October 2017
In This Issue
Board of Directors


Thom Fladung
Hennes Communications 

Amy McGahan
Dix & Eaton 

Carol Kovach
Diocese of Cleveland 


Rita Andolsen

John Betchkal
Retired, GE Lighting 

Mary Lou Brink
The Plain Dealer

Toni Garbo

Jennifer Keirn
Keirn & Co

Elizabeth McInyre
Crain's Cleveland Business

Russ Mitchell
Russ Mitchell

Lee Moran
The News-Herald 

Kathleen Osborne
Hathaway Brown School 

Denise Polverine

Joe Pulizzi
Content Marketing Institute 

Todd Schneider

Mark Simpson

Amanda Todorovich
Cleveland Clinic

Past President
Ed Byers
Retired, Medical Mutual 

Lynn Bracic
Professional Management Concepts, Inc. 
:: 440.899-1222
Join Our Mailing List
From the President -- Thom Fladung 

This year, at the Press Club of Cleveland we've been stressing a short, important message: Journalism matters. 

In November, we'll gather to honor a group of people who have spent their lifetimes making journalism matter. 

Our Hall of Fame induction dinner is Nov. 2 at La Centre in Westlake. We'll welcome the newest members of our Hall of Fame: Joe Frolik, a veteran Plain Dealer reporter and editor and current managing producer at Ideastream; Janet Macoska, a legendary photojournalist who made her mark chronicling Cleveland's rock and roll scene; Russ Mitchell, managing editor and anchor at WKYC-TV 3; David Molyneaux, longtime Plain Dealer reporter and editor and well-known travel writer; Joe Mosbrook, a stalwart reporter at WKYC-TV 3 and Carol Story, television producer and one of the pioneers behind The Morning Edition at WEWS-TV 5. We'll also honor Tom Moore, WTAM-AM 1100 news anchor, our 2017 Chuck Heaton award recipient. 

This is a night to celebrate so much that's right about journalism. Get your tickets by going here: https://pc2017halloffame.eventbrite.com

We also thank our Hall of Fame corporate sponsor FirstEnergy, presenting sponsor Medical Mutual, reception sponsor Burns McDonnell, supporting sponsors Dominion Energy and Coca-Cola and friend of sponsorship PR Newswire.

Without their support, a special night wouldn't happen.
Janet Macoska aptly summed up what it means: "I'm telling you, I am so honored to be recognized.  My mom would know that all those years of subscribing to LIFE Magazine really made a difference. That's how I knew that was what I wanted to do in my life; to tell stories with photos."
These journalists built Hall of Fame careers out of a simple goal: Tell great stories.
Please consider joining us to honor them and hear their stories.
Trivia Night: Oct. 17
Before Google, how did you settle trivia arguments? A lot of people called the local newsroom. Anyone who worked the phones back in the day, especially at night, remembers those calls. (Jim Bagby and Al Smith were the Indians pitchers who ended Joe Dimaggio's 56-game hit streak. You're welcome.)
Test yourself against trivia masters at our second trivia contest, with master MC Mike McIntyre, 5:30 p.m. Oct. 17 at Market Garden Brewery. Click here to register

Holiday Party: Dec. 13

Our second trivia night has been added to the Press Club's fall calendar: 
October 17th 
5:30 - 8:00 pm
Get your teams together (teams of 4), 
or we will pair you up with other individuals .
Registration information will be out shortly. We had a sold out crowd for our first Trivia Night in the spring .... get registered early.   Click here to register online.
2017 Press Club Hall of Fame inductees, Heaton Award winner announced

Mark your calendar for Thursday, Nov. 2 for The Press Club of Cleveland Journalism Hall of Fame induction dinner. The event will be at LaCentre Conference & Banquet Facility, 25777 Detroit Road, Westlake. Watch for details on the dinner and advertising opportunities in the event program booklet in the coming weeks.
This year's Hall of Fame induction class consists of:
  • Joe Frolik, who spent more than 30 years at The Plain Dealer as a reporter, columnist, national correspondent and chief editorial writer. He worked at newspapers in Austin and San Diego before coming to Cleveland. Currently, he is a managing producer at Ideastream in Cleveland.
  • Janet Macoska, a longtime rock and roll photojournalist who covered many of the biggest performers. Her work has appeared in local, national and international publications and is in the permanent collection of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum in Cleveland. She also spent 10 years as the Cleveland Indians photographer.
  • Russ Mitchell, whojoined WKYC TV3 as lead anchor and managing editor of the 6 and 11 p.m. newscasts in 2012 after spending 20 years as a national correspondent and anchor, covering stories all over the world. The award-winning journalist worked in Kansas City, Dallas, St. Louis and New York before arriving in Cleveland.
  • David Molyneaux, longtime Plain Dealer staff member who was Cleveland City hall reporter, city editor, editorial page editor and chief travel writer for the daily paper before his retirement in 2006. He continues to blog and write about travel.
  • Joe Mosbrook, an award-winning broadcast journalist, who spent 35 years as a news reporter for WKYC TV3 and covered some of the biggest news events in Northeast Ohio. He interviewed every president from John Kennedy to Bill Clinton and reported regularly for NBC's Today show and Nightly News broadcasts. He also anchored NBC Radio Network newscasts.
  • Carol Story, who is well-known for her work as producer of the WEWS TV5 Morning Exchange show. Under her supervision, it became very popular and served as a pilot for ABC's Good Morning America show. The format also was adopted by NBC and CBS for their morning shows. Story is retired and lives in North Carolina.
Also, Tom Moore of radio station WTAM 1100 will receive the 10th annual Chuck Heaton Award, which is presented to someone in the journalism field who is respected for his or her contributions to the profession as well as in the community. The award honors the memory of Chuck Heaton, a longtime and well-respected sports writer at The Plain Dealer.

Moore has been a news anchor at WTAM and other iHeartMedia radio stations since 1995, and has covered Cleveland news on the radio since 1987. He serves on an alumni advisory board to the School of Broadcast and Cinematic Arts at his alma mater, Central Michigan University, is coordinator of the Northeast Ohio support group of the Acoustic Neuroma Association and is active with St. Angela Merici Parish in Fairview Park. For the past 20 years he has been secretary-treasurer of the Cleveland chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists and twice served as president of the Ohio Associated Press Broadcasters Association.
Press Club T-Shirts still available
Crew necks or women's scoop necks are available.
Women's small (size 2-4) / medium (size 6-8) /
large (size 10-12)
Men's medium / large / extra large
$10 each if you pick up at one of our events
Shipping/handling is additional charge (if shipped).

Click this link for more ordering information

Thanks to 2017 Corporate Sponsor: