Spring 2018
In This Issue



Spring Meeting in Natchez
LPMA joined Mississippi Psychiatric Association the Louisiana & Mississippi Councils for Child & Adolescent Psychiatry and the Louisiana Chapter of the American Society for Addiction Medicine for a great event in Natchez, MS! The weather was amazing! We visited the city's historic cemetery and a beautiful 18th century Bed & Breakfast was the setting to celebrate MPA's 50th Anniversary

2018 Excellence in Psychiatry
Resident-Fellow Award Winners!

Carine Nzodom, MD
LSU Baton Rouge

Eric West, MD
LSU New Orleans

Not Pictured

Chris Davis, MD
Tulane University
Each year Residency Program Directors select an Excellence in Psychiatry award winner from their respective programs. Winners must be an LPMA resident member in their terminal year going into practice or a fellowship. Candidates must be staying in Louisiana to practice or expressing strong plans to return to Louisiana to practice post fellowship.

BickAwardCongratulations 2018 Bick Award Winners!
Cecilia Webb

Sydney  Smith
LSU Baton Rouge

Douglas  Alexander
LSU New Orelans

Rachel Voss
LSU Shreveport
The Bick Award is given each year to the graduating medical student from each of Louisiana's medical schools who demonstrate outstanding achievement and promise in psychiatry.This award was established in1970 by LPMA in honor of Dr. John  W. Bick, Jr. Dr. Bick was an excellent general psychiatrist who was open to new ideas, well versed in both the biological modes of treatment and in psychodynamics ,and highly respected as a clinician. LPMA member, John W. Bick III, who is listed among the "Top Doctors" in New Orleans, is his son.
Poster2018 Spring Meeting
Poster Competition Award Winners

Pictured left is1st Place Poster Winner Dr. Krutika Chokhawala for Decrease in Neural Connectivity Seen on Neuroimaging in Adolescent with Poly Substance Abuse

Pictured far left is Kunal Maini, MD taking
2nd place for his entry Deutetrabenazine vs Valbenazine .

Also pictured left center Maneek Kaler, MD took 
3rd Place for her submission Marijuana
Use in Adolescents

 Congratulations to all! 
MemberNews1MemberNewsMembers Making the News

LPMA member Dr. Denese Shervington received this year's APA Assembly Award for Excellence in Service and Advocacy from the Women of the Assembly.  This award, presented by the Assembly Women's Caucus goes to a woman member of the APA whose work exemplifies excellence in clinical mental health care combined with service to members of an underserved minority community. Thanks for your great work Dr. Shervington!

LPMA APA Assembly Representative, Dr. Mary Jo Fitz-Gerald has been  appointed to the Public and Community Psychiatry committee by Area 5.  Dr. Fitz-Gerald also serves on their committee for Disasters. We appreciate your hard work!

 Great work ladies! 
A special thanks to our supporters who helped us make the Spring Meeting possible. And to American Professional Agency, Inc. for the Resident-Fellow dinner Friday night and Janssen Pharmaceuticals for providing Saturday's lunch! 
Addiction Counseling & Educational Resources
M eridian Programs
Physician's World - Takeda/Lundbeck
American Professional Agency, Inc.
Merit Health River Region Behavioral Health
Profesional Risk Management Services, Inc.
Forrest General Hospital
Merit Health Gulf Oaks
Rivermind Health
Galen US
Merit Health Rankin County
Janssen Pharmaceuticals
Neurocrine Biosciences, Inc.
L&M Healthcare Communications LLC/Otsuka
Woodlake Center
Longbranch  Healthcare

L PMA Executive Council Members
voted to forego a fall meeting this
Instead, efforts and resources
be focused to host the 2019
Spring Meeting that will be held
New Orleans. Final dates and
the location will be announced soon.

Put This on Your Calendar

2019 Annual Spring Meeting
ACE Hotel New Orleans
February 15-17
Click here to make your hotel reservation.


APANews & Benefits from APA
Free to Members CME Course of the Month:
Lithium and Bipolar Disorder in Children

Feeling Burned Out? Take the wellbeing self-assessment and access resource tools to help you. Click here to take the self-assessment today.

APA announces Ned H Kalin, MD to assume the role of Editor in Chief of the American Jouranl of Psychiatry beginning January 1, 2019.

A statement of support of U.S. Surgeon General Jerome Adams' recommendation to widen the availability of Naloxone, which can reverse the effects of an opioid overdose was made by the APA. Click here to read it. 


    Job Opportunities 
South Louisiana Veterans Health Care System -
contact Garry Laborde, LCSW  at 504 571-8283 for more information.

Integrated Behavioral Health, LLC - Contact Tricia Mogg
Tricia@ibhnola.com, Andrew Morson, MD Dr.Morson@ibhnola.com, or Mehdi Qalbani, MD Dr.q@ibhnola.com  or call 504.322.3837.

QCCH - contact: Barbara Caminske - BCaminske@qcch.com

Louisiana Psychiatric Medical Association
9655 Perkins Rd, #C-152
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70810