Upper Ottawa Valley Chamber of Commerce Newsletter
      E-Chat Issue 8, December 16, 2014
In This Issue
From the Chamber
Upcoming Chamber Events
Chamber Member News
Visit Our Website
                       DEAR CHAMBER MEMBER                         
On behalf the Board of Directors of the Upper Ottawa Valley Chamber of Commerce we would like to wish you Season's Greetings and would like to extend our sincere thanks for being our valued members.  We wish you continued success in the New Year.

Nominations for the 11th Annual Upper Ottawa Valley Chamber of Commerce Business Achievement Awards are now being accepted.  Nominate a deserving business today! 

New format, new venue and new categories.
Award Categories & Criteria

Award Nomination Form
Awards Sponsorship Opportunities

The Awards Committee has been hard at work planning please take time to nominate a business and remember self-nominations are welcomed.   

Date: Saturday January 31, 2015
Venue: Festival Hall, Pembroke
Tickets: $50 + hst per person.  Reserve your tickets by calling the Chamber office at 613-732-1492.
For more details

2015 Membership invoices will be going out soon.  Please keep the Chamber office updated with any changes in your business.  We especially want to know if you have moved locations, have a new email if there`s a new contact person etc.
  Email is the main communication tool we use so please make sure we have yours.

As a member of the Chamber there is an opportunity for you to host a Business After Hours event. Here are some tips on making your event a success.
The Chamber has a Facebook page. Click Here and make sure to like our page for new updates.
From the Chamber

2015 Board of Directors
The following were people were elected at the Annual General Meeting on December 5, 2014.

President: John Walden, John Walden & Associates 
Vice President: position vacant
Treasurer: Helene Grondin, B.A.A., CPA, CMA
(Helene is also Past President)
Directors At-Large:
Janice Krieger, BMO
Cathy Machin, RBC
Laurie Courchesne-Dolley, The Delfi Group
Osiah Horst, Horst Business Services
Algonquin Business Student Representative:
Sadie Grahl

There were vacancies not filled at the meeting and the Board has received the names of the following persons who will be appointed to the Board at the 1st Board meeting in January.
Cyndy Phillips-McCann, Town of Petawawa
Shawna Miller, Deep River Science Academy
Stephanie Brinkworth, BMO

2014 Lifetime Achievement Recipients Announced 
This years recipients are Izett McBride and Gail Richardson, both who are well-known in the local business community.  As is in
the past the Chamber uses the Annual General Meeting to make the announcement of the Lifetime Achievement Award which is the highlight of our Awards Gala.  Izett and Gail will receive their award at the 11th Annual Business Achievement Awards Gala on Saturday January 31, 2015 at Festival Hall in Pembroke.

Tickets can be reserved by contacting the Chamber office at 613-732-1492.  Cost is $50 per person + HST.

Algonquin College Survey Re: Professional Development Conference
Algonquin College's Waterfront Campus in Pembroke is exploring the possibility of offering an annual spring professional development conference for local businesses.  The survey will only take about 5 minutes to complete.  Here is then link:   http://fluidsurveys.com/surveys/chantal-dube/algonquin-p-d-conference-survey/

Promoting Smoke-Free Policies: A Guide for Workplaces - Renfrew County & District Health Unit
The Issue of smoking around workplace/business doorways continues to be a leading source of public exposure to second-hand smoke (SHS).  There is no safe level of SHS - inside or outside...Click to read full article

Upcoming Chamber Events
Saturday January 31, 2015 -11th Annual Business Achievement Awards
Festival Hall, Pembroke
6:30 pm
$50 per person (+hst)

Entertainment: Whose Chamber of Commerce is It Anyway?
by The Canadian Comic Witness Protection Program featuring Second City Alumnus:
Terry Hart
Frank MacNulty
Rick Wharton
and Jazzman Music Director Rob McLean 

Reserve your tickets now! Call the office at 613-732-1492 or email manager@uovchamber.com

Chamber Member News

OVWRC Board Re-elects Chair & Vice Chair

At its inaugural, post Municip
al election meeting on December 17th, 2014, the Ottawa Valley Waste Management Board re-elected Laurentian Valley Mayor Steve Bennett as Chair and Petawawa Deputy Mayor Tom Mohns as Vice Chair. 
To

Canada Science & Technology Museum and Canadian Nuclear Laboratories Launch a New Science Video Series To read more...

As a Chamber Member we are happy to include your event in our newsletter. Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions.

Lorraine MacKenzie - Executive Director 

Upper Ottawa Valley Chamber of Commerce

224 Pembroke St W

Pembroke ON K8A 5N2

Phone (613) 732 - 1492