TO: NJASA Members
FROM: Dr. Richard G. Bozza, Executive Director
DATE: February 14, 2023
RE: Nominating Committee Report
The NJASA Nominating Committee has agreed to nominate a slate of officers for the 2023-2024 Association year.
Members of the Nominating Committee were:
Dr. Janet Fike, NJASA Immediate Past-President (Chair)
Mr. Patrick Fletcher, Superintendent, River Dell Regional H.S. and
Past President
Mr. Joseph Isola, Superintendent, Howell Township
Dr. Michael Kuchar, Superintendent, South Bergen Jointure Commission and Past President
Dr. Evelyn Mamman, Assistant Superintendent, South Brunswick
Dr. Melissa McCooley, Superintendent, Little Egg Harbor Township
Dr. Kwame Morton, Sr. Assistant Superintendent, Cherry Hill
Dr. Scott Rocco, Superintendent, Hamilton Township and Past President
Dr. Christine Vespe, Superintendent, Shamong Township 

The Committee nominated the following slate of officers to serve for the 2023-2024 year:

PRESIDENT: Dr. Michael LaSusa, Superintendent, School District of the Chathams (Morris Co.)

PRES-ELECT: Ms. Nelyda Perez, Assistant Superintendent, Matawan-Aberdeen Regional (Monmouth Co.)

SECRETARY: Dr. Rick Falkenstein, Superintendent, Kingwood Township & Milford (Hunterdon Co.)

TREASURER: Dr. David Aderhold, Superintendent, West Windsor-Plainsboro Regional (Mercer Co.)

IMMEDIATE PAST-PRES: Mr. Tony Trongone, Superintendent, Millville (Cumberland Co.)


Nominating Committee:
A. Must be appointed by the President no later than February 1 of each year. It shall consist of nine members: Immediate Past-President (Chair), 3 other most Immediate Past-Presidents who are active members of the Association, and 5 members from the field, with due consideration given to geographic and minority groups.

B. The Nominating Committee's report shall be presented to the Executive Director no later than February 10. The Executive Director shall inform the membership of the results of the report no later than February 15.

Nominations by Petition:
A. Nominations by petition may occur for the positions of Secretary and Treasurer. Contact Ginger Thompson at NJASA headquarters for petition blanks.

B. Requirements for nomination by petition are: 50 signatures from 7 counties, with no fewer than 5 signatures from any one county.

C. Petitions must arrive at NJASA headquarters by March 10 or first working day thereafter (if office is closed on March 10 for any reason), accompanied by a letter of acceptance from the nominee.

D. If there are no nominations by petition, the slate of the Nominating Committee shall be declared elected at the first Executive Committee meeting following March 10.

A. Ballots shall be mailed by April 1, and no later than 30 days prior to the return date.

B. Ballots shall contain the names of all nominees by both the Nominating Committee and by petition, and shall indicate how each nominee was nominated.