October 2016
Calling All Allen Eskens Fans: 
The Heavens May Fall is Here!
Featuring three characters from The Life We Bury!
October marks the release of The Heavens May Fall, Allen Eskens's eagerly awaited new book featuring three characters from his debut, the USA Today-bestselling, book club favorite The Life We Bury. This new mystery vividly tells a murder investigation and trial from two opposing perspectives. Detective Max Rupert is convinced that Jennavieve Pruitt was killed by her husband, Ben. Max's friend, attorney Boady Sanden, is equally convinced that Ben, his client, is innocent. The case pushes their friendship to the brink, and the truth about Jennavieve's murder remains a mystery until the very end.
Read on for more about The Heavens May Fall, as well as Eskens's Edgar Award-nominated debut The Life We Bury and the critically acclaimed The Guise of Another.

"A mature and sophisticated cops-and-lawyers story, satisfying in every way. I loved it."
- Lee Child, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of the Jack Reacher series

"Very well written and plotted, The Heavens May Fall certainly adds to Allen Eskens's growing reputation as one of the most talented writers in mystery fiction today."
- Deadly Pleasures Mystery Magazine


About the Author

Allen Eskens  is the award-winning and USA Today-bestselling author of The Life We BuryThe Guise of Another, and The Heavens May Fall. A criminal defense attorney for twenty-five years, he lives with his wife in Minnesota, where he is a member of the Twin Cities Sisters in Crime. He can be found on Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, and on his website www.alleneskens.com.

Want to learn more about the inspiration behind the books? Watch this Minnesota PBS feature story on Allen Eskens!

Allen Eskens on Minnesota PBS

Haven't read The Life We Bury or The Guise of Another yet?
Now's your chance!

"Compulsively suspenseful."  
"[A] masterful debut."  
-Publishers Weekly  STARRED REVIEW

          • WINNER! Left Coast Crime Rosebud Award, BEST DEBUT MYSTERY
          • WINNER! Silver Falchion Award, BEST FIRST NOVEL: traditional
          • 2015 Edgar® Award Finalist, BEST FIRST NOVEL
          • Minnesota Book Award Finalist, BEST GENRE NOVEL
          • Anthony Award Finalist, BEST FIRST NOVEL
          • ITW Thriller Awards Finalist, BEST FIRST NOVEL





A young man finds himself caught in the dark maze of circumstances surrounding a crime that occurred thirty years ago, and must confront several ugly truths and threats to his own life.


"Eskens's elegant but chilly prose, like winter in the blood, is well suited to this fiercely told morality tale (and its deeply cynical ending), which is sure to send all of us wretched sinners straight to hell."
- The New York Times Book Review

"Allen Eskens has conjured up a marvelously black spirit of a novel. It's a taut, intelligent, heart-ripping story that explores the darkest places in the human psyche. After each unexpected twist, you'll tell yourself things can't get any worse. And then they do."
- William Kent KruegerNew York Times-bestselling author of the Edgar® Award-winning Ordinary Grace

A Minnesota detective whose life is in shambles must unravel the mystery of a dead man while confronting a sociopath assassin.


For the latest on Seventh Street Books® crime fiction, join us on Facebook, Pinterest, and Twitter.


Lisa Michalski
Seventh Street Books®, an imprint of Prometheus Books

Like us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Find us on Pinterest 

Browse Our Online Catalog