News from the Nest
Principal's Newsletter
Upcoming Events

Monday, 3/11

Gym Day for Grades
K,2,3,4,6,7/8

__________________

Tuesday, 3/12

Gym Day for Grades:
1,2,3,4,5,7/8

Burning of the Palms
9:30 am
_ __________________

Wednesday, 3/13

Living Stations of the Cross 
1:30 pm


_______________
Thursday, 3/14

Gym Day for Grades:
PK3,PK4,K,1,5,6

________________
Friday, 3/15

St. Patrick's Day 
Dress Down Day
$2 for Rice Bowl

St. Patrick's Day BINGO
Parish Hall 6 pm

Bishop Scholarship Application Deadline
________________

Planning Ahead
_________________

________________

Full calendar of events available online.

Visit our website @


Volume:4  Issue: 24 March 12
Dear Assumption Family,

There are only THREE days left to complete your application for financial assistance through the FACTS website. Remember, to receive any financial aid for the 2019-20 school year every family must apply through FACTS. There is a $30 application fee that is paid directly to FACTS.

If you have any questions or need help to upload your documents, please contact the main office at 203-334-6271 or office@oloaffld.org.  

Many Blessings,





Steven J. Santoli
Principal


The Bishop's Scholarship Fund application process officially opened on Friday, February 1. All families that currently receive tuition assistance from Foundations in Education through the Bishop's Scholarship Fund should have received an email directly from FACTS to remind you to start the application process for 2019-20.

The link below provides further information about the tuition assistance process. 


Last year the BSF awarded over $190,000 in tuition assistance to Assumption families. I encourage all families to apply through FACTS, even if you think you will not qualify for assistance.  

No financial assistance of any kind can be awarded without a completed Grant and Aid Application!

The process is simple. 
  1. You must login to the FACTS website and complete the Grant and Aid Application.
  2. Complete the online application.
  3. Upload your 2018 tax information.
  4. Submit the application and documents and pay the $30 fee directly to FACTS.  
The deadline is March 15, 2019


The deadline for new families, enrolling for 2019-20 is April 15, 2019.  

We will offer several Financial Aid Nights in the coming months to assist you in completing the process. Dates will be confirmed soon. Please feel free to contact the main office with any questions. We are here to help!


Jump Rope for Heart Wrap-up

Congratulations to our Assumption school community for raising $2025 for the American Heart Association! Thank you parents, students and teachers for participating in this important event which benefits the health and well-being of our immediate school community as well as our larger community of neighbors and friends. 

A HUGE thank you to our highest fundraisers:

Isaac Alijore 3rd grade - $250
(This is the second year in a row that Issac was our highest fundraiser! Wow! )
Harold Nuttall Kindergarten - $190
Will McCorry Kindergarten - $145

Our Jump-a-thon on February 28th was enjoyed by students at all grade levels. The younger students rotated through fun jumping stations; jumping in hula hoops, over a spinning long rope, over hurdles and more! Our older students also rotated through stations and participated in some competitions, too. Here are the results of some of our jumping contests:

Standing High Jump 6th, 7th and 8th grade
  1. Nathan
  2. Abdoulaye
  3. Jahzara
Standing High Jump 4th and 5th grade
  1. Caldon
  2. Gabby
  3. Olivia
Long Jump Rope 6th, 7th and 8th grade
  1. Kira 106
  2. Elyssa 66
  3. Jeanette 59
Long Jump Rope 4th and 5th grade
  1. Andrea 65
  2. Ethan 47
  3. Davida 32
Long Jump Rope 2nd and 3rd grade (rope spun by other 2nd and 3rd graders)
  1. Josneyl 15
  2. Issac 13
  3. Carter 11
 
Long Jump Rope K and 1st grade (rope spun by 8th graders)
  1. Kaden 32
  2. Liam 26
  3. Raphaella 18
Long Jump Rope PreSchool (rope spun by 7th graders)
  1. Josie 7
  2. Eleanor 6
  3. Thomas 5




Cold Weather Uniform 
NO MORE SHORTS

The cold weather uniform guidelines are highlighted in yellow on the uniform code document link below.



Gently used khaki pants are available at school for just $5 each. Email sizes to Mrs. Gourley at office@oloaffld.org to check availability. 


2018-19 School Calendar 

Click the link below to access the school calendar for 2018-19


REMINDER: Late students should be walked to the school door and signed in AFTER the morning announcements and prayer.  If there is no staff member outside the building, your child is LATE

Late Drop Off  Procedure  

All students must arrive by 8:30 AM each morning. If you arrive after 8:30 AM please walk your child into the school and get a tardy pass from the Main Office.  The doors will be locked from 8:30 AM to 8:35 AM for morning prayer, please do not ring the bell to enter during this time. All parents and children should participate in morning prayer while waiting to sign in.


8:20 AM 
School Doors Open

8:30 AM
School Doors Closed and Morning Prayer 

8:35 AM
Late Students and Parents will be buzzed into school to sign-in at the Main Office

Teacher and Staff Contact Information

Listed below you will find the teacher and staff email list for the 2018-19 school year.  Open communication is paramount to a successful home and school relationship.

Phone messages can be left for all teachers by calling the main office at 203-334-6271.

Position
Name
Email
Principal Steven Santoli principal@oloaffld.org
Administrative Assistant
Jody Gourley office@oloaffld.org

School Nurse Mandy Levy nurse@oloaffld.org
Bookkeeper Jessica Navarro bookkeeper@oloaffld.org
PK 3  Mary Reihl mreihl@oloaffld.org
PK4  Jean Blaze jblaze@oloaffld.org
Kindergarten Rosa Ferreira rferreira@oloaffld.org
First Grade  Heather Leone hleone@oloaffld.org
Second Grade Kathy Andrade kandrade@oloaffld.org
Third Grade Lisa Kozlowski lkozlowski@oloaffld.org
Fourth Grade Lauren Korres lkorres@oloaffld.org
Fifth Grade Elizabeth Cahill ecahill@oloaffld.org
Sixth Grade/Science Thomas Blake tblake@oloaffld.org
Seventh Grade/English Sunita Yashavant syashavant@oloaffld.org
Eighth Grade/SS/Music Theresa Yoney tyoney@oloaffld.org
SixGrade/Math/Maker Space
Debra Shea dshea@oloaffld.org
Spanish/Art Monica Smith msmith@oloaffld.org


Assumption Catholic School on the Web
Follow us on social media












The best source of information about our school happenings is our website.  The calendar function of the website is updated frequently. Forms and important information can be downloaded from the yellow envelope tab weekly.






Virtus Registration and Training
All Adult volunteers  must be Virtus Trained 

T o register with Virtus and be eligible to volunteer, coach, or chaperone in school or at a school sponsored event you must register with Virtus, complete a training and agree to a background check.

Click here to visit the Virtus website.  Remember to select Assumption School as your primary location.  Please contact the office with questions or concerns.

Mission Statement
Assumption Catholic School provides an education of academic excellence, rooted in the Catholic Faith, which fosters the spiritual, physical, moral, and intellectual development of all students, so they may realize their full potential as responsible, caring, and contributing citizens of the world.