JANUARY READS
FICTION
The Better Liar
by Tanen Jones
(January 14)

When a woman conceals her sister’s death to claim their joint inheritance, her deception exposes a web of dangerous secrets in this addictive new thriller for fans of Megan Abbott, Gillian Flynn, and Paula Hawkins. 
Creatures
by Crissy Van Meter
(January 7)

On the eve of Evangeline’s wedding, on the shore of Winter Island, a dead whale is trapped in the harbor, the groom may be lost at sea, and Evie’s mostly absent mother has shown up out of the blue. From there, in this mesmerizing, provocative debut, the narrative flows back and forth through time as Evie reckons with her complicated upbringing in this lush, wild land off the coast of Southern California. Lyrical, darkly funny, and ultimately cathartic,  Creatures  exerts a pull as strong as the tides.

The Vanished Birds
by Simon Jimenez
(January 14)

An out-of-time space traveler who only aged months while decades passed back home navigates the loss of everyone she knew before finding new purpose caring for a mysterious broken child who communicates through a wooden flute. This debut novel offers the best of what science fiction can be: a through provoking, heartrending story about the choices that define our lives.

American Dirt
by Jeanine Cummins
(January 21)

Both timely and prodigiously readable, this heart wrenching, suspenseful novel offers an unrelenting and terrifyingly you-are-there account of a Mexican mother and son fleeing to America after cartel violence takes their entire family. Their breathtaking journey moves with the velocity and power of a freight train. Intensely suspenseful and deeply humane, this novel makes migrants seeking to cross the southern U.S. border indelibly individual. 
A timely and important book.
Lady Clementine
by Marie Benedict
(January 7)

An incredible novel that focuses on one of the people who had the most influence during World War I and World War II: Clementine Churchill. In 1909, Clementine steps off a train with her new husband, Winston. An angry woman emerges from the crowd to attack, shoving him in the direction of an oncoming train. Just before he stumbles, Clementine grabs him by his suit jacket. This will not be the last time Clementine Churchill will save her husband. With a historian's eye and a writer's heart, Benedict provides an unforgettable glimpse into the private world of a brilliant woman whose impact and influence on world events deserves to be acknowledged.

Long Bright River
by Liz Moore
(January 7)

Set against the opioid crisis in Philadelphia and a string of mysterious murders, this gripping suspense novel is also an unflinching, moving story of sisters, addiction, and the formidable ties between place, history, family, and fate. Alternating a present-day mystery with the story of the sisters' childhood and adolescence, Liz Moore creates a rich and cinematic novel that is so riveting, surprising, heart pounding and heart wrenching, it is impossible to put down and will be impossible to forget.

Followers
by Megan Angello
(January 14)

Decades after an ambitious writer and her A-list wannabe roommate abandon their ethics for social-media stardom; a government-appointed celebrity discovers a shattering secret from her past that her corporate sponsors would gladly exploit. This thought provoking, suspenseful debut poses the question of how far our addiction to screens and our obsession with social media go, and how much will we pay for it. An edgy and stunning read!

Hitting a Straight Lick with a Crooked Stick
by Nora Zeale Hurston
(January 14)

In another reclaimed volume, following Barracoon , 21 of Hurston's short stories are gathered together for the first time, including nine recovered works, most focused on life in Harlem during its renaissance period, beginning in 1921 when Hurston struggled to launch herself as a writer.
Presented in the order in which Hurston wrote them, the stories trace her literary development and the adjustments she shared with others of the Great Migration. Throughout, Hurston draws insightful and humorous contrasts between southern and northern cultures, small-town and big-city life, and the ties and disconnects between country and urban folk.
With biting wit, Hurston gets to the heart of the human condition through the circuitous path of her characters, that is, “the straight lick with a crooked stick.”

A Long Petal of the Sea
by Isabel Allende
(January 21)

Spanning from 1938 to 1994, this majestic novel focuses on Victor Dalmau, a 23-year-old medical student fighting in the Spanish Civil War on the Republican side. After Nationalist forces prevail, Victor and thousands of other Republican sympathizers flee Spain to avoid brutal reprisals. In France, he searches the packed refugee camps for Roser Bruguera, who is pregnant with his brother Guillem’s child. Once he finds Roser, he breaks the news that Guillem has died in battle and that he has won a place on the Winnipeg, a ship that the Chilean poet Pablo Neruda has organized to transport Spanish refugees from Europe, where WWII is breaking out, to safety in Chile. Allowed to bring only family with him, Victor persuades Roser to marry him. They raise Roser’s son together and build stable lives, but when the Pinochet dictatorship unseats Chile’s Marxist president in 1973, they find themselves once more endangered by their political views. Seamlessly juxtaposing exile with homecoming, otherness with belonging, and tyranny with freedom, this epic, romantic, engaging novel feels both timeless and perfectly timed for today.  
Little Gods
by Meng Jin
(January 14)

On the night of the 1989 Tiananmen Square Massacre a woman gives birth in a Beijing hospital alone. Thus begins the unraveling of Su Lan, a brilliant physicist who until this moment has successfully erased her past. Seventeen years later, when she dies unexpectedly, it’s her daughter, Liya, who inherits the silences and contradictions of her mother’s life. Liya takes Su Lan’s ashes to China to be buried, unknown territory for her, being American born. From here a portrait of her mother emerges, a story of migrations literal and emotional, spanning time, space, and class, gripping from beginning to end. This is a beautiful, intensely moving debut.

When We Were Vikings
by Andrew David MacDonald
(January 28)

Zelda is a twenty-one-year-old Viking enthusiast who lives with her older brother, Gert. When Zelda finds out that Gert has resorted to some questionable and possibly dangerous methods to make enough money to keep them afloat, she decides to launch her own quest. Her mission: to be legendary. Soon Zelda finds herself in a battle that tests the reach of her heroism, her love for her brother, and the depth of her Viking strength. An uplifting debut about an unlikely heroine whose journey will leave you wanting to embark on a quest of your own, because after all, we are all legends of our own making.

NON-FICTION
Uncanny Valley: a Memoir
by Anna Weiner
(January 14)

Weiner chronicles her experience at a big-data startup in the heart of the Silicon Valley bubble – a world of surreal extravagance, dubious success, and fresh-faced entrepreneurs hell-bent on domination, glory, and, of course, progress. The book, which reads like an insider report, reveals not just excesses of the tech-startup landscape, but also the Faustian bargains and hidden political agendas embedded in the “inspiration culture,” underlying an all too powerful industry. A funny, highly informative, and terrifying read.

Tiny Habits:
The Small Changes That Change Everything
by B.J. Fogg
(December 31)

Based on twenty years of research and Fogg’s experience coaching more than 40,000 people, Tiny Habits cracks the code of habit formation. With breakthrough discoveries in every chapter, discover the simplest proven ways to transform your life. Fogg shows you how to feel good about your successes instead of bad about your failures. Have a happy, healthier life by starting small, one tiny habit at a time!