News from the Nest
Principal's Newsletter
Upcoming Events

Monday, 9/17

Gym Day for Grades
K,2,3,4,6,7/8

__________________

Tuesday, 9/18

Gym Day for Grades:
1,2,3,4,5,7/8

_ __________________
Wednesday, 9/19

BACK TO SCHOOL NIGHT
7 PM
_______________
Thursday, 9/20

Gym Day for Grades:
PK3
PK4,
K,
1,5,6

_______________
Friday, 9/21


_______________
Planning Ahead




_______________

Full calendar of events available online.

Visit our website @


Volume:4  Issue: 3 September 16

Dear Assumption Family,

I invite all parents to one of our most important events of the year, Back to School Night is this Wednesday at 7 PM.  The night will begin with a meeting and presentation in the Parish Hall.  I will take the time to discuss our progress as a pilot school for the Personalized Learning Initiative.  You will learn about our new instructional methods and how this will allow all of our students to learn at their own pace and meet individual learning goals.



You will have the opportunity to explore some of our new equipment from the newly created Maker Space, and you will learn how each child will use and learn in this space.

shea w students

There will also be information provided about the adaptive technology we will use to facilitate and personalize learning for all students. 


Following the presentation in the Parish Hall, all parents are invited to the school to tour the classrooms and meet your child's teachers. 

A Catholic school community is a partnership between the school and home. Our students succeed because they have the love and support from home and in the classroom. Attending this meeting is a great first step in strengthening this bond and setting your child up for a successful year at Assumption.

Many Blessings,

Steven J. Santoli
Principal
Blake's Uniform Update

Blake's Uniform has confirmed that they are fully stocked with Assumption logos and apparel.  If you were unable to purchase uniforms at the end of the summer or have apparel that is without a logo, please correct this by Monday, September 17.  All students are expected to wear the blue shirts with the updated logo, pictured below.

Warm Weather Uniform Requirements 
(Until October 8)

Boy's Uniforms
Prekindergarten
Blue Gym Shirt with Logo
Navy Gym Shorts or Sweats with Logo

Kindergarten - Grade 8
Blue Polo Shirt with Logo
Khaki Shorts or Pants

Girl's Uniforms
Prekindergarten
Blue Gym Shirt with Logo
Navy Gym Shorts or Sweats with Logo
Or
Navy Polo Dress with Logo

Kindergarten - Grade 5
Blue Polo with Logo
Khaki Skort

Grade 6-8
Blue Polo with Logo
Plaid Skirt

Boy's and Girl's Gym Uniform All Grades
Blue Gym Shirt with Logo
Navy Gym Shorts or Sweats with Logo

Septemberfest 

Thank you to all of our parent and student volunteers that helped spread the good news about Assumption Catholic School at the annual Septemberfest this weekend.  You were all great ambassadors for the school and represented us well.  

Our Sphero robots and obstacle course were a great hit and really built excitement for our Maker Space and new technology education program.    



Basketball Registration

All students in grades 4-8 that are interested in playing basketball for the Assumption Eagles should complete the online registration form attached below.  Parent volunteer coaches are needed for each team.  Registration fee of $100 is due by October 1.  Financial aid is available upon request. 

 


2018-19 School Calendar 

Click the link below to access the school calendar for 2018-19


Back to School Night

back_to_school_banner.jpg
Wednesday, September 19
7:00 PM

Parish Hall

Late Drop Off  Procedure  

All students must arrive by 8:30 AM each morning. If you arrive after 8:30 AM please walk your child into the school and get a tardy pass from the Main Office.  The doors will be locked from 8:30 AM to 8:35 AM for morning prayer, please do not ring the bell to enter during this time. All parents and children should participate in morning prayer while waiting to sign in.


8:20 AM 
School Doors Open

8:30 AM
School Doors Closed and Morning Prayer 

8:35 AM
Late Students and Parents will be buzzed into school to sign-in at the Main Office


School Lunch Program

Georgia's Grill will be open on Tuesday, September 4, to provide hot lunch and snacks for our students.  All lunches must be ordered in advance through the Boonli website.  In the event your child forgets a lunch and you can not be reached to drop it off, your child will be offered an alternative lunch option and you will be billed for it.  The link below provides information and login help to order lunches.  

Teacher and Staff Contact Information

Listed below you will find the teacher and staff email list for the 2018-19 school year.  Open communication is paramount to a successful home and school relationship.

Phone messages can be left for all teachers by calling the main office at 203-334-6271.

Position
Name
Email
Principal Steven Santoli principal@oloaffld.org
Administrative Assistant
Jody Gourley office@oloaffld.org
Director of Enrollment
Karen Guastelle kguastelle@oloaffld.org

School Nurse Mandy Levy nurse@oloaffld.org
Bookkeeper Jessica Navarro bookkeeper@oloaffld.org
PK 3  Mary Reihl mreihl@oloaffld.org
PK4  Jean Blaze jblaze@oloaffld.org
Kindergarten Rosa Ferreira rferreira@oloaffld.org
First Grade  Heather Leone hleone@oloaffld.org
Second Grade Kathy Andrade kandrade@oloaffld.org
Third Grade Lisa Kozlowski lkozlowski@oloaffld.org
Fourth Grade Lauren Korres lkorres@oloaffld.org
Fifth Grade Elizabeth Cahill ecahill@oloaffld.org
Sixth Grade/Science TBD
Seventh Grade/English Sunita Yashavant syashavant@oloaffld.org
Eighth Grade/SS/Music Theresa Yoney tyoney@oloaffld.org
Math/Maker Space
Debra Shea dshea@oloaffld.org
Spanish/Art Monica Smith msmith@oloaffld.org


Assumption Catholic School on the Web
Follow us on social media












The best source of information about our school happenings is our website.  The calendar function of the website is updated frequently. Forms and important information can be downloaded from the yellow envelope tab weekly.






Virtus Registration and Training
All Adult volunteers  must be Virtus Trained 

T o register with Virtus and be eligible to volunteer, coach, or chaperone in school or at a school sponsored event you must register with Virtus, complete a training and agree to a background check.

Click here to visit the Virtus website.  Remember to select Assumption School as your primary location.  Please contact the office with questions or concerns.

Mission Statement
Assumption Catholic School provides an education of academic excellence, rooted in the Catholic Faith, which fosters the spiritual, physical, moral, and intellectual development of all students, so they may realize their full potential as responsible, caring, and contributing citizens of the world.