News from the Nest
Principal's Newsletter
Upcoming Events

Monday, 10/22

Gym Day for Grades
K,2,3,4,6,7/8

__________________

Tuesday, 10/23

Gym Day for Grades:
1,2,3,4,5,7/8

_ __________________
Wednesday, 10/24

PK4 & 1st Field Trip to Benedict's Farm
_______________
Thursday, 10/25

Gym Day for Grades:
PK3
PK4,
K,
1,5,
6
_______________
Friday, 10/26

K & Buddies Field Trip
Silverman's Farm
_______________
Planning Ahead

Saturday, 10/27

Trunk or Treat 
5-6 pm

Monster Mash
8-8 pm

_______________

Full calendar of events available online.

Visit our website @


Volume:4  Issue: 8 October 21

Dear Assumption Family,

This week we had the unenviable task of saying farewell to one of our most visible and  valuable staff members.  Part time Enrollment Coordinator and full time cheerleader for Assumption, Karen Guastelle, has accepted a full time position in the admissions office at Notre Dame High School.  This is a great opportunity for Karen personally and professionally and we wish her all the best in her new position.

For many of you, Karen, was your first introduction to Assumption Catholic School as she guided you and your family through the enrollment process. She was a willing and able helper and organizer of many events, fundraisers, and meetings throughout her time at Assumption. Beyond her official role she was a kind, cheerful, and helpful member of our community. She is the true embodiment of the christian values our community is built on.  Always there to serve and ALWAYS with a smile that made everyone feel welcomed and warm.

For myself, Karen, was a trusted confident, partner, and supporter of our work to build and grow enrollment and insure the long term success of our school.  Without her guidance, advice, and hard work Assumption would not be the strong and viable school we are today.  

Anybody that knows Karen knows that we have not seen the last of her. She will continue to serve as room parent for the 8th grade class, serve on the executive board of the Home School Association, remain a member of the School Advisory Board Marketing Committee, as well as volunteer and coordinate open houses and other events. 

I hope you join me in wishing Karen the best in her new position, our loss is a gain for the Notre Dame High School community. We are forever grateful for all that Karen has done for the students and staff of Assumption Catholic School.


Many Blessings,

Steven J. Santoli
Principal
Cold Weather Uniform 
NO MORE SHORTS

The cold weather uniform guidelines are highlighted in yellow on the uniform code document link below.



Gently used khaki pants are available at school for just $5 each. Email sizes to Mrs. Gourley at office@oloaffld.org to check availability. 



School Lunch Program Returns Wednesday

No students should purchase lunch with cash without previously ordering online or notifying Chef Georgia in advance.  We are still able to have full access to the kitchen and cafeteria. Lunches are prepared then brought to the Parish Hall to be served. There are no alternative offerings for students that have not ordered lunch in advance.

Monster Mash & Trunk or Treat
Saturday, 10/27
Homes for the Brave Soup Drive


REMINDER: PK3 is collecting canned soup for the homeless veterans served by Homes for the Brave. 

Students are a sked to donate soup each Monday until the Super Bowl. In gratitude, students that donate can wear their favorite team's jersey over their uniform each Monday they donate.


2018-19 School Calendar 

Click the link below to access the school calendar for 2018-19


Photos of the Week
PK & K Trip to the Firehouse




Late Drop Off  Procedure  

All students must arrive by 8:30 AM each morning. If you arrive after 8:30 AM please walk your child into the school and get a tardy pass from the Main Office.  The doors will be locked from 8:30 AM to 8:35 AM for morning prayer, please do not ring the bell to enter during this time. All parents and children should participate in morning prayer while waiting to sign in.


8:20 AM 
School Doors Open

8:30 AM
School Doors Closed and Morning Prayer 

8:35 AM
Late Students and Parents will be buzzed into school to sign-in at the Main Office

Teacher and Staff Contact Information

Listed below you will find the teacher and staff email list for the 2018-19 school year.  Open communication is paramount to a successful home and school relationship.

Phone messages can be left for all teachers by calling the main office at 203-334-6271.

Position
Name
Email
Principal Steven Santoli principal@oloaffld.org
Administrative Assistant
Jody Gourley office@oloaffld.org
Director of Enrollment
Karen Guastelle kguastelle@oloaffld.org

School Nurse Mandy Levy nurse@oloaffld.org
Bookkeeper Jessica Navarro bookkeeper@oloaffld.org
PK 3  Mary Reihl mreihl@oloaffld.org
PK4  Jean Blaze jblaze@oloaffld.org
Kindergarten Rosa Ferreira rferreira@oloaffld.org
First Grade  Heather Leone hleone@oloaffld.org
Second Grade Kathy Andrade kandrade@oloaffld.org
Third Grade Lisa Kozlowski lkozlowski@oloaffld.org
Fourth Grade Lauren Korres lkorres@oloaffld.org
Fifth Grade Elizabeth Cahill ecahill@oloaffld.org
Sixth Grade/Science Thomas Blake tblake@oloaffld.org
Seventh Grade/English Sunita Yashavant syashavant@oloaffld.org
Eighth Grade/SS/Music Theresa Yoney tyoney@oloaffld.org
SixGrade/Math/Maker Space
Debra Shea dshea@oloaffld.org
Spanish/Art Monica Smith msmith@oloaffld.org


Assumption Catholic School on the Web
Follow us on social media












The best source of information about our school happenings is our website.  The calendar function of the website is updated frequently. Forms and important information can be downloaded from the yellow envelope tab weekly.






Virtus Registration and Training
All Adult volunteers  must be Virtus Trained 

T o register with Virtus and be eligible to volunteer, coach, or chaperone in school or at a school sponsored event you must register with Virtus, complete a training and agree to a background check.

Click here to visit the Virtus website.  Remember to select Assumption School as your primary location.  Please contact the office with questions or concerns.

Mission Statement
Assumption Catholic School provides an education of academic excellence, rooted in the Catholic Faith, which fosters the spiritual, physical, moral, and intellectual development of all students, so they may realize their full potential as responsible, caring, and contributing citizens of the world.