Lisa Scottoline's New Novel 
"Eternal" 
will be coming on March 23rd! 
Preorder Your Copy Today!

"Lisa Scottoline masterfully crosses over to historical fiction in "Eternal"! She tells the stories of 3 younger people coming of age in Rome, Italy when the Nazis align with the Fascists during World War II. These three plus their families, one of the families being Jewish, come to life in a heartfelt and powerful novel documenting their struggles, their love and their experiences during this very challenging time. Well Done!
- Kathy Morrison

Using Our Website:
Did you know you can reserve a book for pick-up in the store using our website? Just make sure the book info says it's "On Our Shelves Now", then choose "Pick Up at Store" and "Pay at Store" on the check-out screen. We'll let you know when it's ready for pick up!  



New Releases!

"The House on Vesper Sands"
by Paraic O'Donnell
Named Most Anticipated Book by Time, Newsweek, and O, The Oprah Magazine.
A January Pick at Indie Next, Apple Books, Library Reads, Powell's Books
London, 1893: high up in a house on a dark, snowy night, a lone seamstress stands by a window. So begins the swirling, serpentine world of Paraic O'Donnell's Victorian-inspired mystery, the story of a city cloaked in shadow, but burning with questions: why does the seamstress jump from the window? Why is a cryptic message stitched into her skin?   Read more...
 
"The Children's Blizzard"
by Melanie Benjamin
From the New York Times bestselling author of The Aviator's Wife comes a story of courage on the prairie, inspired by the devastating storm that struck the Great Plains in 1888, threatening the lives of hundreds of immigrant homesteaders, especially schoolchildren.
The morning of January 12, 1888, was unusually mild, following a punishing cold spell. It was warm enough for the homesteaders of the Dakota Territory to venture out again, and for their children to return to school without their heavy coats-leaving them unprepared when disaster struck. Read more...
 
"Hades, Argentina"
by Daniel Loedel
A decade after fleeing for his life, a man is pulled back to Argentina by an undying love.
In 1976, Tom├ís Orilla is a medical student in Buenos Aires, where he has moved in hopes of reuniting with Isabel, a childhood crush. But the reckless passion that has long drawn him is leading Isabel ever deeper into the ranks of the insurgency fighting an increasingly oppressive regime.  Read more...
 
"Before the Ruins"
by Victoria Gosling
A gripping, multilayered debut in the tradition of Tana French and Donna Tartt about four friends, an empty manor, and a night that will follow them for the rest of their lives.
It's the summer of 1996 and school's out forever for Andy, her boyfriend Marcus, her best friend Peter, and Em. When Andy's alcoholic mother predicts the apocalypse, the four teenagers decide to see out the end of the world at a deserted manor house, the site of a historic unsolved mystery.  Read more...
 
"A Swim in a Pond in the Rain: In Which Four Russians Give a Master Class on Writing, Reading, and Life"
by George Saunders
From the New York Times bestselling, Booker Prize-winning author of Lincoln in the Bardo and Tenth of December comes a literary master class on what makes great stories work and what they can tell us about ourselves-and our world today.
For the last twenty years, George Saunders has been teaching a class on the Russian short story to his MFA students at Syracuse University. In A Swim in a Pond in the Rain, he shares a version of that class with us, offering some of what he and his students have discovered together over the years.   Read more...
"Aftershocks : A Memoir"
by Nadia Owusu
In the tradition of The Glass Castle, a deeply felt memoir from Whiting Award-winner Nadia Owusu about the push and pull of belonging, the seismic emotional toll of family secrets, and the heart it takes to pull through.
A Most-Anticipated Selection by * The New York Times * Entertainment Weekly * O, The Oprah Magazine * New York magazine *Vogue * Time * Minneapolis Star Tribune * Electric Literature * Goodreads * Refinery29 * 
Young Nadia Owusu followed her father, a United Nations official, from Europe to Africa and back again. Just as she and her family settled into a new home, her father would tell them it was time to say their goodbyes. The instability wrought by Nadia's nomadic childhood was deepened by family secrets and fractures, both lived and inherited.  


In Paperback!
 

And More New Releases!
 

Newtown Bookshop Events

Email kathy@newtownbookshop.com to be 
put on list to receive Zoom invite for our Book Clubs

We will be starting Daytime Book Club in January...

January 21st 11:00am 
Will be Held Virtually
Daytime Book Club
"Chances Are..."
by Richard Russo

January 26th 7:00pm
Will Be Held Virtually
Evening Book Club
"News of the World"
by Paulette Jiles

For our complete calendar on our website
Store Hours
   Mon  10am - 4pm
Tue 10am - 5pm
Wed 10am - 7pm
Thu 10am - 5pm
Fri 10am - 4pm
Sat 10am - 4pm
Sun 11am - 2pm

                215-968-2400


To keep our customers and staff safe during this pandemic.
We will be limiting store capacity to 5 to 6 customers.
Everyone must be fully masked.
We will social distance.
Curbside pick will be available.
Shopping Online will also be available.
If you are not feeling well or do not have a mask, please call and we will be happy to help you over the phone and online.

 

 

 Shop Now On-line at the Newtown Bookshop! 

 

 


Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
View on Instagram

New Releases


"Elmo is Mindful"
Picture Book
Elmo shares mindfulness tips to help his Sesame Street friends--and preschoolers everywhere--stay calm and focused.Just like kids everywhere, Elmo, Grover, Cookie Monster, and their Sesame Street friends sometimes have trouble controlling their emotions. This board book offers thoughtful suggestions as to what to do when you're scared, angry, frustrated, upset, and overwhelmed.  Read more...

"Concrete Rose"
by Angie Thomas
Young Adult
International phenomenon Angie Thomas revisits Garden Heights seventeen years before the events of The Hate U Give in this searing and poignant exploration of Black boyhood and manhood.
If there's one thing seventeen-year-old Maverick Carter knows, it's that a real man takes care of his family. As the son of a former gang legend, Mav does that the only way he knows how: dealing for the King Lords. With this money he can help his mom, who works two jobs while his dad's in prison.

"Tales From the Hinterland"
by Melissa Albert
Young Adult
A gorgeously illustrated collection of twelve "lush and deliciously sinister fairy tales" (Kelly Link) by the New York Times bestselling author of The Hazel Wood and The Night Country!
Before The Hazel Wood, there was Althea Proserpine's Tales from the Hinterland...

Journey into the Hinterland, a brutal and beautiful world where a young woman spends a night with Death, brides are wed to a mysterious house in the trees, and an enchantress is killed twice-and still lives.

Save 25% off
one Hardcover
Book
Cannot be combined with other offers and cannot be used on prior purchases.  

If using online, please add a comment that you want to use the coupon and we will adjust the price of one hardcover. 
 
Offer Expires: January 17, 2021