Premier Unveils His New Cabinet
Dear Accommodation Community,

This afternoon, Premier John Horgan unveiled a new collection of cabinet ministers that will lead British Columbia through this most critical time in our province. While there are many ministers that will continue in their previous roles, there are a number of new cabinet members that will oversee major portfolios such as finance, education, and most importantly, tourism.

We welcome the Hon. Melanie Mark, new Minister of Tourism, Arts, Culture and Sport. Our industry's survival depends on developing a strong partnership Minister Mark and we look forward to working collaboratively together.

The reality is: there is a lot of work that needs to be done. Critical work. Work that if not done properly, will result in permanent job losses, business closures, and will have devastating impacts on both the economy and the wellbeing of residents across British Columbia.

Our industry has been the hardest hit and will be the last to recover. We hope that this new era will usher in a refreshed sense of urgency to support our tourism and hospitality sector and we are committed to seeing that it does.

During today's announcement Premier Horgan stated that "this skilled, diverse team is ready to continue our fight against COVID-19 and build an economic recovery that includes everyone." We will work on your behalf to ensure this statement rings true.

Full cabinet for the new NDP government
  • Premier: John Horgan
  • Attorney General (and Minister Responsible For Housing): David Eby
  • Parliamentary Secretary - Anti-Racism Initiatives: Rachna Singh
  • Advanced Education and Skills Training: Anne Kang
  • Parliamentary Secretary - Skills Training: Andrew Mercier
  • Agriculture, Food and Fisheries: Lana Popham
  • Parliamentary Secretary - Fisheries and Aquaculture: Fin Donnelly
  • Citizens' Services: Lisa Beare
  • Children and Family Development: Mitzi Dean
  • Minister of State for Child Care: Katrina Chen
  • Education: Jennifer Whiteside
  • Energy, Mines and Low Carbon Innovation (and Minister Responsible for The Consular Corps of British Columbia): Bruce Ralston
  • Environment and Climate Change Strategy (and Minister Responsible for Translink): George Heyman
  • Parliamentary Secretary - Environment: Kelly Greene
  • Finance: Selina Robinson
  • Parliamentary Secretary - Gender Equity: Grace Lore
  • Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations and Rural Development: Katrine Conroy
  • Minister of State for Lands, Natural Resource Operations: Nathan Cullen
  • Parliamentary Secretary - Rural Development: Roly Russell
  • Health (and Minister Responsible for Francophone Affairs): Adrian Dix
  • Parliamentary Secretary - Seniors Services & Long Term Care: Mable Elmore
  • Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation: Murray Rankin
  • Jobs, Economic Recovery and Innovation: Ravi Kahlon
  • Minister of State for Trade: George Chow
  • Parliamentary Secretary - Technology & Innovation: Brenda Bailey
  • Labour: Harry Bains
  • Parliamentary Secretary - New Economy: Adam Walker
  • Mental Health and Addictions: Sheila Malcolmson
  • Municipal Affairs: Josie Osborne
  • Public Safety and Solicitor General: Mike Farnworth
  • Parliamentary Secretary - Emergency Preparedness: Jennifer Rice
  • Social Development and Poverty Reduction: Nicholas Simons
  • Parliamentary Secretary - Community Development & Non-Profits: Niki Sharma
  • Parliamentary Secretary - Accessibility: Dan Coulter
  • Tourism, Arts, Culture and Sport: Melanie Mark
  • Parliamentary Secretary - Arts and Film: Bob D'Eith
  • Transportation and Infrastructure: Rob Fleming
  • Minister of State for Infrastructure: Bowinn Ma

Stay safe,

Ingrid Jarrett
President and CEO
British Columbia Hotel Association

We urgently need your input as this data will be critical in order to drive headlines and inform Government on the state of the industry. The survey deadline has been extended to Friday, November 27, 2020 at 5:00 p.m. ET.