News from the Nest
Principal's Newsletter
Upcoming Events

Monday, 10/8

Gym Day for Grades
K,2,3,4,6,7/8

NO PREK CLASSES

NO HOT LUNCH
__________________

Tuesday, 10/9

Gym Day for Grades:
1,2,3,4,5,7/8

PREK CLASSES @ ASSUMPTION 

NO HOT LUNCH
_ __________________
Wednesday, 10/10

NO HOT LUNCH
_______________
Thursday, 10/11

Gym Day for Grades:
PK3
PK4,
K,
1,5,
6

NO HOT LUNCH
_______________
Friday, 10/12

NO HOT LUNCH
_______________
Planning Ahead




_______________

Full calendar of events available online.

Visit our website @


Volume:4  Issue: 6 October 8

Dear Assumption Family,

Resilience is the capacity to recover quickly from difficulties; toughness.  Flexibility is the willingness to change or compromise. These are important qualities for all people to learn.  After our experience these past two weeks I would say that the Assumption Community has mastered these qualities!

I would like to thank our quick thinking and creative teachers that rolled with the tide and planned and delivered meaningful and effective lessons in temporary classrooms and alternative locations. 

Our students were resilient while having classes in our "one room school house" or under a tent or in the chapel. I think some of the kids might actually miss these unique learning environments when we return to the main building on Tuesday. 

Even our youngest students demonstrated flexibility as they attended classes in a conference room at the Catholic Center. Thank you to Dr. Cheeseman and the diocesan staff for welcoming our classes last week. 

Father Cipriani and the parish staff have been so accommodating as we took over the entire campus to keep most of our students close to home while we were not allowed in the main school building.
 

The end is in sight, but a lot of work still needs to be done to completely reoccupy our school building. Our house is built on a solid rock of faith and patience. The flood has come and gone and just like the story of Noah, our school will be rebuilt better than before.

Flood Repair Update
As of Friday afternoon the asbestos abatement crew completed the work of removing all tile and carpet from the lower floor of the building. They then safely removed all asbestos containing material.

Hygenix was onsite Friday evening to do a visual inspection of the work done as well as take air samples to determine if it is safe to return to the building. Those results will be available Sunday afternoon.  Assuming the test is negative, AIG will return Monday morning to remove all equipment and clear the lower floor of all protective plastic and remove hazardous materials from our campus. 

Once this is done, children will be allowed to return to the building. Starting at 5:30 PM on Monday evening volunteers are needed to help breakdown our temporary classrooms and return materials and furniture to the main school building. Please email Jody Gourley at office@oloaffld.org if you are able to help on Monday evening.

All students in grades PK-8 will return to the main school building on Tuesday morning and classes will be held on the main floor during the clean up and repair of the lower level. 

I will know more about the repair timeline after I meet with the contractor on Tuesday. I expect that we will be able to access our entire school building by the end of October. 

Thank you again for your patience, resilience, and flexibility. The silver lining is that we will have an beautiful and updated lower level for further serve our students and community.

Many Blessings,

Steven J. Santoli
Principal
Cold Weather Uniform 
Starts Monday 10/8

Monday is the first day of the cold weather uniform. This means that shorts are no longer allowed as part of the uniform or on dress down days. All uniforms are available at Blake's Uniforms on Access Rd. in Stratford.

The cold weather uniform guidelines are highlighted in yellow on the uniform code document link below.



Gently used khaki pants are available at school for just $5 each. Email sizes to Mrs. Gourley at office@oloaffld.org to check availability. 



School Lunch Program

Due to the reconstruction efforts on the lower level of the school Georgia's Grill will be closed until further notice. All students must pack a lunch from home until the kitchen and cafeteria can be cleared and accessed by the cafeteria staff.

I apologize for the inconvenience. 

2018-19 School Calendar 

Click the link below to access the school calendar for 2018-19



Late Drop Off  Procedure  

All students must arrive by 8:30 AM each morning. If you arrive after 8:30 AM please walk your child into the school and get a tardy pass from the Main Office.  The doors will be locked from 8:30 AM to 8:35 AM for morning prayer, please do not ring the bell to enter during this time. All parents and children should participate in morning prayer while waiting to sign in.


8:20 AM 
School Doors Open

8:30 AM
School Doors Closed and Morning Prayer 

8:35 AM
Late Students and Parents will be buzzed into school to sign-in at the Main Office

Teacher and Staff Contact Information

Listed below you will find the teacher and staff email list for the 2018-19 school year.  Open communication is paramount to a successful home and school relationship.

Phone messages can be left for all teachers by calling the main office at 203-334-6271.

Position
Name
Email
Principal Steven Santoli principal@oloaffld.org
Administrative Assistant
Jody Gourley office@oloaffld.org
Director of Enrollment
Karen Guastelle kguastelle@oloaffld.org

School Nurse Mandy Levy nurse@oloaffld.org
Bookkeeper Jessica Navarro bookkeeper@oloaffld.org
PK 3  Mary Reihl mreihl@oloaffld.org
PK4  Jean Blaze jblaze@oloaffld.org
Kindergarten Rosa Ferreira rferreira@oloaffld.org
First Grade  Heather Leone hleone@oloaffld.org
Second Grade Kathy Andrade kandrade@oloaffld.org
Third Grade Lisa Kozlowski lkozlowski@oloaffld.org
Fourth Grade Lauren Korres lkorres@oloaffld.org
Fifth Grade Elizabeth Cahill ecahill@oloaffld.org
Sixth Grade/Science Thomas Blake tblake@oloaffld.org
Seventh Grade/English Sunita Yashavant syashavant@oloaffld.org
Eighth Grade/SS/Music Theresa Yoney tyoney@oloaffld.org
SixGrade/Math/Maker Space
Debra Shea dshea@oloaffld.org
Spanish/Art Monica Smith msmith@oloaffld.org


Assumption Catholic School on the Web
Follow us on social media












The best source of information about our school happenings is our website.  The calendar function of the website is updated frequently. Forms and important information can be downloaded from the yellow envelope tab weekly.






Virtus Registration and Training
All Adult volunteers  must be Virtus Trained 

T o register with Virtus and be eligible to volunteer, coach, or chaperone in school or at a school sponsored event you must register with Virtus, complete a training and agree to a background check.

Click here to visit the Virtus website.  Remember to select Assumption School as your primary location.  Please contact the office with questions or concerns.

Mission Statement
Assumption Catholic School provides an education of academic excellence, rooted in the Catholic Faith, which fosters the spiritual, physical, moral, and intellectual development of all students, so they may realize their full potential as responsible, caring, and contributing citizens of the world.