News from the Nest
Principal's Newsletter
Upcoming Events

Monday, 12/17

Gym Day for Grades
K,2,3,4,6,7/8

ADVENT WREATH PRAYER SERVICE
8:30 AM

__________________

Tuesday, 12/18

Gym Day for Grades:
1,2,3,4,5,7/8


_ __________________
Wednesday, 12/19

Kindergarten and Buddies Christmas Concert
1 PM

_______________
Thursday, 12/20

Gym Day for Grades:
PK3,PK4,K,1,5,6


________________
Friday, 12/21

EARLY DISMISSAL
11:15 AM

NO AFTER SCHOOL CARE
________________

Planning Ahead
_________________

Monday,12/24 
to
Tuesday, 1/1

NO SCHOOL 
CHRISTMAS BREAK


_______________
Full calendar of events available online.

Visit our website @


Volume:4  Issue: 16 December 16
Dear Assumption Family,

Today is Gaudete Sunday, the third Sunday of Advent when we pause to rejoice that our wait is almost over and Jesus will soon be here.

This is a truly exciting time and the increased excitement is palpable in the halls and classrooms at school. It is important  to not lose sight of the true meaning of this season.



It is very easy to get caught up in the hustle and bustle of last minute shopping, baking, and preparing for holiday gatherings.  Take some time to remind yourself and your children that the greatest gift is the gift of joy.  To give that gift is far more special that receiving a new toy or game.

This week I will be shopping with my children to get gifts for needy families from our giving tree. This is a small gesture, but it helps to demonstrate the true reason for the season and they have truly come to enjoy this tradition.  

I invite you to do the same with your children this week. 

Giving Tree tags are available in the main lobby of the school. Please consider selecting a tag and purchasing a gift for needy families in our community. All purchased gifts should be returned to the school by December 17. 

Many Blessings,

Steven J. Santoli
Principal
Advent Wreath Prayer Service

All are invited to join in our Advent Wreath Prayer Service every Monday of Advent.  This is a beautiful event led by our students to remember the true reason for the season, the birth of Jesus Christ!

Every Monday, starting December 3, Students will gather in the Parish Hall at drop off. At 8:30 am we will hold our wreath lighting and prayer service. Parents are encouraged to attend.  After prayer, teachers will lead the students to the school to start the day.

Advent Wreath Prayer Service Dates

Monday, December 17

Cold Weather Uniform 
NO MORE SHORTS

The cold weather uniform guidelines are highlighted in yellow on the uniform code document link below.



Gently used khaki pants are available at school for just $5 each. Email sizes to Mrs. Gourley at office@oloaffld.org to check availability. 


Homes for the Brave Soup Drive


REMINDER: PK3 is collecting canned soup for the homeless veterans served by Homes for the Brave. 

Students are a sked to donate soup each Monday until the Super Bowl. In gratitude, students that donate can wear their favorite team's jersey over their uniform each Monday they donate.


2018-19 School Calendar 

Click the link below to access the school calendar for 2018-19



Late Drop Off  Procedure  

All students must arrive by 8:30 AM each morning. If you arrive after 8:30 AM please walk your child into the school and get a tardy pass from the Main Office.  The doors will be locked from 8:30 AM to 8:35 AM for morning prayer, please do not ring the bell to enter during this time. All parents and children should participate in morning prayer while waiting to sign in.


8:20 AM 
School Doors Open

8:30 AM
School Doors Closed and Morning Prayer 

8:35 AM
Late Students and Parents will be buzzed into school to sign-in at the Main Office

Teacher and Staff Contact Information

Listed below you will find the teacher and staff email list for the 2018-19 school year.  Open communication is paramount to a successful home and school relationship.

Phone messages can be left for all teachers by calling the main office at 203-334-6271.

Position
Name
Email
Principal Steven Santoli principal@oloaffld.org
Administrative Assistant
Jody Gourley office@oloaffld.org

School Nurse Mandy Levy nurse@oloaffld.org
Bookkeeper Jessica Navarro bookkeeper@oloaffld.org
PK 3  Mary Reihl mreihl@oloaffld.org
PK4  Jean Blaze jblaze@oloaffld.org
Kindergarten Rosa Ferreira rferreira@oloaffld.org
First Grade  Heather Leone hleone@oloaffld.org
Second Grade Kathy Andrade kandrade@oloaffld.org
Third Grade Lisa Kozlowski lkozlowski@oloaffld.org
Fourth Grade Lauren Korres lkorres@oloaffld.org
Fifth Grade Elizabeth Cahill ecahill@oloaffld.org
Sixth Grade/Science Thomas Blake tblake@oloaffld.org
Seventh Grade/English Sunita Yashavant syashavant@oloaffld.org
Eighth Grade/SS/Music Theresa Yoney tyoney@oloaffld.org
SixGrade/Math/Maker Space
Debra Shea dshea@oloaffld.org
Spanish/Art Monica Smith msmith@oloaffld.org


Assumption Catholic School on the Web
Follow us on social media












The best source of information about our school happenings is our website.  The calendar function of the website is updated frequently. Forms and important information can be downloaded from the yellow envelope tab weekly.






Virtus Registration and Training
All Adult volunteers  must be Virtus Trained 

T o register with Virtus and be eligible to volunteer, coach, or chaperone in school or at a school sponsored event you must register with Virtus, complete a training and agree to a background check.

Click here to visit the Virtus website.  Remember to select Assumption School as your primary location.  Please contact the office with questions or concerns.

Mission Statement
Assumption Catholic School provides an education of academic excellence, rooted in the Catholic Faith, which fosters the spiritual, physical, moral, and intellectual development of all students, so they may realize their full potential as responsible, caring, and contributing citizens of the world.