F ire Island Pines Property Owners Association

FIMI Udate
A leak developed in the submersible line early in the week causing a shut down in sand pumping to our beach. The repair is complete, but it will take another two or three days to re-position the sub line because of weather. 545,000 cubic yards has been placed on our beach to date and 303,000 cubic yards remain to be placed. The contractor is estimating another 12 to 14 days remaining after sand pumping resumes. Construction of the permanent access walks will begin after sand pumping is complete with sand fence and grass planting to follow.

New Plantings at Whyte Hall
The planting on the north side of Whyte Hall were replaced in September. The original planting had suffered over time. We were able to obtain mature trees to restore the appearance of Whyte Hall to its pristine condition. Thank you to Scott Ahlborn and Jim Streacker of the Pines Conservation Society for honchoing this effort.

At season's end, I would like to salute FIPAP for its successful 2019 season. FIPAP and its board work hard throughout the year to contribute to the cultural life of the Pines. This summer they did a bang-up job with Tony's Shorts and with the Labor Day musical, "The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee". FIPAP has a long history of successful productions in addition to its 30 plus years of Labor Day's musicals. I am reminded particularly of the evenings with Kristin Chenoweth and Barbara Cook. FIPAP also played a major role in raising the money to build Whyte Hall. It gave of its own money substantially and its board pursued countless other donors with considerable success.

Jay Pagano

Gilbert Parker

On October 30th, long time Pines resident Gilbert Parker died peacefully, obituary to follow.

Michael Schiable

There will be a memorial service for long time Pines resident, Michael Schiable, on January 12, 2020 at 3:30 at Jay Pagano's apartment, 211 West 18th St. PH.



Fire Island Pines Property Owners Association Officers & Directors

Jay Pagano, President 
Ed Schulhafer, Vice President
Rodman (Tad) Paul, Secretary
Henry Robin, Treasurer

Allan Baum, Gary Clinton,  Tami Hausman  
Greg Henniger,   Chris Lovito, Chris Mai, Russell Saray, 
Eric Sawyer, Jeff Staadt,  Matt Tague, Jim Vandernoth