American Society for Public Administration (ASPA) Section on Transportation Policy and Administration
Like us on Facebook
 May 2017
Article Directories
Events of Interest
November 3-5, 2017
Burlington, VT

Oct 4-17, 2017
Hollywood Beach, FL
May 17-18, 2017
Irvine, CA
STPA Student Paper Competition Call 

STPA invites undergraduate and graduate students who have written research papers related to transportation policy and administration to submit their papers for consideration. Deadline for receiving papers is February 1, 2018. For more details .
Nominations Sought for Truitt-Felbinger Award  
The award was established in memory of Lawrence J. Truitt and Claire Felbinger, former STPA Chairs, valued colleagues, scholars, practitioners, and teachers and is presented annually to an individual who has made significant contributions to the field of transportation policy and administration. Some of the previous recipients were: Neilson A. "Dutch" Berthof, Aviation Director for the City of Phoenix; Former Deputy Secretary of Transportation, Mortimer L. Downey; James R. Mills, Chairman Emeritus of the San Diego Metropolitan Transportation Board; and, Scott Hercik, Appalachian Regional Commission, and Barbara Ivanov, Director of the Washington State Department of Transportation (WSDOT) Freight Systems Division Send your nominations to STPA Awards Committee Chair
News from STPA's 2017 Annual Meeting in Atlanta

On March 17, 2017, STPA hosted a workshop entitled Transportation Matters: The Evolving Role of Transportation in the 21st Century with six presentations covering a range of topics from freight and port administration to Complete Streets and public engagement in transportation policy. We were pleased to present two sectional awards this year: Parks Preston, winner of the 2017 Truitt-Felbinger Award, and to Josephine Hazelton, winner of the 2017 Student Paper Award.

At our annual board meeting on March 19th, STPA welcomed new board member Dr. Anthony Campbell of Tennessee State University as well as Chair-Elect Dr. Rebecca Lutte of the University of Nebraska Omaha. The Board discussed ways to increase the Section's visibility as well as a proposed special issue in the section's journal, Public Works Management & Policy. The Board minutes can be accessed here: 

Stay tuned for more details and ways to get involved!
Memo to the President: Rebuilding the Nation's Infrastructure

STPA member John Bartle together with Mark Pisano, recently wrote an article in Government Executive magazine detailing a new approach to rebuilding transportation infrastructure. It is a shorter version of their paper for the National Academy of Public Administration series, "Memos to National Leaders." Pisano and Bartle present a new paradigm to renew infrastructure that would use value capture methods and user fees to leverage private funds to support increased infrastructure investment. Rigorous business plans would allow investors to assess risk and return on investment, and provide investment opportunities for private capital. This would require changes in our approach to financing infrastructure to emphasize greater intergovernmental coordination, clearer prioritization, and streamlined regulatory requirements. See the Government Executive article  
Becky Lutte Elected as STPA Chair-Elect

Becky Lutte is an Assistant Professor for the University of Nebraska at Omaha Aviation Institute. Her degrees include a B.S. Professional Aeronautics, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University and an M.P.A. and Ph.D., Public Administration, University of Nebraska at Omaha. A former regional airline pilot, Becky has commercial SEL, MEL, CFII, and MEI certificates. In addition, she is an aircraft owner of an experimental/amateur built RV-7 and is active in general aviation. Based in the Houston, Texas area, Becky specializes in distance education course development and delivery. Her research interests are in the areas of aviation regulatory policy, pilot supply issues facing the industry, and sustainability in air transport.
You can reach Becky at:

Sponsored by

This newsletter is sponsored by the University of Southern Mississippi Trent Lott National Center for Excellence in Economic Development and the Center for Logistics, Trade, and Transportation