Edmontonians named to City’s Hall of Fame
June 11, 2018

Eleven leaders, athletes and community builders were inducted into the City’s Hall of Fame tonight for their lifelong dedication to making Edmonton a better place to live. The ceremony is a historic tradition led by the City’s Salute to Excellence Awards program. 

“The City of Edmonton is very proud to recognize these outstanding individuals who have worked hard to elevate the well-being of our communities,” said Mayor Don Iveson. “The Salute to Excellence program is a great vehicle to showcase and honour this city’s extraordinary citizens, leaders and builders.”

The Salute to Excellence Hall of Fame 2018 inductees are:

Arts & Culture Hall of Fame
  • Raymond Baril (musician and educator)
  • Steven LePoole (cultivator of music and music education)
  • Allan Scott (cultural ambassador and benefactor of the Art Gallery of Alberta)
  • Shelley Switzer (artistic producer, Edmonton International Street Performers Festival)

Community Service Hall of Fame
  • Margaret-Ann Armour (educator and advocate for learning)
  • David Mowat (leader and community champion)
  • Cathy Roozen (community builder in health care, social issues and education)

Sports Hall of Fame
  • Janine Helland (athlete, Canadian Women’s National Soccer Team)
  • Terry Jones (sports builder, journalist)
  • Jennifer Kish (athlete, Olympic Bronze Medallist, women’s rugby sevens)
  • Ronald Lee Minor (athlete, Paralympic Gold Medallist, 200m and 400m track)

The Salute to Excellence Hall of Fame celebrates its 67th year of recognizing Edmonton’s finest. Since 1951, the Salute to Excellence program has recognized and honoured Edmonton's most outstanding citizens who, through their involvement in arts and culture, community service and sports, have made exemplary contributions to the quality of life in Edmonton.

For inductees’ biographies, please visit edmonton.ca/salute.
Media contact:  
Communications Advisor
Citizen Services