City of Edmonton votes to join new Regional Transit Services Commission
February 19, 2020

Today, City Council voted unanimously to participate in a formal request to the Government of Alberta to create a new Regional Transit Services Commission (RTSC).

"I'm really pleased with the result of the vote. I'm glad to see that my colleagues saw that this just makes good sense," said Councillor Michael Walters, RTSC Transition Team Co-Chair. "This is a great next step towards the development of Regional Transit for the Edmonton Metro Region. We look forward to working with our regional partners to provide integrated transit to the citizens of the Edmonton Metro region." 

Edmonton is the third municipality within the Edmonton Metropolitan Region to officially vote. The remaining ten municipalities will vote throughout February and March.

“Today's decision shows that we are bought into working with our neighbours to find efficiencies that benefit our residents and contribute to regional economic prosperity," said Mayor Don Iveson.

In January, the RTSC Transition Team released their report: “ Accelerating Transit in the Edmonton Metropolitan Region: Building a Regional Transit Services Commission.” The business case highlighted opportunities for a more efficient and improved regional transit service, with projected savings of 850 service hours per week and $3.4 million per year once systems are fully aligned in 2026.

Next steps will be confirmed by the participating members of the RTSC Transition Team once the voting process for all regional municipalities is complete. It is anticipated that, once voting is complete, participating municipalities would prepare and submit an application to the Government of Alberta to create the Commission, with Commission operations commencing in 2022 at the earliest.
For more information:

Media contact:  
Communications Advisor
Communications and Engagement