Edmonton's new City Council officially sworn in
October 24, 2017

Edmonton’s 13 members of City Council were officially sworn in an historic and memorable ceremony at City Hall.

“I issue this challenge to my colleagues on City Council: let’s put family-friendliness at the centre of our ambition and let’s build a city that matches our ambition,” said Mayor Don Iveson. “Let’s uplift all people here so they can live their best possible lives in Edmonton.”

The ceremony began with a procession of City Council and included a performance of O Canada by Asani, Wajjo African drummers and Mattierin Irish dancers.

The oaths of office were administered by the Honourable Don Manderscheid, a judge with the Court of Queen’s Bench. Following the ceremony, the Mayor and City Councillors held their inaugural meeting in Council Chambers.

Edmonton’s new City Council is:
The new Council will serve a four-year term with the next municipal election scheduled for October 2021.
Media contact:  
Senior Communications Advisor