News from the Nest
Principal's Newsletter
Upcoming Events

Monday, 11/19

Gym Day for Grades
K,2,3,4,6,7/8

__________________

Tuesday, 11/20

Gym Day for Grades:
1,2,3,4,5,7/8

_ __________________
Wednesday, 11/21

EARLY DISMISSAL
11:15 am

NO 
AFTER SCHOOL CARE
_______________
Thursday, 11/22

NO SCHOOL 
________________
Friday, 11/23

NO SCHOOL
________________
Planning Ahead
_________________

Saturday, 12/1
Breakfast w/ Santa

cartoon_santa_wave.jpg
_______________
Full calendar of events available online.

Visit our website @


Volume:4  Issue: 12 November 18
Dear Assumption Family,

Happy Thanksgiving!  As you gather with friends and family this week to remember everything you are grateful for, be sure to take some time to thank God for the bounty he has bestowed upon us.



Also remember those less fortunate and find ways to share your blessings with them. Charity begins at home. Include your children in the service of others throughout the holiday season and beyond.  

Many Blessings,

Steven J. Santoli
Principal
Congratulations  to Mr. Adamoski

This past Saturday Assumption parent and HSA Board Member, Mr. Jason Adamoski, received the St. Augustin Medal and was honored by Bishop Frank Caggiano in a Mass at the Cathedral in Bridgeport. 

Mr. Adamoski was nominated for his selfless service and volunteerism to the Assumption Community. We are truly appreciative and thankful for his hard work and dedication to the continued improvement of Assumption Catholic School.


Breakfast with Santa

Join us for one of our most popular events of the year. Saturday, December 1 from 9-11 am. Visit with Santa, make some crafts, and enjoy a delicious breakfast cooked by the Dad's Club!

Cold Weather Uniform 
NO MORE SHORTS

The cold weather uniform guidelines are highlighted in yellow on the uniform code document link below.



Gently used khaki pants are available at school for just $5 each. Email sizes to Mrs. Gourley at office@oloaffld.org to check availability. 



No students should purchase lunch with cash without previously ordering online or notifying Chef Georgia in advance.  We are still able to have full access to the kitchen and cafeteria. Lunches are prepared then brought to the Parish Hall to be served. There are no alternative offerings for students that have not ordered lunch in advance.

Homes for the Brave Soup Drive


REMINDER: PK3 is collecting canned soup for the homeless veterans served by Homes for the Brave. 

Students are a sked to donate soup each Monday until the Super Bowl. In gratitude, students that donate can wear their favorite team's jersey over their uniform each Monday they donate.


2018-19 School Calendar 

Click the link below to access the school calendar for 2018-19



Late Drop Off  Procedure  

All students must arrive by 8:30 AM each morning. If you arrive after 8:30 AM please walk your child into the school and get a tardy pass from the Main Office.  The doors will be locked from 8:30 AM to 8:35 AM for morning prayer, please do not ring the bell to enter during this time. All parents and children should participate in morning prayer while waiting to sign in.


8:20 AM 
School Doors Open

8:30 AM
School Doors Closed and Morning Prayer 

8:35 AM
Late Students and Parents will be buzzed into school to sign-in at the Main Office

Teacher and Staff Contact Information

Listed below you will find the teacher and staff email list for the 2018-19 school year.  Open communication is paramount to a successful home and school relationship.

Phone messages can be left for all teachers by calling the main office at 203-334-6271.

Position
Name
Email
Principal Steven Santoli principal@oloaffld.org
Administrative Assistant
Jody Gourley office@oloaffld.org
Director of Enrollment
Karen Guastelle kguastelle@oloaffld.org

School Nurse Mandy Levy nurse@oloaffld.org
Bookkeeper Jessica Navarro bookkeeper@oloaffld.org
PK 3  Mary Reihl mreihl@oloaffld.org
PK4  Jean Blaze jblaze@oloaffld.org
Kindergarten Rosa Ferreira rferreira@oloaffld.org
First Grade  Heather Leone hleone@oloaffld.org
Second Grade Kathy Andrade kandrade@oloaffld.org
Third Grade Lisa Kozlowski lkozlowski@oloaffld.org
Fourth Grade Lauren Korres lkorres@oloaffld.org
Fifth Grade Elizabeth Cahill ecahill@oloaffld.org
Sixth Grade/Science Thomas Blake tblake@oloaffld.org
Seventh Grade/English Sunita Yashavant syashavant@oloaffld.org
Eighth Grade/SS/Music Theresa Yoney tyoney@oloaffld.org
SixGrade/Math/Maker Space
Debra Shea dshea@oloaffld.org
Spanish/Art Monica Smith msmith@oloaffld.org


Assumption Catholic School on the Web
Follow us on social media












The best source of information about our school happenings is our website.  The calendar function of the website is updated frequently. Forms and important information can be downloaded from the yellow envelope tab weekly.






Virtus Registration and Training
All Adult volunteers  must be Virtus Trained 

T o register with Virtus and be eligible to volunteer, coach, or chaperone in school or at a school sponsored event you must register with Virtus, complete a training and agree to a background check.

Click here to visit the Virtus website.  Remember to select Assumption School as your primary location.  Please contact the office with questions or concerns.

Mission Statement
Assumption Catholic School provides an education of academic excellence, rooted in the Catholic Faith, which fosters the spiritual, physical, moral, and intellectual development of all students, so they may realize their full potential as responsible, caring, and contributing citizens of the world.