all, what does trans resilience look like?This event is for the whole community. It’s election time and our current administration is doubling-down on its attacks on the Trans+ community. During this time of Black Lives Matter, police overreach and violence against trans folx of color in particular this is a panel that focuses on trans-resilience vs trans-pain and the intersectionality of trans identity and ethnicity. Panelists include: Jessie Jacobson, Bamby Salcedo, Rain Valdez, Dominique Silver and Lucky Alexander. Learn more.
1-Hour Webinar, Wednesday, October 7
9:00 a.m. (PT) /12:00 p.m. (ET) FREE
Quests for meaning and connection are often framed as pilgrimage journeys. Many countries and regions are creating pilgrimage infrastructures that attract significant numbers of people. Pilgrims have noted the importance of the overall landscape and meaningful interactions with elements such as water and soil in addition to connection with animals. However, this connection between pilgrims and the natural surroundings results in clear environmental impact. This webinar will highlight current scholarship pertaining to the intersection of pilgrimage, conservation, and the environment. Register
Counseling, Therapy and Psychology
two people sitting with clasped hands.
Online workshop, Wed., Oct. 23,
9:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. (PT) | 12:00 p.m. - 7:30 p.m. (ET)
This workshop is designed to help you identify, clarify, and apply current legal and ethical standards to the complicated context of relational work.  Participants will have the opportunity to discover the guidance provided by Washington state law, federal law, and a range of applicable ethics codes.  In addition to case studies and scenarios, participants are encouraged to share their own experiences, questions and thoughts. Fees start at $150. More Information.

Creative Writing
With Kate Carmody & Stephanie Teasley
4-week Online Class Oct. 5 - Nov 2, Asynchronous (at your pace, on your time) $199
In this course we will look to essays, poems, music videos, Reddit threads, YouTube Videos, and short stories and more to examine how language functions to maintain or dismantle white supremacy. Students will produce reflective writing as well as creative writing.
with Erin Aubry Kaplan 
90-Minute Webinar, Thursday, October 15, 4:00 pm (PT)/ 7:00 pm (ET), FREE
Presented by the Antioch MFA in Creative Writing program. Open to everyone.
2 Week Online Class, Oct. 5 - 18, Asynchronous - learn & work at your own pace, $99
Back By Popular Demand! Every time we run this class; students get published!
with Kade Sdao, 2-hour webinar, Thurs. Oct. 8, 3:00 p.m. (PT) / 6:00 pm (ET) / $39.
What makes a picture book biography successful? We will read and study three picture book biographies. Enjoy the story and learn from the craft. Get into your kid brain!

Mindfulness, Wellness & Self-help
Your Feminine Essence with Susan Madison
90-minute webinar, FREE
Thurs., Oct. 8, 10:00 a.m. (PT) / 1:00 p.m. (ET)
Following a lecture that explores ancient peaceful egalitarian societies, participants will go on a spiritual pilgrimage (using guided meditation) to look at the positive impact feminine values had on those communities. Students will then evaluate their own reoccurring life themes to discover the magic of their special gifts and values.
2-week Online Class Oct. 12 - 25, $99
Who am I? What does it mean to be me? Ever feel stumped when someone asks you, “tell me about yourself?” This class is designed to help us explore different parts of our identity that make us who we are. We will engage in art activities and explore them from a nonjudgmental stance. We will cultivate loving and holding lenses to view parts of ourselves.

Environmental Studies, Science & Sustainability
Climate Impacts: Communication, Facilitation, and Stakeholder Capacity Building ES-5830, 1-semester credit or audit, Nov. 8 to Dec.12, 4 weekly asynchronous online lessons. Registration deadline: 11/3. Learn more.

Other Places? Webinar, Oct. 22,
9:00 a.m. - 10:15 (PT) 12:00 - 1:15 pm, (ET) FREE
Climate change is a human rights issue. 13 million U.S. coastal residents are projected to be displaced by 2100 due to sea level rise alone, while many thousands are already being forced out of their homes due to hurricanes, flooding and wildfires. Learn more.
by the Olympia Coalition Against Nuclear Weapons
4 Week Online Class, FREE
Two sessions: either Tuesdays starting Oct. 6 or Saturdays starting Oct. 10.
Nuclear weapons are frightening, but ordinary people can indeed learn what they need to know and can take smart actions to reduce the dangers.  Instead of feeling overwhelmed by the difficult, scary realities, this course helps people learn and support the positive efforts that are happening at the global, national and local levels.
Online Courses for Academic Credit
Still time to register for fall quarter 10/5 - 12/18! Act Now!


Art of Memoir, A&L-4800-3/4: (Mary Oak, MFA)
Monday, 4 p.m.-6:30 p.m. (PT) Oct 5- Dec 7th, via Zoom,
FREE for AUS alumni to audit.
This creative writing course explores the genre of memoir and how it takes up universal themes such as finding voice, sexual identity, cultural influences, family stories, spirituality, encountering serious illness, and surviving trauma. Learn more.
Still accepting registrations for limited courses in Education, Climate Change and Psychology. Sign-up before it is too late!


To be notified of courses for upcoming semesters, join the CE Mailing list.
Community Happenings on Saturdays in October
Online Webinar, Saturday October 3,
10:00 am (PT)/1:00 pm (ET) / $25

4-Part Webinar Series, Saturdays: Oct. 3, 24, 31, and Nov. 14, 10:00 a.m. (PT)/ 1:00 p.m. (ET), $199

Live Webinar, Saturday October 10, 10:00 a.m. (PT) /1:00 pm (ET) , FREE

Education
two_kids_on_tree.jpg
Save the date!
Inside-Outside Fall Virtual Conference
Saturday, Oct. 24, 10:00 - 12:30 (PT) / 1:00pm–3:30pm (ET)