News from the Nest
Principal's Newsletter
Upcoming Events

Monday, 10/15

Gym Day for Grades
K,2,3,4,6,7/8

NO PREK CLASSES

NO HOT LUNCH
__________________

Tuesday, 10/16

Gym Day for Grades:
1,2,3,4,5,7/8

PREK CLASSES @ ASSUMPTION 

NO HOT LUNCH
_ __________________
Wednesday, 10/17


_______________
Thursday, 10/18

Gym Day for Grades:
PK3
PK4,
K,
1,5,
 
 
 
6


_______________
Friday, 10/19

PK3 & PK4 Field Trip to the Firehouse
_______________
Planning Ahead

Saturday, 10/24

Trunk or Treat 
5-6 pm

Monster Mash
8-8 pm

_______________

Full calendar of events available online.

Visit our website @


Volume:4  Issue: 7 October 14

Dear Assumption Family,

Sorry for the late edition of the News from the Nest, our very busy week and volunteer work this weekend did not allow much time for publishing the newsletter.  

I am happy to report that we have passed our asbestos inspection and the hygienic cleaning and disinfecting of the lower level is complete.  The reconstruction contractor has presented a quote to the diocese office and myself. Upon approval, construction will begin. 

My hope is that construction can begin this week and will be completed by early November.  Our middle school students are settling in to the new routine and we are able to provide a safe learning environment for all of our students in our main building.

We continue to look for the positive in this situation, and our new challenges have created a unique learning opportunity. Mrs. Shea is using our situation to have students apply geometry and math theories to solve practical solutions. Math students have been asked to create a scaled drawing helping to layout the tile pattern in the hallway and classrooms. I might even select some of the students patterns in our new design! 

I thank you for your continued flexibility and understanding as we work to bring our school back, better than before? 


Many Blessings,

Steven J. Santoli
Principal
Cold Weather Uniform 
NO MORE SHORTS

The cold weather uniform guidelines are highlighted in yellow on the uniform code document link below.



Gently used khaki pants are available at school for just $5 each. Email sizes to Mrs. Gourley at office@oloaffld.org to check availability. 



School Lunch Program Returns Wednesday

The hot lunch program will resume with a simplified menu. Ordering will open on Boonli Monday evening. All lunches must be ordered in advance. There will not be alternative offerings for students to purchase during the lunch periods. 

Monster Mash & Trunk or Treat
Saturday, 10/27
Homes for the Brave Soup Drive


REMINDER: PK3 is collecting canned soup for the homeless veterans served by Homes for the Brave. 

Students are a sked to donate soup each Monday until the Super Bowl. In gratitude, students that donate can wear their favorite team's jersey over their uniform each Monday they donate.


2018-19 School Calendar 

Click the link below to access the school calendar for 2018-19



Late Drop Off  Procedure  

All students must arrive by 8:30 AM each morning. If you arrive after 8:30 AM please walk your child into the school and get a tardy pass from the Main Office.  The doors will be locked from 8:30 AM to 8:35 AM for morning prayer, please do not ring the bell to enter during this time. All parents and children should participate in morning prayer while waiting to sign in.


8:20 AM 
School Doors Open

8:30 AM
School Doors Closed and Morning Prayer 

8:35 AM
Late Students and Parents will be buzzed into school to sign-in at the Main Office

Teacher and Staff Contact Information

Listed below you will find the teacher and staff email list for the 2018-19 school year.  Open communication is paramount to a successful home and school relationship.

Phone messages can be left for all teachers by calling the main office at 203-334-6271.

Position
Name
Email
Principal Steven Santoli principal@oloaffld.org
Administrative Assistant
Jody Gourley office@oloaffld.org
Director of Enrollment
Karen Guastelle kguastelle@oloaffld.org

School Nurse Mandy Levy nurse@oloaffld.org
Bookkeeper Jessica Navarro bookkeeper@oloaffld.org
PK 3  Mary Reihl mreihl@oloaffld.org
PK4  Jean Blaze jblaze@oloaffld.org
Kindergarten Rosa Ferreira rferreira@oloaffld.org
First Grade  Heather Leone hleone@oloaffld.org
Second Grade Kathy Andrade kandrade@oloaffld.org
Third Grade Lisa Kozlowski lkozlowski@oloaffld.org
Fourth Grade Lauren Korres lkorres@oloaffld.org
Fifth Grade Elizabeth Cahill ecahill@oloaffld.org
Sixth Grade/Science Thomas Blake tblake@oloaffld.org
Seventh Grade/English Sunita Yashavant syashavant@oloaffld.org
Eighth Grade/SS/Music Theresa Yoney tyoney@oloaffld.org
SixGrade/Math/Maker Space
Debra Shea dshea@oloaffld.org
Spanish/Art Monica Smith msmith@oloaffld.org


Assumption Catholic School on the Web
Follow us on social media












The best source of information about our school happenings is our website.  The calendar function of the website is updated frequently. Forms and important information can be downloaded from the yellow envelope tab weekly.






Virtus Registration and Training
All Adult volunteers  must be Virtus Trained 

T o register with Virtus and be eligible to volunteer, coach, or chaperone in school or at a school sponsored event you must register with Virtus, complete a training and agree to a background check.

Click here to visit the Virtus website.  Remember to select Assumption School as your primary location.  Please contact the office with questions or concerns.

Mission Statement
Assumption Catholic School provides an education of academic excellence, rooted in the Catholic Faith, which fosters the spiritual, physical, moral, and intellectual development of all students, so they may realize their full potential as responsible, caring, and contributing citizens of the world.