Edmonton Metropolitan Region united by transit model
October 11, 2018

Residents and businesses in the Edmonton Metropolitan Region are a step closer to a more convenient and integrated transit service between all 13 communities and counties as a result of a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) signed today to establish a Regional Transit Services Commission.

The MOU outlines how the Edmonton Metropolitan Region partners will voluntarily work together to set up and operate inter-municipal routes, leaving local service with existing transit agencies. The Regional Transit Service Commission will provide more integrated and reliable movement between nearby communities than the current mix of transit services.

“This win/win approach to regional commuter transit service is a great example of how the municipalities are working together to make best use of resources to benefit our citizens, businesses and the environment,” said City of Edmonton Mayor Don Iveson.

The Government of Alberta has provided $3.7 million to support behind-the-scenes work to set up the commission. The goal is to have the new commission begin inter-municipal operation after 2020. The Edmonton Metropolitan Region will join the ranks of major Canadian urban centres that have efficient regional transit services, including Vancouver, Victoria, Montréal, Toronto and Ottawa.
For more information:

Media contact: 
Communications Advisor