forever books logo.jpg
New Year_ New Books_.png

New Title Tuesday!

Click the cover or title to order online or call 269-982-1110.

Start the new year with a good mystery!

Narrow Door.jpg

A Narrow Door by Joanne Harris


Recommended by Robin!

An electrifying tale of psychological suspense and revenge at an elite grammar school where secrets run deep. It's an incendiary moment for St Oswald's school. For the first time in its history, a headmistress is in power, the gates opening to girls. Rebecca Buckfast has spilled blood to reach this position. Barely forty, she is just starting to reap the harvest of her ambition. As the new regime takes on the old guard, the ground shifts. And with it, the remains of a body are discovered...But Rebecca is here to make her mark. She'll bury the past so deep it will evade even her own memory, just like she has done before. After all, you can't keep a good woman down. "Harris keeps the suspense high all the way to the exhilarating ending. This spectacular feat of storytelling will seduce the reader from page one." — Publishers Weekly (starred)

(Pegasus Crime, $26.95)

9780593356159.jpg

The Maid by Nita Prose


Recommended by Robin!

Molly Gray is not like everyone else. She struggles with social skills and misreads the intentions of others. Her gran used to interpret the world for her, codifying it into simple rules that Molly could live by. She throws herself with gusto into her work as a hotel maid. But Molly’s orderly life is upended the day she enters the suite of the infamous and wealthy Charles Black, only to find it in a state of disarray and Mr. Black himself dead in his bed. Clue-like, locked-room mystery and a heartwarming journey of the spirit, The Maid explores what it means to be the same as everyone else and yet entirely different—and reveals that all mysteries can be solved through connection to the human heart. "A heartwarming mystery with a lovable oddball at its center.”Real Simple

(Ballantine Books, $27.00)

9781250274250.jpg

Reckless Girls

by Rachel Hawkins


From Rachel Hawkins, the New York Times bestselling author of The Wife Upstairs, comes Reckless Girls, a deliciously wicked gothic suspense, set on an isolated Pacific Island with a dark history, for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware. Six stunning twentysomethings are about to embark on a blissful, free-spirited journey—one filled with sun-drenched days and intoxicating nights. But as it becomes clear that the group is even more cut off from civilization than they initially thought, it starts to feel like the island itself is closing in, sending them on a dangerous spiral of discovery. "This diabolically plotted nail-biter makes for dangerously addictive reading"––Publishers Weekly

(St. Martin's Press, $27.99)

9781538711514.jpg

Anthem by Noah Hawley


The first big novel of 2022: an epic literary thriller set where America is right now, in which a band of unlikely heroes sets out on a quest to save one innocent life—and might end up saving us all. Noah Hawley’s new novel is an adventure that finds unquenchable lights in dark corners. Unforgettably vivid characters and a plot as fast and bright as pop cinema blend in a Vonnegutian story that is as timeless as a Grimm’s fairy tale. It is a leap into the idiosyncratic pulse of the American heart, written with the bravado, literary power, and feverish foresight that have made Hawley one of our most essential writers. "Hawley makes this sing by combining the social commentary of a Margaret Atwood novel with the horrors of a Stephen King book."Publisher's Weekly (starred review)

(Grand Central Publishing, $29.00)

Fiction, Fantasy, and Sci Fi, Oh My!

9781616209957.jpg

Honor

by Thrity Umrigor


In this riveting and immersive novel, bestselling author Thrity Umrigar tells the story of two couples and the sometimes dangerous and heartbreaking challenges of love across a cultural divide.

Indian American journalist Smita has returned to India to cover a story, but reluctantly. As she follows the case of Meena—a Hindu woman attacked by members of her own village and her own family for marrying a Muslim man—Smita comes face to face with a society where tradition carries more weight than one’s own heart, and a story that threatens to unearth the painful secrets of Smita’s own past.

(Algonquin Books, $26.95)

9781982156121.jpg

The School for Good Mothers

by Jessamine Chan


In this taut and explosive debut novel, one lapse in judgement lands a young mother in a government reform program where custody of her child hangs in the balance. Faced with the possibility of losing Harriet, Frida must prove that a bad mother can be redeemed. That she can learn to be good. A searing page-turner that is also a transgressive novel of ideas about the perils of “perfect” upper-middle class parenting; the violence enacted upon women by both the state and, at times, one another; the systems that separate families; and the boundlessness of love, The School for Good Mothers introduces, in Frida, an everywoman for the ages.

(Simon & Schuster, $27.00)

9781250816771.jpg

The Starless Crown

by James Rollins


An alliance embarks on a dangerous journey to uncover the secrets of the distant past and save their world in this captivating, deeply visionary adventure from #1 New York Times bestselling thriller-master James Rollins. On the run, hunted by enemies old and new, four strangers must learn to trust each other in order to survive in a world evolved in strange, beautiful, and deadly ways, and uncover ancient secrets that hold the key to their salvation. But with each passing moment, doom draws closer. Who will claim the starless crown? “An interesting blend of science and magic, flying ships and prophetic gods, propel this fantasy into epic territories.”—Library Journal

(Tor Books, $28.99)

Nonfiction

9780062567499.jpg

George V: Never a Dull Moment

by Jane Ridley


Recommended by Robin!

From one of the most beloved and distinguished historians of the British monarchy, here is a lively, intimately detailed biography of a long-overlooked king who reimagined the Crown in the aftermath of World War I and whose marriage to the regal Queen Mary was an epic partnership. But this book is also a riveting portrait of a royal marriage and family life. Queen Mary played a pivotal role in the reign as well as being an important figure in her own right. Under the couple's stewardship, the crown emerged stronger than ever. Jane Ridley has had unprecedented access to the archives, and for the first time is able to reassess in full the many myths associated with this crucial and dramatic time. She brings us a royal family and world not long vanished, and not so far from our own.

(Harper, $35.00)

-Stop in and Shop- 
GoFundMeCover.jpg

FOREVER BOOKS   

312 State St. | St. Joseph, MI

269-982-1110 | foreverbooks@att.net

Mon - Sat 10 - 6 | Sunday 11 - 5

Shop 24/7 at www.foreverbooks.net
Facebook