News from the Nest
Principal's Newsletter
Upcoming Events

Monday, 11/12

Gym Day for Grades
K,2,3,4,6,7/8

__________________

Tuesday, 11/13

Gym Day for Grades:
1,2,3,4,5,7/8

School Picture Day

K & 1 Field Trip
NDHS Halloween Parade
_ __________________
Wednesday, 11/14

PK3 & 4 Halloween Walk-a-Thon 
9:00 AM

K - 8 Walk-a-Thon
1:00 PM
_______________
Thursday, 11/15

Gym Day for Grades:
PK3
PK4,
K,
1,5,
6

END OF 1st QUARTER
_______________
Friday, 11/16

Turkey BINGO
6:30 pm

_______________
Planning Ahead

Wednesday, 11/21
EARLY DISMISSAL
11:15 am

NO AFTER CARE
_______________

Thursday, 11/22
THANKSGIVING
NO SCHOOL
_______________

Friday, 11/23
NO SCHOOL
_______________

Saturday, 12/1
Breakfast w/ Santa
_______________
Full calendar of events available online.

Visit our website @


Volume:4  Issue: 11 November 11
Dear Assumption Family,

It has been a long and trying process, but the reconstruction of the lower floor of our school is quickly drawing to a conclusion.  The students, staff, and families have been very patient through this process and for that I thank you.

Over the next week the painting and flooring contractors will put their final touches on the job. We will then install the new lockers and the move in process will begin.  Our hope is to resume classes and lunch service downstairs by the week after Thanksgiving.

I always like to see the brightside in all situations, this flood renovation has offered us some opportunities to utilize new spaces to better serve  our students. The library has been expanded to add more than 200 square feet of previously unused space.  New shelving, seating, and storage will allow for a greater variety of activities in the space.


Our Innovations Lab will move downstairs to the room previously used for music classes. This will almost double the amount of space used by our makers  and future innovators during their Maker Space time.

Many of you have offered to help throughout this process. I informed you that the time will come to seek assistance.  That time is now! Over the next week we will need help installing lockers and shelves, moving furniture and boxes to reinhabit the building. I will make specific requests through email, but if you are interested now, please email Jody Gourley at office@oloaffld.org and let her know your availability during the day this week and I will reach out as needed.

Together, we will make our lower level better than ever!


Many Blessings,

Steven J. Santoli
Principal

Please join us Friday, November 16th in the Parish Hall for a fun family evening of Bingo, Pizza and Friends! There will be prizes for the children and 50/50's for the adults. Of course, the evening will end with our Thanksgiving Dinner Prize! The evening begins at 6 p.m when pizza will be served and the games kick off at 6:30.

The cost is $20 for a family of up to (4) and $5 per additional person when paid in advance. At the door the cost will be $25 per family of (4) plus $5 per each additional person.

We hope to see you there for this evening of family fun.
Don't forget to bring your own Bingo markers!


Volunteers Needed!

This week is Turkey Bingo!!!! An Assumption family favorite event. We hope that many of you will be able to attend!!!! We are also in need of help to make this event SUCCESSFUL. Below is a link to Sign up if you are able to give some time and earn hours towards your 10 hr volunteer hours for the year. I have also attached  copy of the flyer for those who may need another copy to sign up and join us.



New or Gently Used Coat Drive

The National Charity League is collecting coats for the Bridgeport Rescue Mission.  Please bring all donations to school by Tuesday, November 13 and drop them in the box in the front lobby.


Art Room Donations

Mrs. Smith is in need of buttons of all shapes, sizes, and colors for projects during art classes. Please send buttons in with your students or drop them off in the main office.


Cold Weather Uniform 
NO MORE SHORTS

The cold weather uniform guidelines are highlighted in yellow on the uniform code document link below.



Gently used khaki pants are available at school for just $5 each. Email sizes to Mrs. Gourley at office@oloaffld.org to check availability. 



No students should purchase lunch with cash without previously ordering online or notifying Chef Georgia in advance.  We are still able to have full access to the kitchen and cafeteria. Lunches are prepared then brought to the Parish Hall to be served. There are no alternative offerings for students that have not ordered lunch in advance.

Homes for the Brave Soup Drive


REMINDER: PK3 is collecting canned soup for the homeless veterans served by Homes for the Brave. 

Students are a sked to donate soup each Monday until the Super Bowl. In gratitude, students that donate can wear their favorite team's jersey over their uniform each Monday they donate.


2018-19 School Calendar 

Click the link below to access the school calendar for 2018-19



Late Drop Off  Procedure  

All students must arrive by 8:30 AM each morning. If you arrive after 8:30 AM please walk your child into the school and get a tardy pass from the Main Office.  The doors will be locked from 8:30 AM to 8:35 AM for morning prayer, please do not ring the bell to enter during this time. All parents and children should participate in morning prayer while waiting to sign in.


8:20 AM 
School Doors Open

8:30 AM
School Doors Closed and Morning Prayer 

8:35 AM
Late Students and Parents will be buzzed into school to sign-in at the Main Office

Teacher and Staff Contact Information

Listed below you will find the teacher and staff email list for the 2018-19 school year.  Open communication is paramount to a successful home and school relationship.

Phone messages can be left for all teachers by calling the main office at 203-334-6271.

Position
Name
Email
Principal Steven Santoli principal@oloaffld.org
Administrative Assistant
Jody Gourley office@oloaffld.org
Director of Enrollment
Karen Guastelle kguastelle@oloaffld.org

School Nurse Mandy Levy nurse@oloaffld.org
Bookkeeper Jessica Navarro bookkeeper@oloaffld.org
PK 3  Mary Reihl mreihl@oloaffld.org
PK4  Jean Blaze jblaze@oloaffld.org
Kindergarten Rosa Ferreira rferreira@oloaffld.org
First Grade  Heather Leone hleone@oloaffld.org
Second Grade Kathy Andrade kandrade@oloaffld.org
Third Grade Lisa Kozlowski lkozlowski@oloaffld.org
Fourth Grade Lauren Korres lkorres@oloaffld.org
Fifth Grade Elizabeth Cahill ecahill@oloaffld.org
Sixth Grade/Science Thomas Blake tblake@oloaffld.org
Seventh Grade/English Sunita Yashavant syashavant@oloaffld.org
Eighth Grade/SS/Music Theresa Yoney tyoney@oloaffld.org
SixGrade/Math/Maker Space
Debra Shea dshea@oloaffld.org
Spanish/Art Monica Smith msmith@oloaffld.org


Assumption Catholic School on the Web
Follow us on social media












The best source of information about our school happenings is our website.  The calendar function of the website is updated frequently. Forms and important information can be downloaded from the yellow envelope tab weekly.






Virtus Registration and Training
All Adult volunteers  must be Virtus Trained 

T o register with Virtus and be eligible to volunteer, coach, or chaperone in school or at a school sponsored event you must register with Virtus, complete a training and agree to a background check.

Click here to visit the Virtus website.  Remember to select Assumption School as your primary location.  Please contact the office with questions or concerns.

Mission Statement
Assumption Catholic School provides an education of academic excellence, rooted in the Catholic Faith, which fosters the spiritual, physical, moral, and intellectual development of all students, so they may realize their full potential as responsible, caring, and contributing citizens of the world.