News from the Nest
Principal's Newsletter
Upcoming Events

Monday, 9/23

Gym Day for Grades
K,2,3,4,6,7/8

__________________

Tuesday, 9/24

Gym Day for Grades:
1,2,3,4,5,7/8

_ __________________
Wednesday, 9/25


_______________
Thursday, 9/26

Gym Day for Grades:
PK3
PK4,
K,
1,5,6

_______________
Friday, 9/27


_______________
Planning Ahead




_______________

Full calendar of events available online.

Visit our website @


Volume:4  Issue: 4 September 23

Dear Assumption Family,

Last week I welcomed many of our parents to Back to School night. This was a great opportunity to share the new and exciting happenings here at Assumption.  Time was spent to explain the implementation of our personalized learning initiative.  For those of you that were unable to attend, please read the document below to give you a sense of this new and effective program.


Please take the time to read this document. If you have any questions or concerns please contact your child's teacher or me to discuss further.

We also discussed the need for parent and family involvement in the school community. All families are required to provide 10 hours of volunteer service to the school. These service hours will be managed by the HSA. You will receive paperwork from the HSA soon. Please read the letter and sign the fee agreement and review the list of volunteer opportunities. If you have other ways that you can help outside of school hours, please let me know. We are always looking for people to manage projects around campus. 

Please remember that all volunteers must be Virtus trained and sign up for a background check before being allowed to chaperone trips or volunteer in the school.  Click on the link below to register for Virtus training.


I look forward to working with you to make this the best year yet for Assumption Catholic School.

Many Blessings,

Steven J. Santoli
Principal
Basketball Registration
Final Week to Register

All students in grades 4-8 that are interested in playing basketball for the Assumption Eagles should complete the online registration form attached below.  Parent volunteer coaches are needed for each team.  Registration fee of $100 is due by October 1.  Financial aid is available upon request. 

 


Blake's Uniform Update

Blake's Uniform has confirmed that they are fully stocked with Assumption logos and apparel.  If you were unable to purchase uniforms at the end of the summer or have apparel that is without a logo, please correct this by Monday, September 17.  All students are expected to wear the blue shirts with the updated logo, pictured below.

Warm Weather Uniform Requirements 
(Until October 8)

Boy's Uniforms
Prekindergarten
Blue Gym Shirt with Logo
Navy Gym Shorts or Sweats with Logo

Kindergarten - Grade 8
Blue Polo Shirt with Logo
Khaki Shorts or Pants

Girl's Uniforms
Prekindergarten
Blue Gym Shirt with Logo
Navy Gym Shorts or Sweats with Logo
Or
Navy Polo Dress with Logo

Kindergarten - Grade 5
Blue Polo with Logo
Khaki Skort

Grade 6-8
Blue Polo with Logo
Plaid Skirt

Boy's and Girl's Gym Uniform All Grades
Blue Gym Shirt with Logo
Navy Gym Shorts or Sweats with Logo

2018-19 School Calendar 

Click the link below to access the school calendar for 2018-19



Late Drop Off  Procedure  

All students must arrive by 8:30 AM each morning. If you arrive after 8:30 AM please walk your child into the school and get a tardy pass from the Main Office.  The doors will be locked from 8:30 AM to 8:35 AM for morning prayer, please do not ring the bell to enter during this time. All parents and children should participate in morning prayer while waiting to sign in.


8:20 AM 
School Doors Open

8:30 AM
School Doors Closed and Morning Prayer 

8:35 AM
Late Students and Parents will be buzzed into school to sign-in at the Main Office


School Lunch Program

Georgia's Grill will be open on Tuesday, September 4, to provide hot lunch and snacks for our students.  All lunches must be ordered in advance through the Boonli website.  In the event your child forgets a lunch and you can not be reached to drop it off, your child will be offered an alternative lunch option and you will be billed for it.  The link below provides information and login help to order lunches.  

Teacher and Staff Contact Information

Listed below you will find the teacher and staff email list for the 2018-19 school year.  Open communication is paramount to a successful home and school relationship.

Phone messages can be left for all teachers by calling the main office at 203-334-6271.

Position
Name
Email
Principal Steven Santoli principal@oloaffld.org
Administrative Assistant
Jody Gourley office@oloaffld.org
Director of Enrollment
Karen Guastelle kguastelle@oloaffld.org

School Nurse Mandy Levy nurse@oloaffld.org
Bookkeeper Jessica Navarro bookkeeper@oloaffld.org
PK 3  Mary Reihl mreihl@oloaffld.org
PK4  Jean Blaze jblaze@oloaffld.org
Kindergarten Rosa Ferreira rferreira@oloaffld.org
First Grade  Heather Leone hleone@oloaffld.org
Second Grade Kathy Andrade kandrade@oloaffld.org
Third Grade Lisa Kozlowski lkozlowski@oloaffld.org
Fourth Grade Lauren Korres lkorres@oloaffld.org
Fifth Grade Elizabeth Cahill ecahill@oloaffld.org
Sixth Grade/Science Thomas Blake tblake@oloaffld.org
Seventh Grade/English Sunita Yashavant syashavant@oloaffld.org
Eighth Grade/SS/Music Theresa Yoney tyoney@oloaffld.org
Math/Maker Space
Debra Shea dshea@oloaffld.org
Spanish/Art Monica Smith msmith@oloaffld.org


Assumption Catholic School on the Web
Follow us on social media












The best source of information about our school happenings is our website.  The calendar function of the website is updated frequently. Forms and important information can be downloaded from the yellow envelope tab weekly.






Virtus Registration and Training
All Adult volunteers  must be Virtus Trained 

T o register with Virtus and be eligible to volunteer, coach, or chaperone in school or at a school sponsored event you must register with Virtus, complete a training and agree to a background check.

Click here to visit the Virtus website.  Remember to select Assumption School as your primary location.  Please contact the office with questions or concerns.

Mission Statement
Assumption Catholic School provides an education of academic excellence, rooted in the Catholic Faith, which fosters the spiritual, physical, moral, and intellectual development of all students, so they may realize their full potential as responsible, caring, and contributing citizens of the world.